We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at the Regent”
Review of The Regent

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Regent
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Have just returned from a lovely overnight stay at The Regent, the room had the most gorgeous view over St Ives and the breakfast was fab!!! Would recommend this to anyone and will hopefully return one day soon :) Thank you :) x

Room Tip: Room 3 without a doubt - when I booked was told had the best view in St Ives and I totally agree :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EMMA J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

Keith and Sandi were so helpful and welcoming, with their assistance and local area knowledge improving our holiday experience. The hotel is situated within easy walk to beach, shopping and restaurant precinct, but quiet and safe. The room was clean and comfortable with amazing views and the service great. Breakfast was top quality using local produce to create great meals. Thank you both so much we will recommend your place to anyone travelling to your area

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LesAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My sister and I travelled to the UK from Canada and stayed at The Rengent in St. Ives. Beautiful view from our twin room. Conveniently located for walking to sites, pubs and shops. Really enjoyed the local produce used for the wonderful breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lpg66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

The only down fall with this hotel was the size of the room, our room was tiny, we had nowhere to put our bags, the bed filled the room with no space tospare.Apart from that it would have been perfect. Great location, very helpul staff, clean and comfortable, great breakfast and magnificent views.

Room Tip: Our room looked onto the street and was very tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debrobrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

The Regent has to be the perfect place to stay in St. Ives. Fantastic location, spotlessly clean, wonderful sea and harbour views and delicious breakfasts with an amazing choice. Keith and Sandi are perfect hosts...they make you feel very welcome whilst allowing you the freedom and privacy to come and go as you please, but are always there if you need them and a mine of information.
When we return to St Ives The Regent will certainly be our first port of call.
Thanks Keith and Sandi for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Just ask at the time of booking for a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mallorcalover2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We chose to stay at the Regent as a result of reading of other peoples visit and we were not disappointed. It is not the most prepossessing of buildings and it is situated next to the small bus terminus. We were met by the owners, Keith and Sandi who showed us down( the property is built into the hill) to our apartment, which was spacious, clean and very well appointed and offered a spectacular view over St Ives bay. Next morning we were greeted with a choice of breakfast from a generous 'full English' through to a simple continental, with a great choice of alternatives in between. The position of the hotel is very convenient for visits to the town, parking is either behind the hotel or in approved places in the nearby Station. We would highly recommend a visit.

Room Tip: Room four was very well finished and had a superb view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MXNUTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Wow, we were so happy to have stumbled across this little hotel in St. Ives when we were there last week. The rooms were plain but clean and the views were absolutely stunning. We loved the owners, they were super friendly and wonderful to us and the breakfast they served was especially delicious - the best we'd had anywhere on our trip! The only complaint would be that the bed was incredibly small - it was narrower than a normal queen and felt very short. We didn't sleep well because of this and woke up several times in the night rolling off the edge. We're not particularly large or tall people, fairly average, so we were surprised that the bed was so tiny for us. But other than that, we had a wonderful stay here and despite the bed I would still consider returning on account of the view and the service. Really really a stunning view. Try the omelettes in the morning, they're delicious!

Room Tip: Anything with a view over the harbour/bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lkelsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel U, Owner at The Regent, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2013

Many thanks for the great review and for your kind comments about us, the owners. I am particularly pleased that you enjoyed the Regent's breakfast menu, I take delight in preparing tasty breakfasts for all of our guests. And yes, the view is simply stunning, I have not tired of it even after 41 years. I am sorry to hear that you found the bed to be smaller than you would like, however it is a standard size UK double and I am aware that beds in north America tend to be bigger. I am glad that you had a great time staying with us and I hope that you will visit us again some time in the future. Safe travels, Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
978 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
638 reviews
1.1 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#9 of 21 in St Ives
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent

Address: Fern Lea Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in St Ives
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#4 Luxury Hotel in St Ives
Hotel Class:4 star — The Regent 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
St Ives Regent
The Regent St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing