We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central and friendly.”
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Central and friendly.”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We had a great stay in this hotel recently. The Queens is actually a pub with rooms above. We had two rooms to accommodate our family and both were bright and comfortable. A camp bed was put up for one of the children with no fuss.
Our rooms were at the front and there was slot of noise from the street, but this is a central hotel in a busy tourist spot. If you want peace and quiet you probably need to forgo the convenience of such a central location and book somewhere further out of town.
The hotel is very centrally situated, and although you can pull up outside to unload, parking is nearby in a pay and display. Being so centrally located meant we were able to pop back during the day. The bar has free wi fi which was very useful and the children, 14,13 and 11 were welcome to sit and play on their phones or the laptop. We opened a tab for the three days we were there.
The breakfasts were good and the marmalade is to die for.
I would recommend this friendly hotel and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    135
    45
    12
    7
See reviews for
67
215
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This is a central location so street noise and raucous seagulls cannot be avoided. However, when a band is playing in the bar below, the noise in Room 1 is unbearable. No amount of friendliness can make up for such a noisy room.

Room Tip: ask for a room on third floor and/or at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMH60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012 via mobile

We were only at this hotel for a single evening, however, after arriving late the welcome was still warm and the staff were most helpful. The room was light, clean, comfortable and nicely decorated I which we slept very well! The breakfast was delicious the following morning boasting locally soured produce and I can say quite honestly the fish and chip lunch was nicer than any I've had in Cornwall! We left wishing we could have stayed longer :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaf_poult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Our second visit to The Queens Hotel.
Very impressed last year, and wasn't disappointed this year.
Now boasting 8 rooms, we had room 7 on the top floor.
Excellently appointed, with spacious bathroom. Shower only.
Good comfortable bed.
Breakfasts freshly cooked and delicious. Fresh fruit and cereals available too,
with natural yoghurt. Coffee could be stronger.
There are some good places to eat in St. Ives, so competition is high, but I have no
reservations about recommending eating at the Queens Hotel.
We ate in on two occasions, and both meals were excellent.
Tempura prawns and fish, scallops, fish and chips...fresh and delicious.
The Carpaccio of Lamb with poached duck egg, truffle oil and salad was wonderful, followed by
Haunch of Venison, confit of Pork belly and dauphinoise potatoes was fabulous. The Venison cooked pink and perfectly.
As this is a St. Austell brewery establishment, I had a couple of pints of 'Proper Job' to accompany my food and they were perfect! The 'Tribute' is excellent too.
The beer is extremely well kept here.

Apart from the excellent accommodation, food, and drink, the Queens Hotel is in a perfect location, with beaches minutes away, and you're in the town. Parking is a pain, but no fault of the Hotel. We parked at the Station, a 10 minute walk away. A week costs £34, which isn't bad really.

Looking forward to next year already!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank river50_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wrcestershire
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This is not a hotel as the name implies but a pub with rooms above. Our first night here was not a pleasant experience. I booked a family room for my husband, my six year old son and myself. After a busy day we returned to our room about 8pm in order to put our son to bed. I had not realised that Wednesday is 'open mike night' at The Queens and it was very very noisy in our room, in fact we could hear every word being sung. This noise continued until midnight making it impossible for any of us to sleep. We couldn't even watch television as we couldn't hear it above the noise from downstairs. I spoke to the Manager the next morning who moved us to a room at the back of the pub. There was a live band on the following night and I was concerned we would suffer the same experience but moving to the back seemed to work. So please, if you want to be able to sleep before midnight make sure you have a room at the back of the publ!! The street outside can also be very noisy (I know this is not The Queens fault) but is another reason why a room at the front is a no no if you want to get an early night or put children to bed.
Now the positives... The pub is very well located just a couple of minutes walk from the harbour, the breakfast was good and the staff friendly and helpful. We had an evening meal in the pub and that was also very tasty.

Room Tip: Make sure you are at the back of the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikkiworcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Paradoxically, I haven't had a pint or a meal in The Queens in St Ives. Nor have I stayed here.

However, I have been here several times whilst here on holiday over the last couple of weeks to use their wi-fi and drink Fentiman's lemonade.

The bar is surprisingly quiet during the day - no doubt as it's not close to the beach. The staff are very welcoming, the Fentiman's is an excellent refreshing drink and, in my experience, the wi-fi is the fastest in St Ives. The background music is a wide ranging selection and no-one bothers anybody.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Queens, with our two young children. We stayed in a family room which was a decent size, clean and nicely decorated. The pub is centrally located so very convenient for all the local beaches, etc. The breakfasts were fantastic, using locally sourced products and you could taste the quality. The family room was located on the top floor which was positive for not hearing the noise from the pub, not so great for lugging the pushchair up loads of stairs - but this was only a minor issue. Just to note, that the main entrance to the pub is on a busy road and you have to go up 2-3 large steps to enter the pub. Again not a major issue, but if a single parent is travelling with young children this might prove tricky. We stayed 3 nights and managed all these things, which were very minor. Overall we had a lovely time, even though the weather was dreadful, and we'd definitely consider staying again, as it was very reasonably priced for St Ives.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivacioussarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.5 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,661 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
1.4 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
967 reviews
0.1 mi away
Western Hotel
Western Hotel
#15 of 21 in St Ives
175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
#14 of 21 in St Ives
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Property: The Queens Hotel
Address: High Street, St Ives TR26 1RR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in St Ives
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#10 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queen's Hotel is a late-Georgian, three-story building in the heart of picturesque St Ives. 5 mins from the harbour and beaches, we have ten en-suite bedrooms, which have been redecorated with vintage furniture and Cornish artwork hanging on the freshly painted white walls, plus sparkling new bathrooms with new showers. Downstairs is a relaxed and friendly bar with delicious pub food that was awarded an AA rosette in 2011. Everything is prepared on the premises - the menu is chalked up on the board daily using the finest local, seasonal ingredients Cornwall has to offer. Bread baked daily. Homemade ice-cream. Local beers. Warming fire. Children are very welcome: upstairs a camp bed and a travel cot are available to borrow, all windows have black-out blinds; downstairs there are boardgames + toys in the light and airy bar, baby-changing, and children's portions available. The harbour front and Fore Street are under five minutes walk away. Selected by Alastair Sawdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing