We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb quality food - excellent location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Beachcomber

The Beachcomber
Ranked #44 of 144 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, View
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dunstable, Beds
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb quality food - excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We love this cafe and always try to pay a visit whenever we are in St Ives. Very popular place to eat as we are always hard pushed to get an outside table and we always go to Cornwall out of the main season. Generous sized portions and well prepared food, always use a quality bread for their sandwiches. A delciious selection of cakes too. Just the place to stop off for a filling lunch and watch the world go by as this cafe has the most wonderful views over St Ives beach and Smeaton's Pier. A definite 'must visit'.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AK63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    36
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Callington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
324 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Excellent cafe in a perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Had a lovely afternoon tea at The Beachcomber in St Ives, We timed it perfectly as the weather took a turn for the worse. It is ideally located overlooking the picturesque harbour of St Ives.

There is something on offer for most tastes, we went for a cream tea and carrot cake. The only problem is the calorie count! But when you are on holiday who cares!

Service was excellent, Hope to call again soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Owlincallington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely cafe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Visiting St.Ives for the day, this was a beautifully situated café with views of the harbour. Good selection of café-food available; tasty and reasonable value for money. We enjoyed our Panninni, Soup and cake very much! Friendly staff and reasonably good facilities.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
573 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“fabulous cakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We popped in here, as it looked rather busy and that usually means a good place to eat, there were people sitting outside. The cafe is situated near the harbour and a good place to watch the world go by. We originally went in for coffee but was so tempted by the array of cakes, we succumbed to some carrot cake and a fruit cheesecake. Absolutely delicious. The atmosphere was also lovely and the staff very helpful, a very enjoyable experience and will definitely be back

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank susan952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot, fresh seafood and reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stopped off for lunch in st Ives, various baguettes and seafood chowder ordered by group. All meals fresh and tasted great, particular favourite was the crab and prawn baguette, loads of seafood in the baguette. In addition to food lots of nice artwork on walls and if you can get a table outside it looks over the harbour. Price for lunch for 4 people with tea was £31

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 27steve118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Beachcomber also viewed

 
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Been to The Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing