We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Beachcomber

The Beachcomber
Ranked #44 of 144 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

In St Ives for a morning , wanting a coffee and a sit down, we came across this little gem looking out over the bay. we sat inside in the window and the view was lovely.

The place is furnished beautifully , it is just delightful.

We only had time for a toasted teacake and coffee, both of which were excellent. (Oh yes I had a delicious icecream too!!!)

I wish we had been able to stay longer so we could have tried the chowder, or the rather amazing looking lemon meringue pie.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PJBAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    36
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bodmin, Cornwall
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great cuppa...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

right on the harbour so great views. Only popped in for a pot of tea and a bottle of water and weren't made to feel as if they' rather we were buying a cream tea. Lovely big mug, jug of hot water brought along with the tea as standard. Tables cleared very quickly, particularly the outside ones but only after patrons had left. Cream teas looked excellent and well presented and there was a whole cabinet of very tempting cakes to choose from. Shame we'd had such a big lunch...

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Awayday9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
93 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great coffee, great soup, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Amidst a very touristy selection of cornish pasty shops etc, sits this little cafe. I was after a good cup of coffee, and found excellent coffee made with care. Service was very friendly, the location was nice, and there was a really ace seafood chowder. Bacon sarnies were also excellent. Much better than I was expecting and hoping for. A nice little cafe, a great location, friendly…

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IanSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome - Seafood chowder with the best sea view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I was delighted to be able to pop back to our favourite harbour front cafe over the Easter holiday, this time with more of the family. The Beachcomber never disappoints and it was a welcome surprise to find seafood chowder on the 'specials' menu, freshly made that day. Im a great fan of chowder (and fussy if I'm honest) but this was delicious; made with quality fish and served piping hot with chunks of bread. If only more seaside cafes took advantage of the sea's produce like this! They also offer a wide choice of Panini combinations too - far more interesting than the average sarnie filling, but when our youngest wanted something a little less adventurous, the staff were perfectly willing to oblige. Very few places can offer such a prime spot to sit outside and truly unwind; such a lovely place to people watch or enjoy the boats on the water. Couldn't resist it - we even retuned briefly on our last day for the yummy berry cream cheesecake. The coffee is good or we can recommend the hot chocolate which is topped with whipped cream, marshmallows, and a flake!!! A happy Easter all round in St Ives.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Seafood chowder par excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent service, excellent views, delicious food. We would recommend this cafe for snacks and to take a break from the beach/shopping.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Beachcomber also viewed

 
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Been to The Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing