We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical basic Shearings Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Have just returned from a weeks stay at this Hotel. Yes, it really could do with a lot of money spending on it to update it and make it more pleasing on the eye. However, it does have a lot of saving graces. The view from the dining area and lounge is wonderful. The food was consistently good and always hot, with good choices each evening. All the staff were pleasant, polite, friendly and professional.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank beedeeNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123stives, Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2011

I am always pleased to hear when guests are happy with the service, food and staff. Thank you for your time to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

527 - 533 of 571 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2011

The hotel has a stunning location looking out over St Ives and the sea. The Railway Station is only a steep five minutes walk below the hotel, and the bus station 2 minutes walk down the road. The main town 5 minutes away on foot.

Our room was a good size and so was the bathroom. I think the bathroom had been recently refurbished and was modern and very clean with both a large bath and shower. No problems here. We were at the back of the hotel which was fine. However if you paid the extra for a room at the front the views must have been stunning.

The dinning room looked out over the bay and sea. There was some stunning sunsets to be seen as we ate dinner. The food was very good, good portions and quality. We didn't partake of the bar or evening entertainment prefering to do our own thing so can't comment on this, but from what we saw passing through it looked fine.

The staff at this hotel were great. Very attentive, friendly and helpful. Always cheery even when put under pressure by the other guests.

I would definately stay here again or reccomend to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank caulkheadmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123stives, Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2011

I am always glad to hear when guests have enjoyed their holiday. I would like to thank you for your comments.I do agree that the views from the hotel across the bay are stunning. Why not book a sea view next time they are well worth the money or one of our superior rooms which has the bay windows.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Journey from Scotland to St. Ives is awful WITHOUT THE ASSISTANCE of 8 x day package Shearings Coach holiday - which they discotinued several years ago - without explanation. However, on arrival - and greeted with the never failing warm welcome from Caroline, Craig and their team - you remember that THIS is what makes the awful journey worthwhile.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mae_hepner44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123stives, Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2011

It is always nice to see regular travellers returning. I agree the views are spectacular from the hotel over the bay. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

we were worried but please ignore previous bad mouthing on this site,they must be either perpetual moaners or people who think they are royalty.
the rooms are as you would expect for 3*
the food is above standard for 3*
entertainment is not usually for us but everyone seemed to really enjoy the performers.
reception staff and waiters/waitresses/bar staff----great
the all in was terrific value

Room Tip: we had room 300
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank finn41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123stives, Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2011

Thank you for your recent comments about your stay. I am glad to hear that your enjoyed your stay and the staff are grateful for your comments as they really try hard to please. I look forward to seeing you next time, give me a call in advance and I will try to meet your requirements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Superb views from the hotel lounge & dining area. Hotel itself - very old fashioned and needs refurbishment asap! Floorboards in bar/lounge area - creaking! Lift was out of order for 3 whole days which caused many problems for the elderly people who were staying there, especially the ones who had been allocated rooms on the upper floors. It was pitiful to have to watch them trying to attempt the stairs several times a day. Our room 112 - although was clean, the bathroom was VERY cold and at 7am every morning, a generator (or something similar) suddenly stated working and was very noisy. There was also a constant "clicking" coming from the bathroom. Room did have a TV (only a few stations worked), Kettle and Hairdryer. Service and food choice in dining room were good and the various nationalities who worked in there all seemed very pleasant. The hotel itself is only a short walk from St Ives itself and reception will book a taxi for you if you are not able to walk the distance into town. Cost about £3 going but slightly more coming back. Hotel is not suitable for people who have walking difficulties as there are steps up to the hotel itself and then several groups of steps within the lounge, dining room, bar. Would I return to St Ives? Definately - but would not stay at this hotel again. Considering that Shearings own this property, they need to spend some money on it.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lindyloo98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

location superb but this hotel needs a complete overhaul , food and service exellent . staff really helpful and friendly ,the lift was not working and was like this our entire stay ,as we had to climb four small sets of stairs this was not ideal , we had a basic room and i mean basic ,bathroom was really small and there where no shower gel etc decor in room needed bringing back into this century ,and the window was falling apart apart from the location this hotel didnt have anything to make me want to stay again ,

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank patsy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123stives, Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2011

It was unfortunate that the lift was not working during your stay it was a mchanical problem and things do break down. It was pleasing to hear however that you thought the food and service was excellent. Thank you for your pleasing comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

A beautiful hotel, in an idyllic setting. The only thing that is even better than the hotel itself, is the friendly professional running of the place by Caroline and Craig (the management). My family have loved coming here for years, and I look forward to going back in August, very very much!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JasMax44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123stives, Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2011

Thank you for your lovely comments, it is always pleasing for the team to read. Look forward to seeing you and your family in August 2011.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,744 reviews
0.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#9 of 21 in St Ives
382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,025 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#6 of 21 in St Ives
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel

Address: The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St Ives
#11 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: £48 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an elevated position overlooking Porthminster Beach, this welcoming hotel commands stunning views across the bay. St Ives is renowned for its fantastic beaches, picturesque harbour and bustling streets full of interesting boutique shops. Bay St Ives Hotel is in a perfect location only a short walk to most holiday attractions. With open plan lounges to enjoy the views whilst listening to the evening’s entertainment, a break here is truly relaxing. A courtyard is open spring and summer for alfresco seating and you’ll be able to sample the wonderful light that has made St Ives such a mecca for painters and artists. For the more adventurous, St Ives makes a wonderful base for visiting many of Cornwall’s finest sights and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing