We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B in central St Ives”
Review of Cornerways B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cornerways B&B
Ranked #22 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Asker, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B in central St Ives”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My two daughters and I shared the Rebecca room for three nights, and we loved our stay at Cornerways. Wonderful hosts, lovely breakfast, nice room. The room was very small for three people, but all right anyway. The bathroom looked clean but smelled a little moist, but nothing to worry about. We would definitely recommend Cornerways to anyone. The view from the room was wonderful, ans St Ives in itself has loads to offer. We hope to return rather sooner than later.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IngunnWiig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    26
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
91
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

Tim was very welcoming.

Located in a very convenient location - close to parking and the shops/wharf.

Free wifi was fast and easy to use.

Rooms were large and comfortable.

Shower was hot and well flowing.

Breakfast was the best of our week long coast walk.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camgrant84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huxley
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Our second stay with Tim was even better than the first. Getting me to actually look forward to "fried tomatoes" (the name doesn't begin to describe what appears on one's plate) for breakfast has to be the biggest culinary accomplishment of the decade. Ambience, warmth, quality, convenience--even the cat acts as greeter now and then--make for a delightful experience right in the heart of the old fishing cottages in the Downalong area. A joy and a treat !

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I have stayed at Cornerways many times, both under the current management and the previous.

Tim has really improved the place beyond all recognition, its always had location in its favour but now its also got a touch of elegance and class.
Rich Crew utg

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastvilleErn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We were in St Ives for a family wedding and stayed 2 nights at this wonderful establishment. Let me first say, this is an old building with quirky rooms, mostly quite small but with bags of character. If you want smooth walls, wide staircases, even shaped rooms then don’t stay here – go to a Premier Inn or equivalent. There are a few things which are important to me when staying away from home, a useable, en-suite shower with hot water, a full length mirror, a socket near a mirror (for my hair!), and somewhere to hang my clothes with enough hangers. Cornerways ticked all my boxes and had extras like tea and coffee in room, and a TV – btw the shower was better than my one at home, always hot and no fluctuation in temperature! Believe me; I’ve stayed in places where NONE of those criteria was met.
Next, the breakfast – superbly cooked and so much choice. My daughter said it was the best breakfast she’d ever had away from home. Could not fault anything, choice of cereals, fresh fruit salad and yoghurt each morning, perfectly cooked eggs, nice sausages (my Grandsons loved them) and the famous tomatoes, so tasty and different.
And finally a mention for Tim, the owner, host and chef. What a lovely person! Nothing was too much trouble for this man, he shuffled tables around for us in the dining room (there were 5 adults and 3 children including a baby), made sure everything in our rooms was ok, allowed us to leave our luggage in the rooms even though it was before lunch and the rooms not yet ready. He organised a taxi for us to the wedding and came out to see us off when it arrived.
All in all – a fantastic experience. Location was perfect too, minutes away from the harbour and beaches. This is where I will be staying if I return to ST Ives!!

Room Tip: Can recommend Manderlay, Rebecca and Daphne, although Daphne can be a bit hot as the opening window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazziebabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Wonderful host, great breakfast, and a nice room (although decor is a bit odd). Would get 5 stars but bathroom could have been a bit more clean. Also, sink in bathroom is so tiny that it was barely possible to keep water from splashing onto the floor.

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Nickoval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Having stayed in St Ives on several occasions, we will now look no furthur...as our title suggests this is 'simply the best'. From the moment of our arrival, after a long drive from Wiltshire, we were treated to Tim's wonderful hosting skills..insisting on carrying our bags etc. We stayed in 'Sandra', the most delightful and 'quirky' room with views of the harbour to die for (even from the loo!!). We had read about Tim's wonderful breakfasts...there are NO words to convey how absolutely delicious these are, and served in the most charming environment ever. One word of warning...abandon diets and when you think you may be full, try the fresh lemon curd on brown toast! Mmmmmm. We cannot praise Tim highly enough, nothing is too much trouble for him, and he should be immensely proud of Cornerways. We just cannot wait to book our nest visit.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
Tregony Guest House
Tregony Guest House
#11 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
1.7 mi away
Green Apple Bed & Breakfast
1.5 mi away
Thurlestone Guest House
Thurlestone Guest House
#16 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Heights
Atlantic Heights
#13 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Anchorage
The Anchorage
#43 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Sky Bed and Breakfast
Blue Sky Bed and Breakfast
#17 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerways B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerways B&B

Property: Cornerways B&B
Address: 1 Bethesda Place, St Ives TR26 1PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornerways B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend your holidays with us in Downalong, a labyrinth of cobbled lanes which used to be the fisherman's quarter in the oldest part of St Ives. Cornerways was built in the 1830s and has been a Guest House for over 70 years. Only 50 yards from the harbour, beaches and restaurants, Daphne Du Maurier stayed here in the 1940's. The Tate Gallery, for which we provide complimentary tickets, and St Ives Art School are only 150 yards away. Two of our rooms overlook the harbour and bay beyond. With a modern feel that echoes the artists’ quarter in which it sits, Cornerways’ rooms have been renovated and totally redecorated over the last 7 years and all have new en-suites. All bedrooms have LCD TVs, DVD Players, Wi-Fi, tea and coffee facilities, fridges and complimentary Cornish bottled water. The 3' thick Cornish Granite walls and no passing traffic will ensure you a snug & quiet night’s sleep.Breakfast is served in the uncrowded dining room with only fresh produce being used. We also cater for vegetarians. Fresh local fish is available daily, which includes smoked salmon, local mackerel, kippers and smoked haddock. Tim & Shelley ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cornerways Hotel St Ives
Cornerways Bed And Breakfast
Cornerways B&B St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing