We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous place, if you are going to St Ives, make sure you stay here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shun Lee House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shun Lee House
Ranked #64 of 106 St Ives B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous place, if you are going to St Ives, make sure you stay here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

Wow! I stayed at Shun Lee House last week for my friend's wedding. Terry and Paul are the most wonderful hosts, nothing is too much trouble and the attention to detail in absolutely everything that they do makes this THE place to stay in St Ives. I've stayed in a number of hotels for both work and pleasure and this was by far the best place I've stayed in terms of being made to feel welcome, cared for and spoilt! The food is beautiful, the views over the harbour from our room are amazing and the best night's sleep in the most luxurious bed and bedding was a very special treat! Terry and Paul really make you feel at home and they manage to strike the perfect balance of making sure you have everything you need without being instrusive. I thoroughly recommend that you stay at Shun Lee House.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catwak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
109
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

Sensational views, a beautiful room, elegant decor and service second to none, Terry and Paul are the most delightful hosts! Whether you are taking tea on the terrace or having breakfast in the conservatory you can watch the ships go by. The meals were so well presented you could eat them with your eyes and so delicious too. Do not miss the wonderful experience of staying at Shun Lee House, highly recommended! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c0urtn3y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2010

Terry and Paul are wonderful hosts. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they are always ready to advise on local restaurants (and book them), walks and places to visit. Their beautiful house has a warm and friendly atmosphere, made even happier by two of the most delightful Yorkshire terriers you will ever meet. Add to that a bedroom with a stunning view of St Ives Bay and the most amazing breakfasts and you can't go wrong. Really, bed and breakfast just doesn't get any better than this.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dotandcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BERKS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

My husband and I have made our 4th visit to this wonderful hotel and it just feels like coming home. Terry and Paul never cease to delight us with their warmth and hospitality and those breakfasts are just the best! There are two delightful rooms to chose from both of which will ensure the perfect night's rest. No expense has been spared in furnishing and accessorising these rooms from the Molton Brown toiletries, fluffy white towels and bathrobes to the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. We count ourselves lucky to have found such a gem and we are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PADDYBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugeley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

At the time of booking this B&B, I did not realise how lucky we were to stay at Shun Lee. In fact the description of B&B does not do it justice, because it is far more than that. It grabs at your heart and soul, so you end up never wanting to leave. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and wanted a special break, and being a big believer in fate, I honestly believe that Shun Lee was meant to be, because it is a heaven on earth. From the moment you arrive you are made to feel like royalty, Terry and Paul warmly great you as do "the Girls" (two beautiful yorkie's), then ply you with a cornish tea fest fit for the old Cornish kings and queens of days gone by. Then you are shown your room with it's stunning views (Raffles Suite), and like everything else in the house it is perfect. Tastefully decorated, clean, with luxury toiletries and extras like fluffy white towelling robes, slippers and fresh flowers. After a wonderful nights sleep, you are then treated to the most amazing breakfast, with lots on the menu to choose from (the eggs benedict with haddock is to die for as is the full english). But it is not just the food you eat, breakfast is taken in the conservatory overlooking the bay, so you have stunning views to look at, and with Terry and Paul anticipating your every need from topping up your coffee to providing wonderful conversation, breakfast is a truly an amazing experience. Dining out? no problem, Terry and Paul will guide you where to eat and where not to, they will even book your table for you, and like Shun Lee the resturant recommendations turned up trumps. In fact everything they recommend is enjoyable from the coastal walks, shops, to the site seeing and nothing is too much trouble (Paul ringing rounds his contacts to source art materials for me). If you have never been to St Ives and you want something special, then please do yourself an enormous favour and book at Shun Lee, you really, really won't be dissapointed. So thank you once again to Terry, Paul and the girls for making our wedding annivarsary one to remember, we will be coming back...I can feel the pull :) x

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morganclan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

Our recent stay at Shun Lee got off to a wonderful start when the owners, Paul and Terry, welcomed us with a glass or two of wine in the lounge whilst we took in the spectacular views.

Throughout our week-long stay, Paul and Terry were fantastic hosts and we felt thoroughly spoilt with their excellent service and attentiveness, and the many little extra personal touches.

Shun Lee is a beautiful house in an excellent location which is far enough away from the centre of St Ives to be peaceful, but still close enough to be able to walk into the town. We stayed in the Godrevy Suite, which is very clean and tastefully furnished, and has great sea views (and a lovely big comfy bed!). The house also has ample on-site parking.

The breakfasts were delicious and top quality, with plenty of choice. This was a really relaxing way to start the day, whilst taking in the fantastic views from the breakfast room. We spent a lot more time here than we planned to - but for the right reasons. We even took some of the left-overs away for lunch!

It was also great to meet the 'girls', two Yorkshire Terriers, who are delightful and real characters.

St Ives proved to be a great base, with a very good range of places to eat and drink. Paul and Terry assisted with recommendations, and we had some very nice meals. It was also convenient for touring the area.

Thank you, Paul and Terry, for an excellent stay and it was great to meet and spend time with you. You certainly deserve the highest ratings for what you have created at Shun Lee.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmandelYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

Myself and my husband visited St Ives in September and we decided to stay at Shun Lee house from the fabulous reviews given on this site. Well, we were not to be disappointed. From the moment we arrived we were met by Terry and Paul and became friends instantly. We were greeted with a glass of wine which soon became a bottle, and a wonderful Cornish Cream Tea. After a long journey, that was such a lovely gesture.

They really do know how to provide top quality service. From the bedroom which had amazing views overlooking the bay and to Terry and Paul who certainly know how to look after you. Breakfast was amazing with so much to choose from and all freshly cooked by Paul. I never normally comment on places i have stayed before but i had to send this review as i was so blown away by this fabulous service and hospitality.

Apart from the spotless rooms, what Terry and Paul give extra (and give this the 5 star appeal), is little things like booking restaurants for you, giving you local information on where to eat, where to visit, what NOT to buy, etc. They did all of this for us, and we really appreciated their local knowledge and friendliness. Breakfast was such a wonderful experience not just because of the food or the spectacular view of St Ives Bay, but because of the lovely conversation from Terry (whilst Paul was busy cooking), and the great local stories of events going on in St Ives.

Thank you to Terry and Paul for making our trip so memorable and love to the 2 dogs. We have loved our time in St Ives, even though the trip was short (4 days), you made it one to remember. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie_Lewis_36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.3 mi away
Glanmor Guest House
Glanmor Guest House
#23 of 106 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oystercatcher
Oystercatcher
#5 of 8 in Carbis Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Treloyhan Manor Hotel
Treloyhan Manor Hotel
#60 of 106 in St Ives
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.1 mi away
Thurlestone Guest House
Thurlestone Guest House
#19 of 106 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Farmhouse
The Old Farmhouse
#79 of 106 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shun Lee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shun Lee House

Property: Shun Lee House
Address: Shun Lee Trelyon Avenue, St Ives TR26 2AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shun Lee House is situated on Porthminster Point overlooking the scenic St. Ives bay with absolutely stunning views of the harbor. We offer two suites to ensure you will receive personal service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shun Lee House St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing