We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”
Review of Shun Lee House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shun Lee House
Ranked #72 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 December 2010

During my recent trip to England, I spent a week staying with my sister, who lives in St. Ives. She visits Shun Lee once a month, with friends, for Sunday "lunch" and I was lucky enough to accompany them and enjoy one of my most memoralble meals ever. Terry and Paul are awesome hosts, making you feel like a friend being welcomed into their beautiful home. We began by sipping aperitifs overlooking the ocean and progressed to dining on an abundance and huge variety of delicious food seved in an attractive and intimate dining room. Our leisurely meal concluded with coffee and chocolates in comfy chairs enjoying the warmth and friendliness of our hosts and their two sweet dogs. Thank you, Terry and Paul, for a most memorable Sunday afternoon.
Kay

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldybrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2010

From first contact and visit last February to Shun Lee we were confident that we had made the right choice for our Wedding venue in October of this year. However, even our high expectations were exceeded. Having been to many Weddings around the UK I can honestly say that we have never experienced the attention to detail and care that Terry and Paul provided in the lead up and on the day of the Wedding. Nothing was too much trouble and they proactively engaged in the whole process. It was a small intimate Wedding. Paul and Terry very much entered into the spirit of it and were genuinely concerned to ensure that it was a memorable occasion for us. The food was fantastic and the canapes exceptional. Their warmth and high standards of service were also reflected in the staff that assisted on the day. Every aspect was first class, food, accommodation, views, hospitality etc etc etc but above all it was Terry and Paul that really made it outstanding and we will carry the wonderful memories with us forever. Thank you xxx

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REGCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

This was my third stay at Shun Lee and the standards were as high as ever. Even Tuesday's wind and rain did not spoil the visit. Terry & Paul's professionalism was, as always, faultless and my rooms, the Raffles Suite, spotless. This has to be the best b & b in St. Ives. Can't wait to be driving again on the A30 and on my way to my next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappiTraveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Wow! I stayed at Shun Lee House last week for my friend's wedding. Terry and Paul are the most wonderful hosts, nothing is too much trouble and the attention to detail in absolutely everything that they do makes this THE place to stay in St Ives. I've stayed in a number of hotels for both work and pleasure and this was by far the best place I've stayed in terms of being made to feel welcome, cared for and spoilt! The food is beautiful, the views over the harbour from our room are amazing and the best night's sleep in the most luxurious bed and bedding was a very special treat! Terry and Paul really make you feel at home and they manage to strike the perfect balance of making sure you have everything you need without being instrusive. I thoroughly recommend that you stay at Shun Lee House.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catwak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Sensational views, a beautiful room, elegant decor and service second to none, Terry and Paul are the most delightful hosts! Whether you are taking tea on the terrace or having breakfast in the conservatory you can watch the ships go by. The meals were so well presented you could eat them with your eyes and so delicious too. Do not miss the wonderful experience of staying at Shun Lee House, highly recommended! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c0urtn3y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Terry and Paul are wonderful hosts. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they are always ready to advise on local restaurants (and book them), walks and places to visit. Their beautiful house has a warm and friendly atmosphere, made even happier by two of the most delightful Yorkshire terriers you will ever meet. Add to that a bedroom with a stunning view of St Ives Bay and the most amazing breakfasts and you can't go wrong. Really, bed and breakfast just doesn't get any better than this.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dotandcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

My husband and I have made our 4th visit to this wonderful hotel and it just feels like coming home. Terry and Paul never cease to delight us with their warmth and hospitality and those breakfasts are just the best! There are two delightful rooms to chose from both of which will ensure the perfect night's rest. No expense has been spared in furnishing and accessorising these rooms from the Molton Brown toiletries, fluffy white towels and bathrobes to the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. We count ourselves lucky to have found such a gem and we are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PADDYBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.6 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
2.3 mi away
The Engine Inn
The Engine Inn
#1 of 1 in Nancledra
134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,042 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shun Lee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shun Lee House

Address: Shun Lee Trelyon Avenue, St Ives TR26 2AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range: £120 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shun Lee House is situated on Porthminster Point overlooking the scenic St. Ives bay with absolutely stunning views of the harbor. We offer two suites to ensure you will receive personal service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shun Lee House St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing