We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of The Regent

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Regent
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed there with a friend during last bank holiday. It was lovely; The staff was very nice and warm and the rooms were quite big. The views were amazing!! Breakfast was also really good.Definitely would be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    25
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
81
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My experience was wonderful. The hosts were true born locals who went out of their way to write and print up road directions with interesting stops along the way to my intended destination.
The room was magnificent, spacious, tastefull and with wide panoramic views of the whole of the bay and surrounds.
The breakfast was all sourced from local areas and was absolutely delicious. The lounge sitting room was fronted with all glass, warm and cosey equiped with the reclusive cat who'll come out from has favourite spot for a pat.
Parking was good too. Stayed extra nights b/c it was a real find.

Room Tip: Take the room that is tucked away down the narrow stairs. (It used to be their room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tintbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a cracking family run hotel in a perfect location for St Ives. My girlfriend and I stayed for 3 nights over the recent bank holiday and manage to get a cracking suite room with beautiful views over the harbour. Parking too!
The couple that run the hotel are lovely and make you feel very welcome.
The breakfast is the best I have ever had in any hotel. Great selection and cooked on demand with local ingredients.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WarrenScarlets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed 2 nights May 2014. Warm welcome from Keith and Sandi. Our first night was in a family room with a double and single bed on the top floor. Best views of St Ives ever. Next day we had to move to another room because a family required our first room ( this was explained to us on booking). Our cases were moved for us while we were out and there was no inconvenience. To our delight we had the same outstanding view from our second room.
Breakfast was of excellent quality and variety with great service from Sandi.
Parking - usually a nightmare in St Ives - is included in the price which is less than half that charged by so called luxury boutique hotels in the same part of town.
The building is old and somewhat quirky and might not suit people who prefer Holiday Inn uniformity but the owners have made the most of it and it is spotlessly clean.
The attitude of the owners is shown by their asking guests not to consume takeaway food in their rooms (fairly standard, you think).....but offering free use of the dining room, crockery and cutlery and washing upfor those wishing to eat takeaway food!
Hugely enjoyable stay - thanks, Keith and Sandi - the Regent Hotel will be our first choice in future when we visit St Ives.

Room Tip: Room 3 (2 beds in adjoining areas) is on top floor (no lift) but worth the climb. Room 10 also has g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Willie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed for three nights,our stay was very enjoyable.The room and en suite was nicely decorated and spotlessly clean.
The view from our room was superb taking in the whole of the harbour.
The dining room was brightly decorated and spotless as was the hotel.

The breakfast was first class with an amazing choice.
Keith was very helpful and approachable he gave us a print out of places to visit down to and around Lands End which we thoroughly enjoyed.
Sandi was also very kind and helpful and went out of her way to make our breakfast time even more enjoyable.
Also,the Mex Retaurant round the corner is worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank togra81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

From the outside The Regent looks pretty plain. Don't be fooled. Our room was beautiful with the most stunning panoramic view over St. Ives, the bay and the sea.The room itself was spacious, tasteful and modern.

Breakfast is all locally-sourced, beautifully cooked with a great range of choice from the classic British breakfast to kippers to smoked salmon and scrambled eggs.

The hosts are a wonderful source of local knowledge who will provide you with advice and tips on where to go and what to see.

We'd definitely stay again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lindyloohs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We had two nights in this little hotel and had one double and two single rooms up the top for our kids! It was a fun way of staying in a hotel and our kids, both teenagers, loved a room each of their own!! It is old fashioned in a great location with this amazing view, just like on the photos on Tripadvisor. We got a parking permit of the owners and parked by the station, very easy. We then walked around everywhere in St Ives and I loved this busy little town - where you don't want to drive! The hotel is clean, full of history, very much unsuitable for people who can't walk in stairs, you hear your neighbours and the street noise, has a lovely breakfast and it is so very well priced! It is not modern as such but that's what we liked, it felt like an old fashioned B& B. I will certainly remember its' charm for a very long time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise45Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.4 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,618 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
913 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent

Property: The Regent
Address: Fern Lea Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Ives
#3 Family Hotel in St Ives
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Hotel Class:4 star — The Regent 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
St Ives Regent
The Regent St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing