We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointing- think we were unlucky!”
Review of Cornerways B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cornerways B&B
Ranked #24 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2011

I think we had a bit of an unlucky experience.. But found our stay in st Ives disappointing.
Firstly, the website says parking at nearby car park.. However this was full for the entire duration of our stay. They do actually have 2 parking spaces - we found out during our stay - bur these were not available for us. We spent about an hour trying to park on arrival.
Hence we were then late checking in. On arrival the lady met us and was a bit rushed and bothered. Showed us to our room and left us to get on with it really.. We asked her a few things but it transpired they were having a dinner party later that evening, so fine.
Room was quite small but clean and smartly furnished. Think White towels would be preferable to leopard skin ones and fresh milk would be a nice touch but otherwise we were pleased. Stayed in the family room. No view at all - well a brick wall, which was a bit disappointing.
I guess the main issues for us were the noise. Having a tired 12 year old with us, we weren't really impressed to be kept awake until 1.30am by the dinner party, guests leaving and clearing up.
Finally getting off to sleep, we were woken at 6 by the room or maybe owners above moving about and in their bathroom - you could hear every word and mpvemnt very loudly.
So going to breakfast exhausted, the food again was disappointing. Fresh fruit was on the turn and when I asked what the cooked options were there weren't any sausages. The cooked breakfast was nice and he'd made an effort, but was a bit greasy.
The 'free entry to tate' advertised on website wasnt available to us - we got it the next day but was a reaso I'd booked so surprised to hear this was limited to 2 residents.
There were some people staying who seemed to be regulars and they were thoroughly looked after- from apologising about the noise to running out and getting marmalade for them.. None of this service for us left you feeling like a bit of an outsider.
Toilet / taps also made no end of noise everytime you used them.
Sorry..but these details would have made our stay much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caba_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2011

I was at Cornerways just for one night after I finished one week of walking the coastal path. To stay there and meet Tim, who is a wonderful host, was the perfect ending for my walking holidays. It looks a bit like a secret place as from the outside you might think it's very small but the rooms are so cozy and nice. St. Ives was my start and end of the walk and I'm happy that I spent so much time there. The next time I would love to stay at Cornerways again and definitely go for the sausages at breakfast. Tim changed my mind now. Yours are very good but still not quite as good as the germans ;)

Room Tip: Jamaica room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skippy1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We walked around St Ives and found this little gem. Tim, the man in charge, is a wonder. He Cooks an amazing breakfast and is a very accommodating. The room was very clean and cosy. The bathroom was classy. Just off the main strip meant little noise and it was less than a minute to the beach.
If I had more time, I would have stayed all week.
Cornerways made my time in St Ives just that much better. I'll come back for sure...

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesMcKeenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Stumbled across Cornerways & Tim the owner as we were walking around St Ives & was very glad that we did, it is situated in a quiet street that is only minutes walking distance away from the local shops & resturants, the whole B&B is very well presented, our room & bathroom were a very good size & very tidy, the breakfast in the morning was very generous & used local produce & the service very good, only wish i could have breakfast there everyday, was a pity we had only planned to spend one night in the area, will be back one day in the future hopefully

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KIWIROGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We loved it, Tim is a fantastic host. He is full of knowlege and he really looked after us, particularly when we suddenly became unwell, which we will always be gratefull for. Great place, great location, great accom. Definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustraliansOnTour12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We booked for a week and enjoyed it so much we stayed for ten days. It was a wonderful escape in lovely surroundings, great food, hospitality, and our hosts Tim and Shelley made our stay most enjoyable. Cornerways is an ideal holiday accomodation to go sightseeing , walking and is near to the excellent beaches a few minutes walking distance away. We would recommend Cornerways to all our friends
We hope to return later this year
Christine and Joe

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christinewelsh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Tim and the team at Cornerways B&B are a true delight, offering fantastic, friendly service. My partner and I were fortunate to stumble upon this fabulous B&B during a quick mid-week getaway. Unlike the ordain procedure you recieve from most hotels/B&Bs on arrival, Tim was welcoming and accomodating from the outset, ensuring that we were soon free to explore the beautiful town of St Ives. And WOW the breakfast was a fabulous feast of local produce which kept us going right through into to the afternoon. We can't wait to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheffFem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#10 of 21 in St Ives
383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tregony Guest House
Tregony Guest House
#12 of 102 in St Ives
180 reviews
1.3 mi away
Count House Cottage B&B
Count House Cottage B&B
#1 of 7 in Carbis Bay
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Sky Bed and Breakfast
Blue Sky Bed and Breakfast
#16 of 102 in St Ives
163 reviews
1.6 mi away
Oystercatcher
Oystercatcher
#2 of 7 in Carbis Bay
71 reviews
0.4 mi away
Little Leaf Guest House
Little Leaf Guest House
#3 of 102 in St Ives
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerways B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerways B&B

Address: 1 Bethesda Place, St Ives TR26 1PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range: £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornerways B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend your holidays with us in Downalong, a labyrinth of cobbled lanes which used to be the fisherman's quarter in the oldest part of St Ives. Cornerways was built in the 1830s and has been a Guest House for over 70 years. Only 50 yards from the harbour, beaches and restaurants, Daphne Du Maurier stayed here in the 1940's. The Tate Gallery, for which we provide complimentary tickets, and St Ives Art School are only 150 yards away. Two of our rooms overlook the harbour and bay beyond. With a modern feel that echoes the artists’ quarter in which it sits, Cornerways’ rooms have been renovated and totally redecorated over the last 7 years and all have new en-suites. All bedrooms have LCD TVs, DVD Players, Wi-Fi, tea and coffee facilities, fridges and complimentary Cornish bottled water. The 3' thick Cornish Granite walls and no passing traffic will ensure you a snug & quiet night’s sleep.Breakfast is served in the uncrowded dining room with only fresh produce being used. We also cater for vegetarians. Fresh local fish is available daily, which includes smoked salmon, local mackerel, kippers and smoked haddock. Tim & Shelley ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cornerways Hotel St Ives
Cornerways Bed And Breakfast
Cornerways B&B St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing