We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super stay at the regent hotel st ives”
Review of The Regent

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Regent
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“super stay at the regent hotel st ives”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Have just returned from a weeks holiday in St Ives with my husband and two friends. This was our first time at the Regent and it will not be our last. We have stayed in several different hotels but the Regent is definately the best and we would not stay anywhere else now. Keith and Sandy the owners were very obliging and the breakfasts were superb. The hotel is in a great location only minutes from the town and beaches and the train station. The whole hotel was spotless and our room had a wonderful view of the harbour. We were also blessed with cloudless blue skies every day. Cant wait to return to the Regent.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 and our two friends were in room 9 which was slightly larger, but both had super...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzymint186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    25
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
81
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We are regular visitors to St Ives and have stayed in various self catering apartments, B & B's and hotels. This was our first stay at The Regent but it wont be our last!
We arrived on foot, having originally parked out of town to make enquires and once we had booked our room we were given a parking permit for the Hotel car park which is around the corner to the rear of the building. (Not the railway station as other reviews.) We booked the "best room in the house" and once we got in it we realised why it was a little more expensive than the other rooms. It actually has two bedrooms, one single one double and an en-suite shower and toilet. It was immaculately clean and bright but all that paled into insignificance when we saw the view. From the double bed you had the perfect vista of St Ives harbour and town and also, from the side window, a view along the coast. It is truly stunning!
As if this is not enough of a recommendation, I was amazed when I saw the choices for breakfast! There were about ten different cereals, fruit, yogurts and fruit juice to help yourself to. You then had the options of Continental - coissants, petit pain etc, Vegitarian, Full English - a variety of about seven options or Fish based breakfast - Smoked Salmon, scrambled eggs, smoked haddock etc. If you stayed for a week you could easily have a different breakfast every day!
The Hotel is very close to town and next to a bus station - buses stop at about 12:00 and noise was of a minimum. On the day of departure, they let us leave our car in their car park so we could enjoy our last few hours in glorious St Ives!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debbis_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Great hotel. Service, food and rooms were really great. In the perfect position for the sea front, shops and walks. The view is wonderful. All this and only a 2 minate walk from the train station.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lligneelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

On arrival at the hotel, you have to offload your luggage and then take your car with a free parking permit (given to you by the hotel) and park it in the reserved bays at the train station. This was a little misleading as I was led to believe the parking was on-site, but it didn't matter as we left the car where it was and walked everywhere. So it is a perfect hotel if you don't have a car too as the hotel is a short walk up the hill from the train station! We were on the outskirts of the town, but nowhere is far to walk.
Sandy was very formal as she checked us in, (but mellowed through the stay) and then Keith chatted to us when we were sitting in the lounge, it was very relaxing.
We asked for sea view and it was spectacular! Our bedroom was 2 floors above the lovely lounge / dining room (which had the same view) where you could sit and see St. Ives stretched out below you.
The room was immaculately clean and very fresh. Everything was white and perfect - although a little small for the price, I think it was about average for the area. It was up 2 steep flights of stairs, so don't visit if you can't manage these.
At breakfast, the food is wonderfully fresh and cooked to perfection with plenty of choice - we were full for ages after!
We would definitely return - and don't let the front of the hotel put you off!

Room Tip: Well worth asking for a sea view - it's wondeful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We live in Cornwall but were going to a concert in The Guildhall as part of the September Festival so thought it would be more relaxing to stay the night. As we had a short distance to travel we arrived before the room was ready but Keith gave us the parking permit for the railway station car park and we sat on the beach in the sun for 2 hours. The ensuite double room was not large but for a short stay was quite adequate and very clean. However, we both thought the mattress was not the most comfortable. I struggle with some mattresses due to back problems so would not have enjoyed a week of it. Great view over the town and the harbour and even with the window open it was not noisy. The location is ideal for strolling into town. No evening meals available but there is plenty of choice in town. The breakfast was wonderful, a great selection and well cooked. On the morning of departure Keith let us leave our bags there while we went for a walk. It was very good value for the location and time of year. I would return for a short stay but hopefully to a more comfortable mattress!

Room Tip: There is no lift and our room was on the second floor up some steep narrow stairs. We were ok with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MummyTart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston lancashire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

The room was in tip top condition with a fantastic view over the harbour and bay. The owners Keith and Sandi couldn't have been more welcoming. Plenty of choice for breakfast and all good tasty fayre.. it is definately our first choice of hotel when heading for St Ives

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

We hadn't booked, it was half term and St Ives was full - so a lovely receptionist at a different (and prettier) hotel suggested The Regent. I was concerned because wasn't fully booked - and because when we got there, the front was really not hugely prepossessing. However we had in fact landed on our feet.
The welcome was friendly, the room spotless, small but fine and had utterly wonderful views over the harbour. The breakfasts are rightly famous for quantity and quality - locally sourced sausages, bacon and hogs pudding - locally smoked salmon, haddock and kippers,apricots soaked in elderflower juices - we could have stayed a week and had a different breakfast every day! The view from the back of the dining room is also splendid.
(As an extra bonus we bought lovely Cornish sweaters produced by the owner's son - huge bargain price of £18)
Would definitely go back - and actually I hope it stays just as it is!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SomersetMothership
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.4 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,618 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
912 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent

Property: The Regent
Address: Fern Lea Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in St Ives
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Ives
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Hotel Class:4 star — The Regent 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
St Ives Regent
The Regent St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing