We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place to stay”
Review of Cornerways B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cornerways B&B
Ranked #23 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We booked this as we wanted to spend a few days in the centre of the old part of st Ives. Despite the the weather we had a great time, accommodation in the Sandra room and habour views were fantastic. Breakfast was great and what a lovely B&B we were well chuffed. Stay here I recommend it

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 386jon_n386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

Tim Tait is a perfect host! Cornerways is a great location in charming St. Ives. The rooms were comfortable and the breakfasts were extraordinary. Tim was friendly and attentive to our every need and an incredible cook besides! We would return in a minute and highly recommend Cornerways!

Room Tip: Book ahead. Convenient to the Tate Art Museum, St. Ives Museum, Harbor, loads of restaurants and sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

A tiny cottage with some steep tiny stairs, but leading to a beautiful room, lovely bathroom and a view over the rooftops to the harbour. Lovely warm welcome, Tim was really helpful and a generous host. It would have been useful to have an email confirming my booking!

Room Tip: Rebecca is a lovely room, but some tiny steep stairs to negotiate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gillypost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My wife and I have been visiting St. Ives for many years. I will guarantee that you will not be able to find a better location, very clean and friendly place to stay than "Corneraways"
The breakfast choice is fantastic including the good old English to Salmon and Haddock.
We would like to thank Tim very much for a unforgettable stay. See you soon and thank you very much for making our stay very enjoyable, C&L

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

From the hanging baskets and the lovely entryway to the unique decor of the room, everything was, once again, just wonderful. The spread for breakfast caters to all tastes with a variety of cereals, yoghurt, jams, and a fried selection, frequently including a fish option. Simply delicious.
We were greeted by Tim as returning friends, and the hospitality at Cornerways is impreesive and sincere. We will return!

Room Tip: We've stayed in Daphne, Sandra and Jamaica. All are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marcia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We had stayed the previous week in St Ives and wanted to extend our stay a little longer over the following weekend. We had spotted Cornerways earlier and thought what a pretty place it looked, so we popped inside and met Tim to ask about accommodation. He mentioned he had a room available, with ensuite and sea view (it was called "Rebecca", but don't tell anyone as we want to keep it secret from now on :-) It was a lovely, stylish room and very comfortable just a pity we could only stay for the 1 night. Breakfast was equally good, served in the very cosy restaurant, again very stylishly decorated but very welcoming which made it easy to chat with the other guests. We were sad to leave so soon, so will be looking to return maybe next year to again extend our stay. Tim was great btw, very friendly and very helpful. I would definitely recommend Cornerways, a great location with a great character and history, together with the stylish and modern décor makes it a wonderful place to stay and importantly, its run by nice people

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My grandson, wife and I stayed one night last weekend and were made to feel very welcome. Tim was very accommodating and breakfast was good and particularly well presented.
Slight minus point was that the fridge mentioned for the room was missing and had we been staying longer this would have been a major problem.
Certainly stay again and would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teepee0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#9 of 21 in St Ives
380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tregony Guest House
Tregony Guest House
#12 of 102 in St Ives
179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Sky Bed and Breakfast
Blue Sky Bed and Breakfast
#16 of 102 in St Ives
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Oystercatcher
Oystercatcher
#2 of 7 in Carbis Bay
70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trevose Harbour House
Trevose Harbour House
#1 of 102 in St Ives
480 reviews
0.5 mi away
Storm in a Tea Cup
Storm in a Tea Cup
#20 of 102 in St Ives
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerways B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerways B&B

Address: 1 Bethesda Place, St Ives TR26 1PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range: £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornerways B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend your holidays with us in Downalong, a labyrinth of cobbled lanes which used to be the fisherman's quarter in the oldest part of St Ives. Cornerways was built in the 1830s and has been a Guest House for over 70 years. Only 50 yards from the harbour, beaches and restaurants, Daphne Du Maurier stayed here in the 1940's. The Tate Gallery, for which we provide complimentary tickets, and St Ives Art School are only 150 yards away. Two of our rooms overlook the harbour and bay beyond. With a modern feel that echoes the artists’ quarter in which it sits, Cornerways’ rooms have been renovated and totally redecorated over the last 7 years and all have new en-suites. All bedrooms have LCD TVs, DVD Players, Wi-Fi, tea and coffee facilities, fridges and complimentary Cornish bottled water. The 3' thick Cornish Granite walls and no passing traffic will ensure you a snug & quiet night’s sleep.Breakfast is served in the uncrowded dining room with only fresh produce being used. We also cater for vegetarians. Fresh local fish is available daily, which includes smoked salmon, local mackerel, kippers and smoked haddock. Tim & Shelley ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cornerways Hotel St Ives
Cornerways Bed And Breakfast
Cornerways B&B St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing