We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a lovely time Blanch & Mike!”
Review of St Merryn Hotel

St Merryn Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St Merryn Hotel
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Swansea
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“We had a lovely time Blanch & Mike!”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We have just returned from a 5 day trip organised by Leisuretime and stayed at the St Merryn's Hotel. The location is good as you can walk the mile to St Ives or catch the bus 200 yards down the road, or order a taxi. The hotel was clean, the food really good, staff wonderful. There was a nice bar with reasonable prices, and good entertainment. Nothing was too much trouble. We went to the Scilly Isles for the day, for only £35, even being picked up at the door and Blanche kindly organised our very early breakfast and very late evening meal. The only downside to the hotel was the complete lack of facilities for disabled and elderly guests, i.e. no hand rails anywhere even to the garden, and no lift. If it wasn't for this I would give the hotel a 5 star rating. I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor room if you lack mobility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank aniden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    23
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

My wife and I also went on a Harry Shaw 5 day holiday to St Ives and had the pleasure of staying at the St Merryn Hotel,all of the staff were polite and nothing was too much trouble for them and made our stay so great.The food was nothing short of being fantastic,the breakfast was so nice and the evening dinner was also to the same standard.tThe evening entertainment was spot on ,so well done every body .At our departure,all the staff came out to wave us off and I'm sure Mike had a tear in his eyes,all in all ,a stupendous stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Andrew Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a 5 day break with Harry Shaw at this hotel and had a lovely break. Having booked the holiday before checking the reviews on here we were a bit apprehensive after reading the last three reviews.

On arrival we were greeted on the coach by Mike the owner, who made us feel very welcome immediately. The room was a good size with everything we needed, the food over all 5 days was very good with plenty of it. Although not a choice of evening meals you were told each morning what the evening meal would be and you had the opportunity to request something else at this time. Staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The evening entertainment was excellent ......we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel and this trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henley in arden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

on my arrival the hotel was shabby dirty of apperance there was no lift miles of stairs on entering my room i was mortified the carpet was filthy the dust around the skirtings and behind the beds i could not use the so called furniture the chairs where stained the shower trickled our door looked like it had been forced my nightmare had just began no choice of food and staff that needed to put some clothes on the gardens where overgrown and the path way had been cut back to allow us entry you could not sit in the gardens the whole hotel needs revamping and money spent on it was told by locals it had a bad reputation st ives is a lovely place but do not enter this hotel we had the holiday from hell

Room Tip: dont stay in any of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank sharon j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

my first view of the st merryn was when we came off the coach and walked around to the entrance of the hotel.There were dirty chairs and a table and cigarette butts on the floor.Not a very good first impression.The rooms appeared clean but on inspection the dust behind bed and in the corners of the room were very noticable.The food was good but not much choice and on first night no choice for main meal.The hedges and pathways were really overgrown and no mention of the games on the lawn.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank judy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

The evening meals were never cooked from fresh, all Iceland specials! Decor shabby, walls mouldy. Access and parking was difficult for even the fittest of people and there wasn't even a lift for the disabled. St Ives is such a lovely place, shame the same can't be said of the hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank twiggycat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

mike&,blanche the hosts, were friendly,nothing was to much trouble.location was on top,long hill,with tesco behind and a good bus service.4 floors no disabled acess, no lift, the steps,high in the garden(if walking probs you need room on the ground floor) the hotel/rooms was clean, however decor was bit shabby/needs updating badly.beds were really comforttable,towels replaced daiIy and, all were spotless.food was excellent,hot and all homemade(all credit to blance).breakfast were plentiful, waitress were helpful friendl(mary& di-ane). kim is obviously in the wrong job,gives the impression,its beneath her does/not want be there.the bar is very reasonably priced with good choice(,went see kenny hackett,good singer)entertainment, was good/varied even singing dogs lol.the staff came out to wave us off(mike comes on bus on arrival)blance even make you sandwiches for jorny home.st ives excellent beach, clear sea got good train service,the open topped bus (the bustops very near to hotell) s great vaule@£7 ticket each. you can get off anywhere on 3hour trip. there 30min wait in penzance,go everywhere even lands end.

Room Tip: front facing 3rd sea view, back rooms give you view car park and baby seagull-george lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank thewarlock232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.0 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.0 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Torbay Court Hotel
Torbay Court Hotel
#16 of 17 in Paignton
272 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
921 reviews
0.0 mi away
Western Hotel
Western Hotel
#15 of 21 in St Ives
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Merryn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Merryn Hotel

Property: St Merryn Hotel
Address: St Ives TR26 2PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
St Merryn Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing