We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shun Lee is a jewel in St Ives' crown.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shun Lee House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shun Lee House
Ranked #64 of 106 St Ives B&B and Inns
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shun Lee is a jewel in St Ives' crown.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

In need of a complete rest , Shun Lee House was the perfect retreat. The room was luxurious and the view across the bay is stunning.
The attention to detail is great. A personal welcome by the owners Paul and Terry included tea and cake. Lovely room with fresh flowers. Comfy, comfy bed - you sink into gorgeous bed linen. Thoughtful toiletries in the bathroom and plenty of hot water.
There is a huge choice at breakfast and I thoroughly recommend Paul's Full English!
Nothing was too much trouble - suggestions for restaurants and places to visit were much appreciated. We will return as soon as possible.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank issygards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
109
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

I knew Shun Lee would be special - but nothing could have prepared us for how special Shun Lee actually is! The house is beautiful and spacious. The breakfast gorgeous-delicious and made to order. Terry & Paul have provided for every comfort you could possibly need in your room and more. It felt like an elegant English experience - one us Americans imagine it would be like coupled with a marvelously relaxed comfort. The view is out of this world no matter which window you look out of. Gorgeous garden and outdoor terrace. With only 2 rooms to let for guests it allows for quiet and calm. And the most touching part of all was how gracious, warm, welcoming and helpful Terry and Paul were.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

Belated review - just to confirm everything that has been written - Terry and Paul are superb hosts, if you go to St Ives stay here if you can, nothing will disappoint.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cander60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2011

From the moment we turned into the drive of the Shun Lee we instantly knew we had made the right decision for our honeymoon; we were warmly greeted by Terry and Paul and a very welcome tea and biscuits. We were then introduced to "the girls"; 2 lovelier dogs you will never meet.
The house was stunning and extremely homely. We stayed in the raffles suite which had the benefit of a double aspect overlooking both out to sea and St Ives harbour. Safe to say views were out of this world! The room itself was complete luxury; comfiest bed ever, beautifully furnished, lovely spacious bathroom, highest quality toiletries, fluffiest towels you could wish for, robes & slippers all spotlessly clean throughout our weeks' stay. Not to mention the really lovely touches such as the bed side lamps and electric fire being switched on for us prior to our return to the hotel each evening. In addition to this Terry and Paul ensured the complimentary refreshments tray was always brimming with tea,instant and cafetiere coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits and fresh milk.
The breakfasts..............one word...........WOW!! Every morning we were treated to top quality and fresh produce - there is simply no end to Paul's culinary skills. It was really lovely to chat to Terry, Paul, mum and the girls during our breakfast time; Terry and Paul had extensive knowlege of St Ives and surrounding areas from which we were able to benefit especially when it came to eating out of an evening . If your stay takes in a weekend, make sure you sample one of Paul's Sunday lunches, you will not be disappointed! However - WARNING - we defy you to eat anything else for the rest of the day!!
The hospitality was absolutely second to none; Terry and Paul were always there if we needed them without being intrusive, the perfect balance.
Our departure was an emotional goodbye - it was just like leaving friends behind. Would we stay there again? You bet we would!! Infact the calendar is out as we write to plan our next visit.
Thank you Terry and Paul for such a wonderful honeymoon, we'll be seeing you soon.
Rob & Sam from Barnsley.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samnrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

if you are looking for modern and minimalist then this B&B is not for you.....but if you are looking for nothing short of period opulence then look no further than the Shun Lee. Only two rooms - but both immaculate and with an attention to detail that is rivalled by none. Terry and Paul are superb hosts with nothing too much trouble - and put on a superb breakfast. We will definitiely go back as there cannot be a better choice.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Codamarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed by the lovely Paul & Terry. We had tea and cake with them and they helped us in with our bags. The room was gorgeous, lovely sleigh bed which you sank into, antique furniture and lovely en-suite with all the extras you could wish for (mini shampoo, conditioner, body wash, cotton buds etc, all crabtree & Evelyn).
The room also came with a big selection of teassome hot chocolate and a coffee perculator with fresh milk and some lovely biscuits, which they refilled often and bottles of cornish spring water on the bedside tables for us. Flat screen TV with lots of channels and a digital radio.

The breakfast was absolutely gorgeous! A hugh selection of cooked breakfasts which me and my partnet sampled and enjoyed very much. Freshly baked pastries and fresh fruit to start and a selection of juices, teas and coffee. Couldn't ask for anything more!

Had the most luxurious decadent new year we could have wished for at our stay at shunn lee! We can't wait to go back in the summer and stay with the lovely Paul & Terry again, we are going to take our friends to stay there with us.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesD85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2010

During my recent trip to England, I spent a week staying with my sister, who lives in St. Ives. She visits Shun Lee once a month, with friends, for Sunday "lunch" and I was lucky enough to accompany them and enjoy one of my most memoralble meals ever. Terry and Paul are awesome hosts, making you feel like a friend being welcomed into their beautiful home. We began by sipping aperitifs overlooking the ocean and progressed to dining on an abundance and huge variety of delicious food seved in an attractive and intimate dining room. Our leisurely meal concluded with coffee and chocolates in comfy chairs enjoying the warmth and friendliness of our hosts and their two sweet dogs. Thank you, Terry and Paul, for a most memorable Sunday afternoon.
Kay

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ldybrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.3 mi away
Glanmor Guest House
Glanmor Guest House
#23 of 106 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oystercatcher
Oystercatcher
#5 of 8 in Carbis Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Treloyhan Manor Hotel
Treloyhan Manor Hotel
#60 of 106 in St Ives
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.1 mi away
Thurlestone Guest House
Thurlestone Guest House
#19 of 106 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Farmhouse
The Old Farmhouse
#79 of 106 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shun Lee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shun Lee House

Property: Shun Lee House
Address: Shun Lee Trelyon Avenue, St Ives TR26 2AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shun Lee House is situated on Porthminster Point overlooking the scenic St. Ives bay with absolutely stunning views of the harbor. We offer two suites to ensure you will receive personal service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shun Lee House St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing