We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cold hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“cold hotel”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

my wife and i travelled to this hotel with shearings holidays on 25/2/13 after a long journey from west yorkshire . we found a warm reception, from the staff. wich was a lot better than the hotel , it was the coldest hotel we have ever stayed at. for the first two days every guest was complaining about the tempreture in there rooms ,even the dining room was cold ,the bedroom we had was no 213 wich did not have double glazing, the radiator was by the entrance door wich did not keep the rest of the room warm, and was giving out little heat,
the bath room was clean and well decorated , but it lacked a shelf for putting tooth brushes e t c on. and the extractor fan did not work, the bed room was large enough and well decorated with two chairs and a small table and the usual kettle hair dryer etc, on arrival we found one of the bed side lights did not work and it kept falling over, we reported this to reception on the first day,who said they would have it seen to, it had not been fixed when we left on the friday.

the dining room staff were very good we did not have to wait very long after placing our choice from the menu , wich had a good choice ,we had no complaints about the food.,

the bedroom was kept clean and tidy by the cleaning staff,

the entertainment was up to the usual standard , there was bingo every evening for those who wanted to play,

mr &mrs d wilkinson

Room Tip: i think it is pot luck what type of room you get allocated 213 was ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DONALD W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
I would put on record that in my 16 years at this hotel this February was the coldest I have experienced and with the East winds hitting the hotel directly. The heating was on constantly and still it was hard to keep areas warm. The reception, lounge area and ballroom are all open plan so when anyone enters or leaves the hotel it will allow cold air in. We were trying to keep the areas warm but there was a minority of people who insisted on going outside for whatever reason leaving the doors open.
Usually any faults that are reported are actioned so I cannot understand why this was not and i will look into this matter.
Thank you for taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    204
    105
    48
    37
See reviews for
62
322
38
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Booked this Hotel via late rooms...49.00 B&B.
The welcome by staff was lovely...so friendly and helpful showing us to our room.We were allocated a top floor,sea view room which is what I asked for...the room was clean.The bed was very comfortable with fresh smelling sheets.!
However the bath room leaved a lot to be desired.despite the heated vowel rail...it was freezing.....with black mould from condensation.
The grab rail in the bath was horrific.! It was covered in rust and frankly needed replacing immediately.
It is attention to simple things that makes a guests stay more enjoyable.
Breakfast was served far too early,with a small time frame.08.00-09.00.
The breakfast was served quickly by helpful staff.
Plenty to choose from which was advantageous.
Would we reccomend this hotel .....?
Probably not I am afraid.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foss92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
The views I agree are stunning from the hotel overlooking the beach.
Thank you for bringing to my attention the issues in the bathroom, these issues will now be addressed with housekeeping and maintainence.
The breakfast choices are varied so that it can hopefully appeal to many different tastes.
Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Booked in for one night only and asked for a sea view and a bath and got both! Well happy about that. The room was clean , bed comfy, heating in good working order. The staff very helpful and pleasant. Very good inexpensive hotel booked through late rooms.com. Will come again. One thing st. Ives is a steep hill away not so good if you have reduced mobility. could have provided shower cap and shower gel but not complaining as the room makes up for that.

Room Tip: Room 209 twin, sea view with a bath and shower fantastic view from window
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 209011Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
The views overlooking Porthminster beach are stunning whatever the season. As a Shearings hotel we have many great offers available which enable you to have comfortable accommodation, traditional food and evening entertainment most nights. Currently there is available a book before you leave offer that allows some great discounts to be had. This comes in handy when planning the next break away and this could be in any of the hotels in the Bay or Coast and Country brand.
Thanks for completing this review its always pleasing to know that someone has enjoyed the break with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013 via mobile

We have family in St Ives and this time decided to try coach hol. How can they do it for the money! We have paid £90 night for seafront position just for b&b and room wasn't any better in fact half the size had to find money for petrol etc!! Although hotel outdated etc clean and staff excellent. Food although not brilliant good enough and comes very hot and enough for anyone. We were so impressed booked weekend to Isle of Wight while there!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you for your positive reviews and taking the time to post it. Certainly hope that you enjoy your next break to the Isle of Wight. Shearings have many great offers on at the moment, and it is worth taking up the opportunity to get that fantastic deal of the discounts available for the book before you leave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Went to this hotel for a Birthday break away! What a nice time we had! I asked for a View which I didnt expect to get as I didnt pay a high price, but the view from the room was the best I have ever had, the room itself was big and the bed was very comfy! the staff was nice and friendly and very welcoming, just want say a BIG thank you to caroline (I think her name was) with shortish brown hair for the welcome and remembering who we was and for the Birthday card, working front of house myself in a hotel her friendly approach was great so a big thank you. only small let down was the breakfast but im not a big breakfast fan anyway but the st ives bay hotel is a very nice place to stay not far from the shops. we will be back in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielevans19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
I agree that the views from the sea view rooms overlooking Porthminster beach are stunning even when out of the main season.
The staff here are very keen to make everyone feel special , its great that your birthday was remembered and hopefully a memorable one.
The breakfast choices range from cereals to fresh fruit, to ham and eggs to full English, vegetarian choices are always available.
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and look forward to seeing you again in the season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
436 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

The location the ambiance the views the service is to die for
The food is the best in cornwall the breakfast is awesome the restaurant meals are sublime with top quality cooking and flair the presentation and service in the restaurant is brilliant
If ypu like quality look no further

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
The views across the Bay are stunning and second to none. Its great to hear that you enjoyed the food the chefs will be pleased to receive this feed back. The company have some great deals available at the moment so if you fancy a short break then St Ives is the place to come.
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Visited on 28th january had a lovely refurbished room with a view of porthminster beach.
The lounge is looking good with all the new seating it proved to be very popular.
Food good again love having fresh fruit with breakfast.
Very helpfull team of staff & our driver Kev full of information.
Will be back soon !!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jenny y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Its great to hear that you liked the newly refurbished room and the new lounge furniture. The chefs pride themselves in serving good, hot food and it would appear that you were well satisfied again with the food.
As you are seasoned travellers you will be aware of the great deals Shearings have available at the moment on breaks throughout the year. Give us a call at the hotel when you need your next visit arranging and we will be more than happy to obilge.
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
933 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
941 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel

Property: Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Address: The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St Ives
#11 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an elevated position overlooking Porthminster Beach, this welcoming hotel commands stunning views across the bay. St Ives is renowned for its fantastic beaches, picturesque harbour and bustling streets full of interesting boutique shops. Bay St Ives Hotel is in a perfect location only a short walk to most holiday attractions. With open plan lounges to enjoy the views whilst listening to the evening’s entertainment, a break here is truly relaxing. A courtyard is open spring and summer for alfresco seating and you’ll be able to sample the wonderful light that has made St Ives such a mecca for painters and artists. For the more adventurous, St Ives makes a wonderful base for visiting many of Cornwall’s finest sights and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing