We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location great - Rooms variable - Lift still broken!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Location great - Rooms variable - Lift still broken!”
Reviewed 11 July 2011

My mum is currently staying at The Bay as part of a Shearings holiday and she's just called to give me an update.
Although she's having a wonderful (and busy!) time, she's very disappointed with her room. There seem to be wide variations in room standards so I would guess these reviews will differ dependent on which room the people were allocated to.
My mum had forgotten to ask for a sea view and she has a very small dingy room which overlooks a yard. When I called the hotel to request a change the staff member was really good. Unfortunately they're full so the room can't be changed but she was very pleasant.

I have noticed an earlier review where there was a complaint about the lift not working, along with a response from the manager giving the impression that the incident may be isolated. Well, my Mum's been there for 3 days and the lift hasn't worked once. If you're infirm and can't handle stairs, I would consider this before booking. Mum's on the ground floor which means she doesn't need the stairs but her room in small and dingy. Are there ground floor rooms that have sea view and are brighter? Worth checking.

Mum would probably stay there again because of the location and the friendly welcome but would be very clear about which room she wanted.

Room Tip: Ring the hotel to find out about the better rooms before booking - I suspect Sea View is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GreatCX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    207
    107
    49
    38
See reviews for
64
327
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

In February we visited the St Ives Bay Hotel. We had stayed there previously in Oct 2010 and April 2010.
We come by coach with Shearings, which is very relaxing for us. Our baggage is put straight into our room, which is a bonus.
The staff are very friendly, and will do everything to make your holiday a pleasure.

The dining room is very nice, with beautiful veiws of the bay. The staff are very considerate, and the service is very good. We cannot fault the food, always hot and plenty of it.. Try one of their salads...mmmm Lovely..

We always pay extra for a seaview room. We have found the bedrooms to be clean, warm and inviting.

We will be back..

Room Tip: Book a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SwintonLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123stives, Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2011
Thanks for your review,great to hear that you keep coming back and you feel that the standards are the same.We are doing similar holidays to those done in February at the end of the year which you may be interested in. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Have just returned from a weeks stay at this Hotel. Yes, it really could do with a lot of money spending on it to update it and make it more pleasing on the eye. However, it does have a lot of saving graces. The view from the dining area and lounge is wonderful. The food was consistently good and always hot, with good choices each evening. All the staff were pleasant, polite, friendly and professional.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank beedeeNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123stives, Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2011
I am always pleased to hear when guests are happy with the service, food and staff. Thank you for your time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryde Isle of Wight
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

The hotel has a stunning location looking out over St Ives and the sea. The Railway Station is only a steep five minutes walk below the hotel, and the bus station 2 minutes walk down the road. The main town 5 minutes away on foot.

Our room was a good size and so was the bathroom. I think the bathroom had been recently refurbished and was modern and very clean with both a large bath and shower. No problems here. We were at the back of the hotel which was fine. However if you paid the extra for a room at the front the views must have been stunning.

The dinning room looked out over the bay and sea. There was some stunning sunsets to be seen as we ate dinner. The food was very good, good portions and quality. We didn't partake of the bar or evening entertainment prefering to do our own thing so can't comment on this, but from what we saw passing through it looked fine.

The staff at this hotel were great. Very attentive, friendly and helpful. Always cheery even when put under pressure by the other guests.

I would definately stay here again or reccomend to friends.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank caulkheadmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123stives, Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2011
I am always glad to hear when guests have enjoyed their holiday. I would like to thank you for your comments.I do agree that the views from the hotel across the bay are stunning. Why not book a sea view next time they are well worth the money or one of our superior rooms which has the bay windows.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Journey from Scotland to St. Ives is awful WITHOUT THE ASSISTANCE of 8 x day package Shearings Coach holiday - which they discotinued several years ago - without explanation. However, on arrival - and greeted with the never failing warm welcome from Caroline, Craig and their team - you remember that THIS is what makes the awful journey worthwhile.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mae_hepner44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123stives, Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2011
It is always nice to see regular travellers returning. I agree the views are spectacular from the hotel over the bay. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

we were worried but please ignore previous bad mouthing on this site,they must be either perpetual moaners or people who think they are royalty.
the rooms are as you would expect for 3*
the food is above standard for 3*
entertainment is not usually for us but everyone seemed to really enjoy the performers.
reception staff and waiters/waitresses/bar staff----great
the all in was terrific value

Room Tip: we had room 300
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank finn41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123stives, Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Thank you for your recent comments about your stay. I am glad to hear that your enjoyed your stay and the staff are grateful for your comments as they really try hard to please. I look forward to seeing you next time, give me a call in advance and I will try to meet your requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Superb views from the hotel lounge & dining area. Hotel itself - very old fashioned and needs refurbishment asap! Floorboards in bar/lounge area - creaking! Lift was out of order for 3 whole days which caused many problems for the elderly people who were staying there, especially the ones who had been allocated rooms on the upper floors. It was pitiful to have to watch them trying to attempt the stairs several times a day. Our room 112 - although was clean, the bathroom was VERY cold and at 7am every morning, a generator (or something similar) suddenly stated working and was very noisy. There was also a constant "clicking" coming from the bathroom. Room did have a TV (only a few stations worked), Kettle and Hairdryer. Service and food choice in dining room were good and the various nationalities who worked in there all seemed very pleasant. The hotel itself is only a short walk from St Ives itself and reception will book a taxi for you if you are not able to walk the distance into town. Cost about £3 going but slightly more coming back. Hotel is not suitable for people who have walking difficulties as there are steps up to the hotel itself and then several groups of steps within the lounge, dining room, bar. Would I return to St Ives? Definately - but would not stay at this hotel again. Considering that Shearings own this property, they need to spend some money on it.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lindyloo98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Ives hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,661 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
968 reviews
0.2 mi away
Western Hotel
Western Hotel
#15 of 21 in St Ives
175 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel

Property: Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Address: The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St Ives
#11 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an elevated position overlooking Porthminster Beach, this welcoming hotel commands stunning views across the bay. St Ives is renowned for its fantastic beaches, picturesque harbour and bustling streets full of interesting boutique shops. Bay St Ives Hotel is in a perfect location only a short walk to most holiday attractions. With open plan lounges to enjoy the views whilst listening to the evening’s entertainment, a break here is truly relaxing. A courtyard is open spring and summer for alfresco seating and you’ll be able to sample the wonderful light that has made St Ives such a mecca for painters and artists. For the more adventurous, St Ives makes a wonderful base for visiting many of Cornwall’s finest sights and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing