We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Atlantic(Carbis Bay)
US$280
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$286
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Nook(St Ives)
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$399
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$387
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Downsfield(Carbis Bay)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$413
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$399
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (599)
Filter reviews
599 results
Traveller rating
159
223
119
52
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
223
119
52
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshearings holidaycoach drivernational holidaysentertainment areasea viewshearings groupevening entertainmentives bayweekend breaksuperior roommobility problemspublic areasbeds were very comfortablesingle roomvisited this hotellong journeyoverlooking the beach
Filter
Updating list...
465 - 470 of 599 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2013

my wife and i travelled to this hotel with shearings holidays on 25/2/13 after a long journey from west yorkshire . we found a warm reception, from the staff. wich was a lot better than the hotel , it was the coldest hotel we have ever stayed at. for the first two days every guest was complaining about the tempreture in there rooms ,even the dining room was cold ,the bedroom we had was no 213 wich did not have double glazing, the radiator was by the entrance door wich did not keep the rest of the room warm, and was giving out little heat,
the bath room was clean and well decorated , but it lacked a shelf for putting tooth brushes e t c on. and the extractor fan did not work, the bed room was large enough and well decorated with two chairs and a small table and the usual kettle hair dryer etc, on arrival we found one of the bed side lights did not work and it kept falling over, we reported this to reception on the first day,who said they would have it seen to, it had not been fixed when we left on the friday.

the dining room staff were very good we did not have to wait very long after placing our choice from the menu , wich had a good choice ,we had no complaints about the food.,

the bedroom was kept clean and tidy by the cleaning staff,

the entertainment was up to the usual standard , there was bingo every evening for those who wanted to play,

mr &mrs d wilkinson

Room Tip: i think it is pot luck what type of room you get allocated 213 was ok
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DONALD W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

I would put on record that in my 16 years at this hotel this February was the coldest I have experienced and with the East winds hitting the hotel directly. The heating was on constantly and still it was hard to keep areas warm. The reception, lounge area and ballroom are all open plan so when anyone enters or leaves the hotel it will allow cold air in. We were trying to keep the areas warm but there was a minority of people who insisted on going outside for whatever reason leaving the doors open.
Usually any faults that are reported are actioned so I cannot understand why this was not and i will look into this matter.
Thank you for taking the time to comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Booked this Hotel via late rooms...49.00 B&B.
The welcome by staff was lovely...so friendly and helpful showing us to our room.We were allocated a top floor,sea view room which is what I asked for...the room was clean.The bed was very comfortable with fresh smelling sheets.!
However the bath room leaved a lot to be desired.despite the heated vowel rail...it was freezing.....with black mould from condensation.
The grab rail in the bath was horrific.! It was covered in rust and frankly needed replacing immediately.
It is attention to simple things that makes a guests stay more enjoyable.
Breakfast was served far too early,with a small time frame.08.00-09.00.
The breakfast was served quickly by helpful staff.
Plenty to choose from which was advantageous.
Would we reccomend this hotel .....?
Probably not I am afraid.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Foss92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

The views I agree are stunning from the hotel overlooking the beach.
Thank you for bringing to my attention the issues in the bathroom, these issues will now be addressed with housekeeping and maintainence.
The breakfast choices are varied so that it can hopefully appeal to many different tastes.
Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Booked in for one night only and asked for a sea view and a bath and got both! Well happy about that. The room was clean , bed comfy, heating in good working order. The staff very helpful and pleasant. Very good inexpensive hotel booked through late rooms.com. Will come again. One thing st. Ives is a steep hill away not so good if you have reduced mobility. could have provided shower cap and shower gel but not complaining as the room makes up for that.

Room Tip: Room 209 twin, sea view with a bath and shower fantastic view from window
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 209011Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

The views overlooking Porthminster beach are stunning whatever the season. As a Shearings hotel we have many great offers available which enable you to have comfortable accommodation, traditional food and evening entertainment most nights. Currently there is available a book before you leave offer that allows some great discounts to be had. This comes in handy when planning the next break away and this could be in any of the hotels in the Bay or Coast and Country brand.
Thanks for completing this review its always pleasing to know that someone has enjoyed the break with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013 via mobile

We have family in St Ives and this time decided to try coach hol. How can they do it for the money! We have paid £90 night for seafront position just for b&b and room wasn't any better in fact half the size had to find money for petrol etc!! Although hotel outdated etc clean and staff excellent. Food although not brilliant good enough and comes very hot and enough for anyone. We were so impressed booked weekend to Isle of Wight while there!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Thank you for your positive reviews and taking the time to post it. Certainly hope that you enjoy your next break to the Isle of Wight. Shearings have many great offers on at the moment, and it is worth taking up the opportunity to get that fantastic deal of the discounts available for the book before you leave.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Went to this hotel for a Birthday break away! What a nice time we had! I asked for a View which I didnt expect to get as I didnt pay a high price, but the view from the room was the best I have ever had, the room itself was big and the bed was very comfy! the staff was nice and friendly and very welcoming, just want say a BIG thank you to caroline (I think her name was) with shortish brown hair for the welcome and remembering who we was and for the Birthday card, working front of house myself in a hotel her friendly approach was great so a big thank you. only small let down was the breakfast but im not a big breakfast fan anyway but the st ives bay hotel is a very nice place to stay not far from the shops. we will be back in the summer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danielevans19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

I agree that the views from the sea view rooms overlooking Porthminster beach are stunning even when out of the main season.
The staff here are very keen to make everyone feel special , its great that your birthday was remembered and hopefully a memorable one.
The breakfast choices range from cereals to fresh fruit, to ham and eggs to full English, vegetarian choices are always available.
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and look forward to seeing you again in the season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews