We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
GreenLeadersBronze level
stourbridge, west midlands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend break”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Just back from 3 night break at The Bay Hotel , nice friendly staff, we upgraded our room to bay fronted sea view which was both wonderful views and very comfy and clean. Plenty of lovely towels and extras in room. Nice tv well worth the upgrade. Food was lovely and very good choice and piping hot. it was a 'Turkey and tinsel' weekend and did feel it could have been a little more festive in the atmosphere but still had a lovely weekend. A short walk down hill to the wonderful little town of st ives, very pretty. Trips out with shearings were good only complaint was the time went too quickly!! People with mobility problems may have a problem walking up the steep bank and steps but the taxi rank is not far away or the bus station.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view , well worth seeing the sunset and sunrise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank margaret96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Now that you have had a taster of St Ives maybe you would like to come back for a longer stay maybe in the spring for example. There are trips which are Monday to Friday and in the summer months the coach tours run Saturday to Saturday.
The staff always try to assist whenever possible to ensure holiday enjoyment and I feel that they make the hotel what it is, a friendly place to stay.
Thank you for writing this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    191
    96
    38
    34
See reviews for
61
293
34
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

On behalf of my Mum im writing this, this was a last minute booking with shearings for my Mums birthday! Mum mentioned she was short of breath when trying to reach her room as she is very ill at the moment and was immediately upgraded to a beautiful sea view room! Pure luxury she said! Thankyou for making my precious Mums weekend perfect for them!! X

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
So glad that we were able to make the weekend special for your Mum's birthday celebrations. I hope that she has some special memories to keep hold of.
Its was a pleasure to look after you both.
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a turkey & tinsel Shearings 5 day break at this hotel.
After an 8 hour journey from Warrington we were very pleasantly surprised when we finally arrived at our room at about 6.45pm. We had paid the supplement for a sea view when we booked (which incidentally I think is a rather expensive extra but we like to have a sea view), and the room was lovely and clean and quite spacious with a small flat screen tv which had a very good picture. As expected, the view from the bedroom window over Porthminster Beach was superb. The hotel was the same as most of the Shearings' hotels which we have stayed in which are rather dated and in need of a lick of paint. The food was, however, excellent and we both agreed that it was the best we have had in any of the many Shearings' hotels we have visited. Also, the evening entertainment was very good, especially the magician who entertained us on 'Christmas Day'. The only comment we would make on this aspect of the holiday is that the room where the entertainment takes place is not ideal because of the lift which virtually separates the room into two halves and seems rather odd! The hotel is within easy walking distance of the beautiful harbour of St. Ives but the walk up the hill back up to the hotel is rather taxing! On the last day we found the footpath across the road which led into the town and this was a much preferable route as you don't have to negotiate the narrow pavements and the busy traffic on the narrow roads. The staff at the hotel were very helpful, especially Craig, the Manager, who helped me to log onto my tablet using the free Wi-Fi which was available there. Overall, we have had a very enjoyable break in a beautiful area of the country.

Room Tip: If you have trouble climbing stairs request a room which is served by a list. Those on the left side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I am only too happy to help out whenever possible.
Its good to hear that you enjoyed your pre Christmas break. Hope the real one is good and Santa is good to you.
Thank you for writing this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford
Level Contributor
135 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Reviews of this hotel have been many and varied, and it was with a little trepidation that my friend and I found ourselves booking a Shearings "Turkey and Tinsel" break based here in St. Ives. We were surprised, impressed and ultimately delighted with our entire stay.

The location itself is superb. We paid a bit extra for a sea view and were not disappointed. Arriving in the dark, the moon over the bay was just beautiful, and the sunrise over the landscape to the east equally so. We also overlooked the branch line station of St. Ives, where little two-carriage trains came and went. Although the room (second floor) overlooked the road, there was no noise. I guess this might be different in the heart of summer, when in all honesty I would not want to find myself in such a small coastal town.

Our room was of good size, clean and warm, and the beds were very comfortable. There was a small TV, giving basic channels 1-5 and BBC News, plus tea and coffee making facilities and adequate storage, although for a 3-night break this was hardly needed. We had a shower cubicle - perfectly adequate and in our case, preferable to a bath. Towels are somewhat small, but all very clean and white.

The meals were excellent. Breakfast was plentiful - "help yourself" to cereals, porridge (very nice), fruit, rolls, juices, followed by table service of everything from kippers to full English and vegetarian full English. Coffee and tea, plus toast and jams, all present and correct. Evening meal was three courses - a good selection of starters, mains and desserts or cheese and biscuits. Our waitress was delightful and very speedy. A little too speedy sometimes.

We felt it was a bit of a shame that the waiting staff didn't wear name badges.

Also included for the weekend was mulled wine, plus a free glass of wine at "Christmas" dinner, and cake/mince pies and a cuppa on the Sunday afternoon.

Evening entertainment was appropriate for the audience, even if it wasn't to our personal taste - bingo, quizzes and a quite-good singer. Many of our coach party did enjoy their evenings very much.

The hotel has free wi-fi in the reception and bar areas, which many people took advantage of.

The Reception staff are wonderful. My friend arrived only to find she'd left at home the key to the padlock on her case. Emma in Reception was up to the room in minutes, armed with the tools necessary to break the padlock. Worrying that she can do this so easily!!

In all honesty, the hotel does need a bit of painting up in places but for what we paid it was an absolute bargain, delightfully decorated up for Christmas and a joy to stay in. We're even talking about going back next year for another dose of Turkey and Tinsel!!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view. It's beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DartfordLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
I am pleased that you made up your own mind about the hotel and break and found it to your liking, everyone has different views about things. You are correct when you say there are great views from the hotel and we have a fantastic location.
Shearings certainly offer value for money with this break as you said mulled wine on arrival, wine with Christmas dinner and afternoon tea and Christmas cake or mince pie. Hope you have a great real Christmas and look forward to seeing you for more Turkey and Tinsel in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Just returned from this hotel and must write a review as it was excellent value for money, its our first break with Shearings and certainly won't be our last. Right from our pick up, which was a direct route, and no changing of coaches which made all the difference to our journey, on one of Shearings grand tourer coaches with loads of leg room and excellent coach driver to returning home everything was just great.
The hotel faces one of St Ives beaches, and the views from the front of the hotel are stunning across the bay, and it is a short walk down to St Ives centre, the food in the hotel is very good with a nice choice of cereals and juice's and full english breakfast's and the same goes for the evening meals which also has a good choice of dishes to choose from, and the food and plates are hot, there are lots of stairs in this hotel as it is built on a hill and only the one lift
The entertainment in the evenings start's off with a game of bingo and a quiz, then to finish off the evening there are some very good singer's who finish off at around 11pm, We did the excursions to Penzance, Mousehole, and St Micheals Mount which were very enjoyable as the weather was kind to us, no rain thank god
So all in all a very good value break for the money, and we are very much looking forward to doing another one of these breaks
Excellent value, and thank you to all of the staff at the St Ives Bay Hotel and of course Shearings for making our stay enjoyable

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jontey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay and from the moment you stepped onto the coach everything was as you hoped.
I will pass on your kind comments to the staff as they all work hard to hopefully ensure holiday enjoyment.
I agree that the breaks that Shearings have at the moment are great value for money, and all the better when the weather is good too. Its very mild here at present and we have been experiencing some wonderful sunrises, lets hope it continues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

A Shearings holiday hotel, should explain the age group. No issues and good as no one was out partying til the early hours.

Breakfast was good. Staff were friendly. Limited parking outside, but as most turned up by coach it wasn't an issue.

Didnt have dinner as they only had a set menu which I didn't fancy.

Beautiful location for walks around St Ives.

Would stay again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joleung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
We cater for all ages from 1 -100, but generally people are respectful of others.
We have people staying with us by many means national express, train, coach and car. We have a garage to the rear of the hotel which will hold 16 cars and it is all undercover, together with limited spaces on the front.
Shearings have many great offers available at the moment so keep an eye out and hopefully we will see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We have just returned from a three day break at the St Ives Bay Hotel. The hotel is in a fabulous location overlooking the beautiful sandy Porthminster beach and a short stroll to the lovely town of St Ives. The hotel itself is in need of redecoration throughout. Our bedroom was dismal, clean and warm but very shabby, the walls were marked and the blind was dirty and torn. The food was bland and vegetables were obviously not fresh, portions were small but probably suited the mostly elderly guests,breakfast was better, with a good variety available. Quite a disappointing stay for us.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happy196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm123stives, General Manager at Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
I believe that we are approachable at the hotel and if there was such an issue that was raised at the time could have been dealt with. I am unaware of any torn blind .
The menus are planned with a lot of fresh vegetables that are in season in mind. The comments that I have received today praised the food so I am surprised to read these comments.
More refurbishment work is to be carried out in January so changes are on going.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Ives hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.1 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
879 reviews
0.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
Western Hotel
Western Hotel
#15 of 21 in St Ives
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel

Property: Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Address: The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St Ives
#11 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an elevated position overlooking Porthminster Beach, this welcoming hotel commands stunning views across the bay. St Ives is renowned for its fantastic beaches, picturesque harbour and bustling streets full of interesting boutique shops. Bay St Ives Hotel is in a perfect location only a short walk to most holiday attractions. With open plan lounges to enjoy the views whilst listening to the evening’s entertainment, a break here is truly relaxing. A courtyard is open spring and summer for alfresco seating and you’ll be able to sample the wonderful light that has made St Ives such a mecca for painters and artists. For the more adventurous, St Ives makes a wonderful base for visiting many of Cornwall’s finest sights and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing