We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday ”
Review of Cornerways B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cornerways B&B
Ranked #23 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Holiday ”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Tim what a wonderful man could not do enough great place wonderful rooms and break fast well enough said, st Ives is a great place I've been to many resorts around the world but st Ives is by far and away the best place in Britain go you'll love it I'm sure plenty to visit and to do .

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    28
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
94
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

It was half term madness and St Ives was awash with families and tourists all enjoying this very special place in the West Country…….Tim, ‘Mine Host’ of Cornerways sorted out my parking and we were all set for a few days of sheer indulgence in this wonderful costal resort.

I have stayed many times at Cornerways and the standard has never faltered and always with lots of attention to detail and a whole variety of guests who are all made to feel very special with the customer care element being top of Cornerways priorities.

Tim’s breakfasts are legendary and there is always a varied selection available to satisfy the most discerning patrons, including his signature tomato dish and some very fresh ‘Catch of the Day’.

Cornerways is both quaint and bijou with historic links to famous author, Daphne De Maurier.

What more to be said about this top quality venue, affordable, clean, great location and a proprietor that cares.

Room Tip: Ask Tim when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RON-THOMAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenock
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Small but very comfy room, spotlessly clean. Excellent breakfast choices. Owner Tim was a great host, helpful and kind. Car park nearby only £6.50 a day. We had a wonderful time in St. Ives and want to return soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Recommend the room Rebecca for best views of harbour at the top of the house. Parking at island car park £6.50 a day or Tim will advise another walking distance. Rooms all have unique style reflecting the owners love of art, breakfast choice outstanding with amazing baked tomatoes! Owner has huge knowledge of the town and makes you feel very at home, will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rozeymai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is a fab B&B set in the heart of St Ives. Once your car is parked up, you are set for a wonderful holiday - you won't need it again as St Ives has everything you need :O)

Tim is a wonderful host, so kind, thoughtful and caring. The rooms are very clean, funky and posh. They all appear to have a different feel and theme. Ours had a lovely sea view, even from the loo!

The breakfast room was inviting and very arty and interesting. It had a very european feel in fact. The food was stunning, and Tim was happy to cook whatever you wanted. I had porridge and bacon for instance! ;o)

Set in a great location close to the harbour and also The Tate and loads of different restaurants I can't rate this highly enough and we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for the best place to park, Tim will be glad to help you :O)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyCamper6214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here with friends a couple of weeks ago and it was fantastic with a lot of character and atmosphere together with all the modern requirements of life. Tim was a great host and we all started the day with one of his Cornish breakfasts - don't miss it. I first sampled the pub on the front 40 years ago and thank goodness it has not changed much !! Try the Otter ale and let the world go by.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NJS707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We've just come back from a great weekend in St Ives and stayed at the Cornerways guest house. Tim was most welcoming and our room was fabulous, with fantastic views. It is very stylish, traditional mixed with modern and some very interesting art pieces. Breakfast was also excellent and the bed extremely comfortable. Highly recommended and we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarnieBull1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
Tregony Guest House
Tregony Guest House
#10 of 102 in St Ives
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
West by Five Guest House
West by Five Guest House
#2 of 102 in St Ives
400 reviews
1.5 mi away
Thurlestone Guest House
Thurlestone Guest House
#16 of 102 in St Ives
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Heights
Atlantic Heights
#20 of 102 in St Ives
443 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ten Ocean View
Ten Ocean View
#36 of 102 in St Ives
287 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glanmor Guest House
Glanmor Guest House
#31 of 102 in St Ives
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerways B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerways B&B

Property: Cornerways B&B
Address: 1 Bethesda Place, St Ives TR26 1PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornerways B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend your holidays with us in Downalong, a labyrinth of cobbled lanes which used to be the fisherman's quarter in the oldest part of St Ives. Cornerways was built in the 1830s and has been a Guest House for over 70 years. Only 50 yards from the harbour, beaches and restaurants, Daphne Du Maurier stayed here in the 1940's. The Tate Gallery, for which we provide complimentary tickets, and St Ives Art School are only 150 yards away. Two of our rooms overlook the harbour and bay beyond. With a modern feel that echoes the artists’ quarter in which it sits, Cornerways’ rooms have been renovated and totally redecorated over the last 7 years and all have new en-suites. All bedrooms have LCD TVs, DVD Players, Wi-Fi, tea and coffee facilities, fridges and complimentary Cornish bottled water. The 3' thick Cornish Granite walls and no passing traffic will ensure you a snug & quiet night’s sleep.Breakfast is served in the uncrowded dining room with only fresh produce being used. We also cater for vegetarians. Fresh local fish is available daily, which includes smoked salmon, local mackerel, kippers and smoked haddock. Tim & Shelley ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cornerways Hotel St Ives
Cornerways Bed And Breakfast
Cornerways B&B St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing