We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Character”
Review of Cornerways B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cornerways B&B
Ranked #24 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Character”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here with friends a couple of weeks ago and it was fantastic with a lot of character and atmosphere together with all the modern requirements of life. Tim was a great host and we all started the day with one of his Cornish breakfasts - don't miss it. I first sampled the pub on the front 40 years ago and thank goodness it has not changed much !! Try the Otter ale and let the world go by.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NJS707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    27
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
93
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We've just come back from a great weekend in St Ives and stayed at the Cornerways guest house. Tim was most welcoming and our room was fabulous, with fantastic views. It is very stylish, traditional mixed with modern and some very interesting art pieces. Breakfast was also excellent and the bed extremely comfortable. Highly recommended and we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarnieBull1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Myself and my wife and our fiends stayed here for 3 nights and I can say that everything was superb. The owner goes out of his way to make sure you are comfortable including helping with parking arrangements. Our room (Sandra) and our friend's room (Rebecca) were both top notch and cleaned everyday. Very comfy, bed, tv, fridge, plenty of space, lots of posh character, lovely modern ensuite with shower and a view of St Ives beach * pier too! The breakfasts were also amazing - restaurant quality service, dining room and food. Totally recommended and we will be back soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PSB59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We booked this as we wanted to spend a few days in the centre of the old part of st Ives. Despite the the weather we had a great time, accommodation in the Sandra room and habour views were fantastic. Breakfast was great and what a lovely B&B we were well chuffed. Stay here I recommend it

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 386jon_n386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Tim Tait is a perfect host! Cornerways is a great location in charming St. Ives. The rooms were comfortable and the breakfasts were extraordinary. Tim was friendly and attentive to our every need and an incredible cook besides! We would return in a minute and highly recommend Cornerways!

Room Tip: Book ahead. Convenient to the Tate Art Museum, St. Ives Museum, Harbor, loads of restaurants and sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allenheads
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

A tiny cottage with some steep tiny stairs, but leading to a beautiful room, lovely bathroom and a view over the rooftops to the harbour. Lovely warm welcome, Tim was really helpful and a generous host. It would have been useful to have an email confirming my booking!

Room Tip: Rebecca is a lovely room, but some tiny steep stairs to negotiate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gillypost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Elmsall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My wife and I have been visiting St. Ives for many years. I will guarantee that you will not be able to find a better location, very clean and friendly place to stay than "Corneraways"
The breakfast choice is fantastic including the good old English to Salmon and Haddock.
We would like to thank Tim very much for a unforgettable stay. See you soon and thank you very much for making our stay very enjoyable, C&L

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
Tregony Guest House
Tregony Guest House
#10 of 102 in St Ives
170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Sky Bed and Breakfast
Blue Sky Bed and Breakfast
#21 of 102 in St Ives
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
West by Five Guest House
West by Five Guest House
#2 of 102 in St Ives
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Thurlestone Guest House
Thurlestone Guest House
#14 of 102 in St Ives
154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Heights
Atlantic Heights
#18 of 102 in St Ives
441 reviews
1.5 mi away
Headland House
Headland House
#9 of 102 in St Ives
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerways B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerways B&B

Property: Cornerways B&B
Address: 1 Bethesda Place, St Ives TR26 1PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornerways B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend your holidays with us in Downalong, a labyrinth of cobbled lanes which used to be the fisherman's quarter in the oldest part of St Ives. Cornerways was built in the 1830s and has been a Guest House for over 70 years. Only 50 yards from the harbour, beaches and restaurants, Daphne Du Maurier stayed here in the 1940's. The Tate Gallery, for which we provide complimentary tickets, and St Ives Art School are only 150 yards away. Two of our rooms overlook the harbour and bay beyond. With a modern feel that echoes the artists’ quarter in which it sits, Cornerways’ rooms have been renovated and totally redecorated over the last 7 years and all have new en-suites. All bedrooms have LCD TVs, DVD Players, Wi-Fi, tea and coffee facilities, fridges and complimentary Cornish bottled water. The 3' thick Cornish Granite walls and no passing traffic will ensure you a snug & quiet night’s sleep.Breakfast is served in the uncrowded dining room with only fresh produce being used. We also cater for vegetarians. Fresh local fish is available daily, which includes smoked salmon, local mackerel, kippers and smoked haddock. Tim & Shelley ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cornerways Bed And Breakfast
Cornerways Hotel St Ives
Cornerways B&B St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing