We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissapointed!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean Heights Guest House
Ranked #92 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
JimmynHiggs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dissapointed!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2009

This guest house is located in Carbis Bay just outside of St Ives so be prepared for a 20 to 25 minute downhill walk into the heart of St Ives and of course the longer uphill return hike! Realistically, St Ives gets very busy during the peak seasons and driving into the heart of the town on the narrow roads and parking can be a bad experience so Taxi's to and from the house is highly recommended at approx £7 each way.

Although the guest house was clean and tidy the decor did looked tired and in need of a makeover. We were always made to feel welcome and the breakfast was fantastic but to be honest we were really disappointed with our room (No.2). The room was quite small and there was no chair at the dressing table, the shower cubical had been put in one corner of the room as an afterthought whilst the toilet and sink were in another tiny cubicle in another corner of the room which had a horrid 80's style Constantia door separating it from the bedroom, so space, privacy and decor were are real issues.

St Ives is a beautiful place to visit with golden beaches, plenty of shops, lovely restaurants, art galleries and beautiful scenery. However, if you don’t get 'dry' weather it can get frustrating. We explored St Ives in a few days and then moved onto another destination which worked really well. We will definitely return to St Ives but not the Ocean Heights Guest House.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmynHiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    3
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
4
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2009

The rooms were clean and comfortable, very good location and the people were very friendly! Excellent breakfast and, will visit again! really good service

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyHolidayingSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke-on-trent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2009

accomodation was excellent.
very clean.
owner very helpful.
thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be returning again this year with my family

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paula411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2009

good brekkie, lovely and happy lady...nice comfortable bed, overall great...great views

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kriyaban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2009

I have been a guest of Ocean Heights in 2004, 2006 and 2008. I go there with my family and i usually bring a group of friends. The service from the owner is A+++. The rooms are cleaned every morning and are always tidy. The sheets are changed daily. And, the necessities are replenished everyday. My husband and I always stay in the room with the view of the beach. I find the room very romantic. I always recommend the place to friends who wants to visit cornwall. For a B&B, Ocean Heights is definitely a very good value for my money.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrt3io
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2008

Unfortunately an outdated, poorly decorated and dirty establishment. The owners were exceptionally friendly and hospitable, however the guest house was not worth the money we paid for staying there. If you want a budget stay, this guest house is ideal, however, if you want even a minor sense of hygeine and cleanliness, look elsewhere.

  • Liked — Hospitality of owners
  • Disliked — Decor and cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank debhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
Downsfield
Downsfield
#4 of 7 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
2.1 mi away
The Engine Inn
The Engine Inn
#1 of 1 in Nancledra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
1.3 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Heights Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Heights Guest House

Property: Ocean Heights Guest House
Address: St. Ives Road, St Ives TR26 2SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Ocean Heights Guest House St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing