We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Olive Branch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Olive Branch
Ranked #10 of 106 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 614 helpful votes
“A fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We decided the night before to make an unscheduled visit to St. Ives and quickly went on Tripadvisor to find some B&B's. The Olive Branch had excellent reviews so a quick email was sent and within the hour Justin, the owner had messaged me back to say they had room. I'm so glad they did!

Prior to arrival Justin had text me to inform me the room was ready which was a nice touch. Upon arrival, we were met by George and Justin who gave us a warm welcome and carried our bags up to our room and showed us around.

The room we had was room 2, which is on the top floor with sea views. The first thing that hits you when you enter the house is just how immaculate, welcoming, airy and calming it is. Our room was spacious, cool (thankfully given the weather), airy, spotlessly clean and had a decent size bathroom.

The bed was very comfortable, and the shower (with the wicked shower head!) was very powerful. The heated mirror in the bathroom was a great touch to prevent the shower steaming it up (must get one for the house).

Breakfast was excellent, and a great opportunity to talk to others who all echoed what has been said on here about how great a place it is to stay. The house has a very calming effect, partly due to George the dog who is one laid back cool pooch, and the owners who are a lovely couple and nothing whatsoever is too much trouble. Directions, suggestions on where to visit, anything for the room, no problem!! We bumped into Justin once or twice down in the town and he would always stop for a chat.

Water bottles were provided in the room and replenished each morning, ear plugs in the drawers (not for the B&B, but the seaguls can be noisy as in any seaside resort first thing in the morning), a bedside book in the drawer ("best book in the world") though I never got time to read it, hairdryer, toiletries, you couldn't really ask for anything more.

Position wise, its up a slight hill but nothing too drastic, about 5 minutes to the beach and 10 minutes tops down to the harbour. Parking is a doddle, right outside the house which is a bonus.

We had a great time here and in St Ives and were genuinely sad to leave. Justin, Julie and George all came out to wave us off and say goodbye as we left and it felt like leaving friends. We will definitely be back and have already recommended it to all our friends and family! Definitely a little gem in St. Ives. Thanks guys for a great 2 days!!!

Room Tip: Room 2 was lovely and being on the top floor had good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryH_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliveBranchStIves, Owner at The Olive Branch, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you again soon, you will be very very welcome. George will be waiting for you.
Kind regards
Julie, Justin & George xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
126
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived to a warm welcome from Justin Julie and gorgeous doggie George a cup of tea after a very long drive, our room (num 2) was spacious spotlessly clean and comfy gorgeous views too! They were both filled with lots of great hints and tips which were invaluable as we didn't know st Ives at all! Breakfast was delicious lots of variety tea toast and coffee on tap! Justin helped us plan our second day mapping our little road trip seeing the sights of Cornwall!! Thank you!

Genuinely this was the most comfortable welcoming B&B we have ever stayed in!!

Thanks Justin & Julie you were fab!

And we are totally in love with George what a handsome pup!!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sara j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliveBranchStIves, Owner at The Olive Branch, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you both for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, it was a delight having you.
Best of luck for your little addition in August.
Kind regards
Julie, Justin & George.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We have just come back from a few days in Cornwall and one of the best decisions i made was to stay at the Olive Branch. Julie, Justin and George were so welcoming- lovely cup of tea when we arrived after our long journey- nothing was too much trouble. Justin gave us a weather report each morning, advised of places to eat and visit and warned us about the seagulls!! Breakfast was great and again, nothing was too much trouble. The room was spotless and lots of attention to detail. We too left as friends and i would not hesitate in staying there again. Thanks again Julie, Justin and George- we had a fab time!!

Room Tip: We were fortunate to have the double at the back of the house- lovely room and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliveBranchStIves, Manager at The Olive Branch, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you both for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in St Ives. You were delightful to have in our home.
We wish you both all the best with your next pending adventure on the other side of the world!
Hopefully we will cross paths again in the future.
Kind regards
Julie, Justin & George.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We arrived as strangers but left as friends. Julie, Justin and George welcomed us into their home. Nothing was too much trouble. Julie makes the best breakfast we have ever had and we have stayed in some top hotels. Justin is very helpful with tips on where to go and things to see. The room was kept spotlessly clean with lots of extra touches. We had tea on arrival and in the room was a beautiful clean tray with bottled water, biscuits, tea, coffee, hot chocolate which were replenished as used. My dad was so taken by George he actually said on the way home I think I will get a dog. We absolutely loved our stay here. If we ever go back to St Ives we will be going to The Olive Branch. Thank you for making our holiday exceptional.

Room Tip: We did have the small double room. The bed was very comfortable. We would of liked to have had the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsSpartacus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliveBranchStIves, Owner at The Olive Branch, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we enjoyed having you too.
We look forward to seeing you again and hope you do get a George dog!
Kind regards
Julie, Justin & George.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Top marks for attention to detail. Room very comfortable with state of the art shower facilities. Décor modern yet restful. Best of all piping hot cooked breakfast. There is nothing worse than tepid bacon and eggs. Owners genial and provide helpful information on St Ives and travel nearby. I enjoyed discovering the various shortcuts down the quaint streets or alleys to the shops. This accommodation has carparking for guests (very important in St Ives), is in walking distance to bus station and also the train station. Look forward to staying here again in the future.

Room Tip: Choices could be be looking to nearby castle or towards the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ratawilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliveBranchStIves, Owner at The Olive Branch, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us along with our breakfasts.
We hope to see you again sometime.
Kind regards Justin, Julie & George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

When we booked this B&B we could tell it was going to be good from all the great reviews on here, the price was really good value given that parking is included and it is really difficult to get a decent parking space in St Ives near to the town or your accommodation!
The entire stay started out by absolutely exceeding our expectations, Justin met us and greeted us at the door and immediately took our luggage for us, our room was even better than the pictures on the website and we had a sea view which was an added bonus to the stay. The room was also cleaned and tidied during the day which was something we hadn't expected but a great added touch.
The breakfast was gorgeous both mornings with plenty of choices and if you had a request for something different then It was never too much trouble.
The cherry on the top of the cake for us was how friendly, welcoming, and accommodating Justin and Julie were, we really felt like they were our friends by the end of the stay, they remembered all their guests names (and they had a full house) and really got to know each guest individually. They were finding out what things we liked to do and they were genuinely interested, it turned out that we actually had a lot in common and that we have travelled to a lot of similar places so we spent time sharing stories about different experiences we had during our travels.
It is really nice to see a well run B&B with well travelled and experienced owners that give so much effort to making this B&B amazing!
This review must be finished with a mention for George the dog, the most laid back and friendly dog we have ever met (he has definitely learnt from his owners) we would love to stay there again when we go back to St Ives.

Thanks Justin & Julie

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliveBranchStIves, Owner at The Olive Branch, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you both for such a lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us, we enjoyed having you and would welcome you back any time. George takes after Justin definitely!
Kind regards
Julie, Justin & George xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband & I booked this hotel as we were travelling to St Ives for a friends wedding, we booked of the back of all the fab reviews on trip advisor... And to say we were NOT disappointed would be an understatement.

We're not really ones to write reviews, but this hotel needs to be shared! Justin & Julie were welcoming from the second we booked, keeping us up to date with texts on the day of the weather report, and couldn't of gone more out of their way to make sure we were happy with our stay! And George the dog... Well I could of taken him home! :-)

The room was beautiful, everything was so clean and quite clearly Justin & Julie are perfectionist, adding flowers to our room on the second day of staying there, and even when there was a problem with the hot water in our shower, Justin was straight up in the attic sorting the boiler out! Nothing was ever too much effort!

The breakfast was gorgeous, and for a little boutique hotel, what a choice! I'm pretty sure they had all options covered, everything was cooked beautifully and really set you up for the day!

We were given lots of recommendations of where to go, maps & directions.

All in all I would highly recommended this hotel to anyone, well presented and well run hotel!

It is a must! Thank you, Justin, Julie & George for making us feel so welcome, you truly made out stay at St Ives a very enjoyable one and will definitely be coming back!

Many thanks
Sean & Kayleigh Powell

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayleigh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliveBranchStIves, Owner at The Olive Branch, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hopefully we will see you again, when you are next in St Ives.
Kind regards,
Julie, Justin & George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
1.2 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.3 mi away
West by Five Guest House
West by Five Guest House
#2 of 106 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olive Branch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olive Branch

Property: The Olive Branch
Address: 6 Porthminster Terrace, St Ives TR26 2DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Olive Branch 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olive Branch is a superb holiday location in St Ives, Cornwall, just minutes from the harbour, town and 5 sandy beaches. Our Rooms We have five ensuite double rooms, four of which have sea views. Two of our double rooms can be converted to twin bedded rooms. There is also a single ensuite room. Breakfast We serve a traditional full English breakfast as well as vegetarian breakfasts and lighter options. St Ives St. Ives has a Mediterranean feel about it, with its maze of cobbled streets and alleyways, crescent shaped beaches with golden sands and turquoise sea - all set in the uniquely rugged granite landscape of West Cornwall. The holiday visitor in St Ives can find everything that they could wish for in a seaside resort. From the moment that you arrive in the town you will be stunned by the panoramic vistas that seem to greet you on every turn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Olive Branch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olive Branch Hotel St Ives
The Olive Branch St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing