We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem in a stunning location”
Review of Shun Lee House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shun Lee House
Ranked #59 of 101 St Ives B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“A little gem in a stunning location”
Reviewed 17 September 2010

We have stayed with Paul and Terry twice now and I can say without trepidation that 5 stars barely does justice to the quality of the service we have experienced. Perched high above St Ives, the stunning costal views are simply spectacular and you would be forgiven for thinking that very little could top the beautiful vistas, however the personal service provided by Paul and Terry is more than a match. Instantly welcoming and accommodating they are the perfect hosts and it is a pleasure to be able to share the wonderful ambience they have created at Shun Lee.
Both the accommodation and food are of exceptional quality, and the homely family atmosphere feels just right. The rooms are tastefully furnished and benefit from the exceptional sea views.
The beach is appoximately 10 mins walk away down a winding path that will keep you fit if you attempt the climb back up, but it is well worth the effort. The harbour town of St Ives is picturesque, with many different bars and resturants catering for all tastes, and Paul and Terry will only be too happy to recommend some wonderful trips out for the more adveturous.
Personally we can't wait to visit again and would recommend the experience of Shun Lee to anyone visiting St Ives.
Don't forget to say hello to the girls if you go!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philc-michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
109
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

We arranged to have the reception for our son's christening at Shun Lee House this weekend. We had previously stayed there and experienced Paul and Terry's marvellous hospitality. Yet again, their food and service was just superb and it made our day. With champagne on arrival, a delicious and extensive buffet and FABULOUS desserts, and everyone's wine glasses filled to the brim, both we and our guests could not have wanted for more. We were lucky that the weather was fantastic as well, so we were able to sit outside and take in the spectacular views. We just can't thank Paul & Terry enough for their warm welcome to all our family and friends!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bel74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We have stayed in "5 star" hotels all around the world and can honestly confirm that Shun Lee House was by far the BEST - "6 star"++ Luxury stay. We arrived as guests and left as fiends (we did not want to leave). Will certainly be returning for another stay ASAP. Thank you Terry and Paul for an absolutely Wonderful stay - we will never forget it!. See you soon. Michele and Gordon Ineson.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MINESON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We went to the Shun Lee with high expectations of having a good time, the breakfast menu alone had enticed us!
Throughout the week that we stayed, we could not have had a better time. The food was always freshly cooked and in great abundance,having fresh milk in the room was a bonus for a tea-a-holic like me! :)
The Raffles sweet was luxurious,clean and had a great view of the Bay.
Paul and Terry were always friendly and treated us as friends.
We have no regrets about spending our honeymoon here.
It was the high spot of our year. Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186403Hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2010

I recently enjoyed an all too short stay at the Shun Lee House in St. Ives.
If you are looking for really friendly and first class accomodation in this area consider no other hosts but Terry and Paul.
Shun Lee is a Fine House and any guest will feel as if they have gone back in time to a better era where quality, service and customer satisfaction were paramount.
The accomodation is imaculate, the location second to none, the rooms 6*, and the breakfasts are generous and high quality.
I have stayed in some of the best hotels around the world but this little haven in St. Ives will always be one of the most memorable. An experience that I hope to repeat again in the near future.
Stop reading reviews if you are looking for accomodation in St. Ives just book a place at the Shun Lee !!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevehydro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2010

terry and paul are the best host ever, it was my 3rd visit and every time the hotel takes my breath away, the fantastic views, the quality of the hotel is oustanding, i really dont think terry and paul realise what they have got and what such special people they are, they can not do enough for you, from getting up in the morning to going to bed, i would recommend this hotel to anyone, it will not be my last time for going, i am addicted to the breakfast menu and also the hotel, thank terry and paul for making our stays perfect xx anne and dennis xx

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northerntroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Paul and terry are excellent hosts, we were looked after from the moment we arrived on our motorbike, they had even made space in their garage (carpeted !) for our BMW. We had travelled from Lancashire on our first biking holiday and were welcomed with a glass of wine in the drawing room. Rooms are fantastic and the view is outstanding . Highly recommend this whole experience. We will definately be back, nothing was too much trouble. An Oasis x

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikeandkaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
Treloyhan Manor Hotel
Treloyhan Manor Hotel
#74 of 101 in St Ives
242 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oystercatcher
Oystercatcher
#3 of 7 in Carbis Bay
34 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic
The Atlantic
#7 of 7 in Carbis Bay
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rathlena
Rathlena
#39 of 101 in St Ives
167 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maristow Guest Accomodation
Maristow Guest Accomodation
#62 of 101 in St Ives
22 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Hind Guest House
Golden Hind Guest House
#56 of 101 in St Ives
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shun Lee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shun Lee House

Property: Shun Lee House
Address: Shun Lee Trelyon Avenue, St Ives TR26 2AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shun Lee House is situated on Porthminster Point overlooking the scenic St. Ives bay with absolutely stunning views of the harbor. We offer two suites to ensure you will receive personal service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shun Lee House St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing