We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven on Earth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shun Lee House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shun Lee House
Ranked #64 of 106 St Ives B&B and Inns
Rugeley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

At the time of booking this B&B, I did not realise how lucky we were to stay at Shun Lee. In fact the description of B&B does not do it justice, because it is far more than that. It grabs at your heart and soul, so you end up never wanting to leave. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and wanted a special break, and being a big believer in fate, I honestly believe that Shun Lee was meant to be, because it is a heaven on earth. From the moment you arrive you are made to feel like royalty, Terry and Paul warmly great you as do "the Girls" (two beautiful yorkie's), then ply you with a cornish tea fest fit for the old Cornish kings and queens of days gone by. Then you are shown your room with it's stunning views (Raffles Suite), and like everything else in the house it is perfect. Tastefully decorated, clean, with luxury toiletries and extras like fluffy white towelling robes, slippers and fresh flowers. After a wonderful nights sleep, you are then treated to the most amazing breakfast, with lots on the menu to choose from (the eggs benedict with haddock is to die for as is the full english). But it is not just the food you eat, breakfast is taken in the conservatory overlooking the bay, so you have stunning views to look at, and with Terry and Paul anticipating your every need from topping up your coffee to providing wonderful conversation, breakfast is a truly an amazing experience. Dining out? no problem, Terry and Paul will guide you where to eat and where not to, they will even book your table for you, and like Shun Lee the resturant recommendations turned up trumps. In fact everything they recommend is enjoyable from the coastal walks, shops, to the site seeing and nothing is too much trouble (Paul ringing rounds his contacts to source art materials for me). If you have never been to St Ives and you want something special, then please do yourself an enormous favour and book at Shun Lee, you really, really won't be dissapointed. So thank you once again to Terry, Paul and the girls for making our wedding annivarsary one to remember, we will be coming back...I can feel the pull :) x

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morganclan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
109
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

Our recent stay at Shun Lee got off to a wonderful start when the owners, Paul and Terry, welcomed us with a glass or two of wine in the lounge whilst we took in the spectacular views.

Throughout our week-long stay, Paul and Terry were fantastic hosts and we felt thoroughly spoilt with their excellent service and attentiveness, and the many little extra personal touches.

Shun Lee is a beautiful house in an excellent location which is far enough away from the centre of St Ives to be peaceful, but still close enough to be able to walk into the town. We stayed in the Godrevy Suite, which is very clean and tastefully furnished, and has great sea views (and a lovely big comfy bed!). The house also has ample on-site parking.

The breakfasts were delicious and top quality, with plenty of choice. This was a really relaxing way to start the day, whilst taking in the fantastic views from the breakfast room. We spent a lot more time here than we planned to - but for the right reasons. We even took some of the left-overs away for lunch!

It was also great to meet the 'girls', two Yorkshire Terriers, who are delightful and real characters.

St Ives proved to be a great base, with a very good range of places to eat and drink. Paul and Terry assisted with recommendations, and we had some very nice meals. It was also convenient for touring the area.

Thank you, Paul and Terry, for an excellent stay and it was great to meet and spend time with you. You certainly deserve the highest ratings for what you have created at Shun Lee.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmandelYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

Myself and my husband visited St Ives in September and we decided to stay at Shun Lee house from the fabulous reviews given on this site. Well, we were not to be disappointed. From the moment we arrived we were met by Terry and Paul and became friends instantly. We were greeted with a glass of wine which soon became a bottle, and a wonderful Cornish Cream Tea. After a long journey, that was such a lovely gesture.

They really do know how to provide top quality service. From the bedroom which had amazing views overlooking the bay and to Terry and Paul who certainly know how to look after you. Breakfast was amazing with so much to choose from and all freshly cooked by Paul. I never normally comment on places i have stayed before but i had to send this review as i was so blown away by this fabulous service and hospitality.

Apart from the spotless rooms, what Terry and Paul give extra (and give this the 5 star appeal), is little things like booking restaurants for you, giving you local information on where to eat, where to visit, what NOT to buy, etc. They did all of this for us, and we really appreciated their local knowledge and friendliness. Breakfast was such a wonderful experience not just because of the food or the spectacular view of St Ives Bay, but because of the lovely conversation from Terry (whilst Paul was busy cooking), and the great local stories of events going on in St Ives.

Thank you to Terry and Paul for making our trip so memorable and love to the 2 dogs. We have loved our time in St Ives, even though the trip was short (4 days), you made it one to remember. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie_Lewis_36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

We have stayed with Paul and Terry twice now and I can say without trepidation that 5 stars barely does justice to the quality of the service we have experienced. Perched high above St Ives, the stunning costal views are simply spectacular and you would be forgiven for thinking that very little could top the beautiful vistas, however the personal service provided by Paul and Terry is more than a match. Instantly welcoming and accommodating they are the perfect hosts and it is a pleasure to be able to share the wonderful ambience they have created at Shun Lee.
Both the accommodation and food are of exceptional quality, and the homely family atmosphere feels just right. The rooms are tastefully furnished and benefit from the exceptional sea views.
The beach is appoximately 10 mins walk away down a winding path that will keep you fit if you attempt the climb back up, but it is well worth the effort. The harbour town of St Ives is picturesque, with many different bars and resturants catering for all tastes, and Paul and Terry will only be too happy to recommend some wonderful trips out for the more adveturous.
Personally we can't wait to visit again and would recommend the experience of Shun Lee to anyone visiting St Ives.
Don't forget to say hello to the girls if you go!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philc-michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

We arranged to have the reception for our son's christening at Shun Lee House this weekend. We had previously stayed there and experienced Paul and Terry's marvellous hospitality. Yet again, their food and service was just superb and it made our day. With champagne on arrival, a delicious and extensive buffet and FABULOUS desserts, and everyone's wine glasses filled to the brim, both we and our guests could not have wanted for more. We were lucky that the weather was fantastic as well, so we were able to sit outside and take in the spectacular views. We just can't thank Paul & Terry enough for their warm welcome to all our family and friends!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bel74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

We have stayed in "5 star" hotels all around the world and can honestly confirm that Shun Lee House was by far the BEST - "6 star"++ Luxury stay. We arrived as guests and left as fiends (we did not want to leave). Will certainly be returning for another stay ASAP. Thank you Terry and Paul for an absolutely Wonderful stay - we will never forget it!. See you soon. Michele and Gordon Ineson.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MINESON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

We went to the Shun Lee with high expectations of having a good time, the breakfast menu alone had enticed us!
Throughout the week that we stayed, we could not have had a better time. The food was always freshly cooked and in great abundance,having fresh milk in the room was a bonus for a tea-a-holic like me! :)
The Raffles sweet was luxurious,clean and had a great view of the Bay.
Paul and Terry were always friendly and treated us as friends.
We have no regrets about spending our honeymoon here.
It was the high spot of our year. Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 186403Hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
0.2 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#7 of 21 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Old Farmhouse
The Old Farmhouse
#79 of 106 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
1.1 mi away
Thurlestone Guest House
Thurlestone Guest House
#20 of 106 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Sky Bed and Breakfast
Blue Sky Bed and Breakfast
#15 of 106 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shun Lee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shun Lee House

Property: Shun Lee House
Address: Shun Lee Trelyon Avenue, St Ives TR26 2AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shun Lee House is situated on Porthminster Point overlooking the scenic St. Ives bay with absolutely stunning views of the harbor. We offer two suites to ensure you will receive personal service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shun Lee House St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing