We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum!”
Review of The Mex

The Mex
Ranked #6 of 143 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bristol
Level Contributor
60 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My fiancé & I were staying nearby in Hayle so decided to pop here for a meal on a Monday evening. Portion sizes were plentiful and the food was very tasty :-) I'd recommend the seafood fajitas!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    96
    30
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I must admit from the outside I wasn't sure I wanted to try it. However, appearances can be deceptive. This is a great little restaurant. Excellent choice of dishes and truly delicious food. The service and atmosphere were great too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wilkins_family29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best mexican”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My wife and I are enjoy a range of culinary dishes whenever we travel, at home or abroad. Given the choice we always try and locate a Mexican restaurant.
We recently took a much deserved break in Cornwall and visited St Ives as part of our stay. We were delighted to find The Mex and booked in as part of our stay. We were simply blown away by the standard of food: starters, main course and desert. The Chicken Fajitas were simply mouth watering. Also a quick mention about the service. This was excellent and my wife and I were made most welcome. This restaurant comes highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Nice restaurant, excellent service some nice food but the chicken tasted a bit cheap and chewy. But it's a lovely place to go!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom-night
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice but not amazing”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Came here with our two young children, warm welcome and child friendly. Lovely menu with lots to choose from. I had chicken and ribs. Wss a bit disappointed that the chicken was on the bone as with the ribs being on the bone was hoping for a chicken breast. The chicken was slightly dry but on the whole it was a nice meal. My husband had chilli which he said was nice but no nicer than I can make myself. Kids enjoyed their food. Good prices too. Would probably recommend

Helpful?
Thank kimmyw116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mex also viewed

St Ives, Cornwall
St Ives, Cornwall
 
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Been to The Mex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing