We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shearing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in St Ives
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 December 2012

first impressions of hotel was a bit run down and the stay confirmed that. the hotel location near the top of hill gave a wonderfull view of the bay .the rooms our party had were all simular some had showers ours did not ,the rooms are clean beds clean but rooms are in need of remedial work as is rest of hotel .the good points are the staff could not fault the one bit wonderful lot .food was very good and enough to eat if you wanted more we were told to just ask would i recommend it yes but would point out the need of remedial works to hotel

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank philip p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

All rooms are different, some having showers, some having baths and some have both. Requests can be made for either and if mentioned whilst here we do our best to accomodate the best that we can to meet your needs.
All the staff do their utmost to ensure holiday enjoyment and the chefs work hard to provide good hot and plentiful food.
The company are looking at some refurbishment work in 2013 and this is ongoing throughout the company.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

437 - 443 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2012

We stayed in this hotel as part of a Shearings 5 day holiday in November. We are a married couple but stayed at the hotel with a groups of friends and family. First of all the positives. On arrival I asked to change rooms as we had no shower in the first room allocated. The receptionist was very helpful and gave us a different room with a shower immediately. The two bedrooms we saw had adequate furniture and plenty of cupboard space. The room we used had comfy beds and was warm. The location of the hotel is good with lovely views over the bay. We found most of the staff to be friendly and helpful. Our waitress a young Thai woman was particulary pleasant and hard working. The manager is visible and we found him to be friendly, The evening entertainment was excellent with singing from the 60's and 70's and comedy. Personally I could have done without the three games of bingo each night but that is just a personal preference. The bar staff were efficient and service at the bar was good. There was a good choice of drinks available for the drinks tokens. The food was good with a choice of at least three different dishes for each of the three courses of the evening meal. It was served hot and with a smile.
However despite the above this hotel does have some significant problems. It is in need of significant refurbishment. (Some areas have been done). The bedroom we used had substantial black mould on the windows and on the bedroom walls. The carpet was old, worn and badly stained. The mattress on one of the beds was also stained. Luckily there were three covers between me and the mattress. the bedroom was in need of a really good deep clean. The shower was dated and rusty in parts, although there was plenty of hot water. In the entertainment area some of the chairs were so badly stained that they were hardly fit to sit on. The toilets serving the main bar area smelt dreadful, again had a lot of black mould and a margarine tub was wedged between the top of one of the cubicles and the ceiling catching a water leak. As the week progressed this gradually filled up with brown liquid. Food portions served are small but in fairness when the manager greets you on the bus he does say just to ask for more. We did do this. For some meals extra food did arrive, on other occassions it did not even when requested twice. The waitress was very rushed and in my opinion just didnt have time to bring it. Tip = if you want more ask for it when you give your order and it will be brought at same time as your main portion. One day we were told we could not have any bread roll with our starter because the hotel had run out. There is some confusion over the bar times. The books in the bedrooms say it closes at 11:30, the manager said 12 when he met us on the bus and the bar in fact closed around 11:10 pm. When we asked for clarity at reception we were told staff were only paid to 11pm. However in fairness, after the first night the staff did ask if anyone wanted more drink before shutting the bar. Finally the coach - we found the none stop talking from the driver far too much. He talked all the time not just when he had something interesting to say. As a group we felt this distracted from the enjoyment of thr trips out.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Babs501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

I am surprised to read these comments as previous people have greatly praised the food and portions.
We have just had some new furniture in the lounge area which has made a great difference to this lounge.
Any issues regarding rooms if mentioned when here are dealt with as best we can, and I can assure you that action could have been taken at the time but I thank you for bringing to my attention so that it can be dealt with accordingly.
Thank you for taking the time to complete this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We travelled from Yorkshire with our Driver Kevin To the bay Hotel St Ives We left Yorkshire at about 10 30 am , it took us till 7. pm to get there but we did have two 45 minutes breaks , the weather was atrocious ,Kevin kept all the passengers well informed of all the intersting places and sights that we passed through .
The hotel staff made all the guests welcome ,nothing was too much trouble for them,and to say three coaches pulled up outside the hotel at the same time the staff sorted us all out with our rooms in very good time .The food excellent and served by very polite staff
The entertainment in the lounge was first class, we could not fault the hotel .

Room Tip: Pay that bit extra for a sea view room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank keith p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

Yorkshire to Cornwall is quite a journey but then its all the better for having the knowledge that you are in safe hands with Shearings taking the strain of the driving. Its good to hear that Kevin kept you entertained for the journey.
Also glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Every day since our return to Manchester on Friday 23rd we have said what a wonderful holiday we had at the St Ives Bay Hotel. Highly recommend it and we will certainly go back in the future. The journey, although long, was great, the Hotel & staff were very good, food excellent & plentiful and our driver Eddie, amazing!!!. His tours were very entertaining and his knowledge of Cornwall made our holiday very interesting.

Thank you to you all for a lovely time!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1Cristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2012

St Ives is a great holiday destination whatever the season and its great to here that you enjoyed your stay with us. Its also good to here that Eddie kept you entertained with his knowledge of Cornwall which helped to enhance your holiday. The journey may be long but at least with Eddie's good driving you had a safe arrival to St Ives and hopefully you will do it again in the near future. Or why not try one of the other many Shearings hotels around the British Isles for another great deal where I am sure you will find another knowledgable driver, however there is only one Eddie!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

This was my first Shearings holiday and it was fantastic! The Hotel was great, room was great & the food was delicious. Staff were friendly - what more could you ask for? Although it took a while to get there it was well worth it :)

Room Tip: Terrific view of the beach from the higher floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I see this is your first Shearings holiday and from what you say this may not be your last.
Shearings have some fantastic offers on at the moment which will cheer up the winter months so keep a look out for those great value for money breaks. As you said it may have taken a time to get here but at least it was a safe journey and an enjoyable break.
Hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

My husband and I, along with a friend, have just come home from a 5 day break to St. Ives. The weather was “mixed” to put it kindly but the whole holiday was excellent. The Bay Hotel was a top rate place to stay. It was warm and cosy with very comfortable beds (with quilts, not blankets/sheets). We were in a standard room that overlooked the back (14) but it was fine; the bathroom was newly done I guess, but the bedroom may be decorated soon as it was a little bit “tired” but nothing terrible and everything was spotless. Radiators were much appreciated as was the good quality double glazed windows. The water was always hot.

The food was top rate with a choice of 3 or 4 items for the starter, main course and pudding. Everything was piping hot (except the salad stuff of course). The choice was amazing with everything cooked to perfection and delivered promptly to our table. The vegetarian option was varied too. Our Hungarian waiter, Zsolt, was very good; smart appearance and skilled at his job and such a nice young man in general. We had packed lunches on the day home and these were well worth ordering (my husband had the sandwich option and I had the salads).

The Shearings coach itself was very good as was the driver, Chris, a Cornishman. He was very knowledgeable but didn’t over do the information. He was kind and helpful making sure that passengers were happy in every situation. He was a very safe driver.

The 4 drink tokens a day was much appreciated; such a range of things to have. The evening entertainment was pleasant with good singers, presenting tunes from the 60s and 70s (+ some later stuff). Better than some so called “stars” on TV.

The location is lovely overlooking a sandy bay, with the railway station below. It is only about 10 minutes walk into town so a nice position. The harbour is a pleasant place to be.

Overall it was a very good holiday in an excellently run hotel; why some people complain about things is beyond me. It is SUPERB and operated by a very skilled team. I have been trained and worked in catering and know the work that goes on behind the scenes.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Groovy1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

It was good to hear that we lived up to the Shearings reputation. Comfortable, clean rooms, hot plentiful food, good entertainment and friendly staff and of course value for money.
The drivers here at the hotel including Chris are very knowledgable and its great that the information they pass on enhances your excursions.
I will pass on your comments to Zsolt as he will be proud to hear that he is doing a good job.
Thank you for taking the time to write this review it is very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Just had a long weekend,3 nights in all at the Bay Hotel going with Shearings from Yorkshire.Although it takes all day to get there it's well worth the distance for the location and the quality of the Hotel.We had a delay going down there due to an acident on the M1 that morning but on arival at the Hotel at 7.45 pm the Manager boarded the coach to greet us and asure us that we had got time to freshen up before our meal.The food was very good and there was a good choice, and the staff were very eficient and friendly.We had the 4 drinks vouchers and the Bar was faily well stocked, although as long as they have a good pint of Smooth I'm well satisfied.We did not get the saving some had as i had booked it in advance for my wifes birthday and paid a suplement for a sea view which was well worth it.The room was spacious and clean with plenty of tea and coffee.Bathroom was OK and well stocked with clean towels.The small lift was very handy for me and was near to our room.The only falt that we had was that the Bed was not very comfortable but I'm sure that if i had mentioned it to the Staff the problem would have been rectified.We had entertainment Saturday night and Sunday night which was OK although i did ask the male singer on Saturday night to mention my wifes Birthday which he agreed to but never did for some reason.The Breakfasts were realy good with Cereals,Fruit,Porridge,Full English and of coarse Kippers and plenty of Tea and Coffee and plenty of Toast.Will we go back?that has got to be a yes

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KeithVi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It was great to hear that even though the events on your journey you have a safe one to us.I have to say that we do serve a good pint of Johns Smiths and for the lager drinkers there is Carling.
You are correct if you had mentioned the issue of the bed to reception something could have been done.
I hope that your wife enjoyed her celebrations and maybe we will see you again in the near future or if not here at one of the many Shearings hotels around the British Isles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 20 in St Ives
2,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 20 in St Ives
966 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 20 in St Ives
1,002 reviews
0.2 mi away
Western Hotel
Western Hotel
#15 of 20 in St Ives
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel

Address: The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St Ives
#11 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: £55 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an elevated position overlooking Porthminster Beach, this welcoming hotel commands stunning views across the bay. St Ives is renowned for its fantastic beaches, picturesque harbour and bustling streets full of interesting boutique shops. Bay St Ives Hotel is in a perfect location only a short walk to most holiday attractions. With open plan lounges to enjoy the views whilst listening to the evening’s entertainment, a break here is truly relaxing. A courtyard is open spring and summer for alfresco seating and you’ll be able to sample the wonderful light that has made St Ives such a mecca for painters and artists. For the more adventurous, St Ives makes a wonderful base for visiting many of Cornwall’s finest sights and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing