We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week in Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Having had a few midweek and weekend holidays with Shearings, it was nice to see they have introduced a 7 night deal, which suited our requirements. We have always taken self drive offers but this time we booked to travel on the "special offer" by coach from the North East, on advice from the booking office.
We still drove to St Ives, leaving home at 5.30am and arrived at the hotel at 10.45 giving us the rest of the day to explore the area.
The staff were very helpful with the garage facilities and took our cases to the room, whilst we were out.
Booking with the coach option allowed us to take advantage of the three free trips to locol attractions, which I must state were first class and a savings of around £70 in entrance fees had we visited on our own.
The only slight down turn was the hotel is in need of refurbishment in certain areas, which is noticeable where efforts have been made.
I would recommend to look for Shearings special offers as they are good value for the money.

Room Tip: Twin rooms are normally larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 54Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

The company do have some great deals for either self drive or coach holidays from the Highland Hotel, Strathpeffer, to the Ship and Castle in St Mawes, from the Windermere Hotel in Windermere to the Royal Hotel in Weymouth. The company does invest in refurbishment and this is ongoing so why not pay us a visit and see the changes made. If you decide to visit St Ives again in the future give the hotel a call and will be happy to honour any requests that you may have. Thank you for taking the time to post your views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

513 - 519 of 571 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2011

I cannot thank the staff enough for a lovely week. We had a problem as our room was directly over the entertainment and kept us awake, but we was moved quickly to another room away from the noise. It is a shame that the hotel does need refurbishment, but our room clean and the friendliness of the staff and service outweight this.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

A big thank you for taking the time to comment and also for your pleasing comments. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay here in St Ives. If you wish to visit again in the future then give us a call and we will honour any requests that you may have. Look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Good position in St. Ives. Our updated room was excellent, cleanliness v. good. The corridors, and fire doors need decorating urgently - down to bare wood. However, the staff were so helpful especially reception. The management of the Shearings group need to pay attention to this Victorian hotel - it deserves a refurb throughout in line with the updated Premier and Superior rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Annabelle39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

I agree that the superior rooms are value for money and the views overlooking Porthminster beach are stunning. Thank you for your favourable comments regarding the staff I will pass these on to them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Just returned from a weeks Shearings holiday based in this hotel.The staff were excellent, it would be impossible to praise them highly enough. The food was very good, always piping hot with a reasonable selection on offer. Housekeeping was also of an acceptable standard. Alas the hotel building itself did not match its staff, set in an enviable position looking over the sea, it was obvious that little, if any real investment into the hotel has been made in many a year past, I can't quite put a decade into its decor, since it ranges from the 1960's to 1980's. I booked a 'superior room' (Room 18) with sea view, the view was wonderful, but the term 'superior' has been improperly used unless by comparison all other room types are deemed 'inferior'. The room has had a bodged redecoration to upgrade it, presumably done by a poor DIY bod, since there are paint runs and splashes everywhere. Rooms in hotels like Premier Inn are of a far higher standard than this so called 'superior room'.

Shearings really ought to hang their heads in shame at allowing a hotel with great potential and great staff to be starved of investment. I would never ever travl with Shearings again for fear that their other hotels were of a like standard

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Seaview07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

I am grateful for the positive comments that you make regarding the staff, the meals and the cleanliness. I value customer feedback as it plays a vital role in improving the product on offer. We are currently working on improvements to the hotel. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We usually pay for an upgraded room but we asked for a sea view room and could only get a standard one (must have booked too late to get a superior). The room was OK but the en suite was tiny and a bit smelly. I'm only small but felt extremely cramped in the shower. The TV was very small, one of the old 14" screen types.

The hotel is a few minutes walk from the town downhill but there is a fairly steep walk back up for part of the way. It didn't bother us as we're regular walkers but could be difficult for anyone not so good at hills.

The food on offer varied, the breakfasts were always hot and tasty, but a couple of the dinners were pretty poor - I had plaice the first night and it was more skin than fish - we both had steak pie on the last night...avoid this at all costs! The rest of the dinners were OK.

We didn't see any of the entertainment so can't comment on that.

The staff were friendly and efficient.

On the whole the hotel could do with a bit of a makeover, it was comfortable but we wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a premier or superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Trippie3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

It is with a heavy heart that I write this review. I have been on a few Shearings holidays and always find that the sticking point is the quality of accommodationa and food offered. Fortunately we were out most days on their trips which are truly informative and varied. The coach journey down, the driver, the included and optional excursions are all excellent which is why I like to go on at least one of these types of holiday per year. The standard of the Shearings owned hotel does leave something to be desired. We did have a lovely view of Porthminster beach and could hear the waves lapping on the beach, but the room itself was quite cramped. The housekeeping of the room left something to be desired, the making of the bed meant that the duvet was thrown over. The sheet underneath was never straightened in the 7 days we were there so we did that ourselves.
The restaurant had lovely views (again over the beach, but the food on offer was quite basic) The vegetarians only had one choice per meal - take or leave it - and I always checked the cleanliness of the glasses and cereal bowls in the morning. This hotel definately needs to get it's housekeeping and catering in order. The serving staff were excellent, Alba, our waitress was so good, it was a shame she was going back home to Spain after our week as she was brilliant and made you feel special.
I have been in this trade myself for 35+ years and so know what to look for, and I still cannot understand why the manager was allowed to go on holiday the day after we got there, during what must be considered to be the busiest period of the holiday season - unbelievable!!

Room Tip: I didn't see the upgraded rooms but perhaps this would be the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LiverpoolL9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

It is good to hear that you enjoyed your excursions to what can only be described as beautiful scenic areas of natural beaty. The menu has many choices, however anyone with special diets can always see the staff to make arrangements for their meals as looking at the menu displayed in the morning. The hotel is busy all year round so holidays for staff are taken throughout the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

My son and i have just returned from our holiday to st ives and cannot praise shearings highly enough,i don't drive and i'm a single parent so this type of holiday is perfect for us,we upgraded to a sea view room which was definitely worth it, yes , the hotel is a little tired in places but, our room was spotless, and cleaned on a regular basis, the food was excellent and even managed to feed my very fussy teenager,our driver kevin was fantastic throughout the drive there and back and also on the trips out,hotel staff were all lovely and very professional and i'm sure would have dealt with any problems should we have had any,st ives is simply stunning and you can't fault the perfect location of this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marsha h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Its great to hear that we can appeal to a range of ages. The point that you made about having a sea view room is right, the views are stunning. Look out for the many special offers that Shearings have to offer in either a Bay or Coast and Country Hotel. However if you decide to come and visit us again you will be more than welcome, give us a call and we can book the whole holiday from coach to room. Thanks agsin for your comments. Look forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#10 of 21 in St Ives
383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,025 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#6 of 21 in St Ives
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel

Address: The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St Ives
#11 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: £48 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an elevated position overlooking Porthminster Beach, this welcoming hotel commands stunning views across the bay. St Ives is renowned for its fantastic beaches, picturesque harbour and bustling streets full of interesting boutique shops. Bay St Ives Hotel is in a perfect location only a short walk to most holiday attractions. With open plan lounges to enjoy the views whilst listening to the evening’s entertainment, a break here is truly relaxing. A courtyard is open spring and summer for alfresco seating and you’ll be able to sample the wonderful light that has made St Ives such a mecca for painters and artists. For the more adventurous, St Ives makes a wonderful base for visiting many of Cornwall’s finest sights and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing