We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable rooms with great breakfast”
Review of The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Queens Hotel
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Rooms were very clean - large bathroom, and comfortable bed. The weather was very hot, but there was a fan in the room.... We had the windows open in the night and were both woken up by seagulls at all times during the night... But the hotel isn't at fault for this!!! Breakfast was very nice... We didn't eat in the hotel for dinner but I wish we did, menu looked great! Parking was a slight problem.... The hotel suggests the station car park, I wouldn't! After driving round trying to find the car park, it was completely full! I'd recommend parking at the top, leisure centre car park... There is a bus down to the town! Much easier!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rebecca Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

Simple but lovely bed and breakfast in central st. Ives, with spacious rooms, tasty cornish breakfast and well cooked dinners at the downstairs pub. We enjoyed our stay and would happily recommend Queens, especially to overnight road trippers

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jolotravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights to attend wedding of our nephew and his lovely bride
Lovely position just a short walk to the beach and all amenities great eating places and places to a sit and drink and watch the world go by on the front at St Ives
Had a very nice stay at The Queens nice double room but would have a kingsize if we stay again much larger room, en suite shower which was very good, bed and pillows all clean fresh and very comfy
View from window over back gardens nothing special but not unpleasant if you want sea views you would have to pay a lot more than we did here. Full English breakfast was very nice and hot only complaint THE TOAST not sure of bread used but we could not eat it it was so hard tried brown and white both the same on both mornings.
Did not try the meals in the evening so can't comment, we did try and enjoy fish and chips in the harbour overlooking the sea

Would stay here again lovely people and very nice position

Room Tip: Ask for a kingsize best rooms but none of the rooms have vey good views either a back garden or stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is lovely and quirky. The rooms are above the public house which is great as you can have a few drinks then stumble to your room.. Perfect! They have monopoly and other games to play with which
was fun after a few drinks! .. The staff are friendly and helpful. We couldn't find a place to park and they directed us to the train station car park which is about a 5min walk which is fine. The bathroom we had was great with a modern shower unit and sink. The bedroom was really quirky and fun with st Ives cushions and pictures we had two windows one with a view of the sea and the other a
view of St Ives which was lovely. I had requested this room as it was in the back so a quieter room and we had a great nights sleep. The breakfast was delicious with table service with a smile. We had a lovely stay here and look forward to going back soon. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

A large group of us stayed for 2 nights and we were really impressed. The staff were so helpful and took all out luggage as soon as we arrived and were waiting for the rest of the group. They also offered to look after it after we checked out on Sunday.

We ate at the hotel on the Friday night and the food was lovely. They were also happy for us to sit in the pub and play games for the evening and 17 women aren't quiet! The breakfasts were lovely and cooked to order.

The hotel is in a great location but it does mean that if you're staying at the front it's very noisy in the evening and again in the morning with the seagulls. I'm a light sleeper so I was very tired after 2 nights.

We all had a great time and were very impressed with the hotel.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Lil_vicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I have already reviewed this place but wanted to add a further comment on their Sunday Lunch. My wife and I both opted for the beef and pork in combination and they were lovely as was the Yorkshire Pudding. But the stars of the show were the roast potatoes which were just as I remember my Mother serving at Sunday dinner growing up years ago.
My wife tells me the secret is goose grease, something I choose not to mention to my cardiologist.
If you love Sunday roast beef dinners, you must try the one at the Queens.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank memphismickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and the service was fantastic. Staff were all lovely, the breakfast was great and the rooms were well decorated and very clean. Very fair price, especially considering that it included the breakfasts each day and they even offered to keep our luggage safe after we checked out but had to wait for our train. Would recommend to all, although young families and light sleepers may want to think about asking for a room that is at the back due to the noise at night, despite that I wouldn't hesitate in staying there again! Really lovely!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Cubes02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,735 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Western Hotel
Western Hotel
#15 of 21 in St Ives
180 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#6 of 21 in St Ives
638 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Address: High Street, St Ives TR26 1RR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in St Ives
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#10 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: £48 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queen's Hotel is a late-Georgian, three-story building in the heart of picturesque St Ives. 5 mins from the harbour and beaches, we have ten en-suite bedrooms, which have been redecorated with vintage furniture and Cornish artwork hanging on the freshly painted white walls, plus sparkling new bathrooms with new showers. Downstairs is a relaxed and friendly bar with delicious pub food that was awarded an AA rosette in 2011. Everything is prepared on the premises - the menu is chalked up on the board daily using the finest local, seasonal ingredients Cornwall has to offer. Bread baked daily. Homemade ice-cream. Local beers. Warming fire. Children are very welcome: upstairs a camp bed and a travel cot are available to borrow, all windows have black-out blinds; downstairs there are boardgames + toys in the light and airy bar, baby-changing, and children's portions available. The harbour front and Fore Street are under five minutes walk away. Selected by Alastair Sawdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing