We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of St Merryn Hotel

St Merryn Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St Merryn Hotel
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel is usually used by coach parties.We booked direct staying over the weekend in July. There was only one other couple staying in the hotel,they had also booked directly with hotel.The hotel did not have any coach bookings until the Monday.We used the hotel as a base, travelling around area all day.We was able to negotiate to have our evening meal at 6.45pm instead of the fixed time of 6pm when booked with the coach party. The hotel is dated and doesn't have any lifts. and it does need a lot of work done ,but bedding and towels in the rooms were spotless. Also the food was excellent,and plenty of it, with tea and coffee provided after the evening meal.We had a lovely welcome from Blanche and Mike,and there is a homely atmosphere.I think when booking this hotel you have to consider the price you are paying is very reasonable compared to other hotels in St Ives.It is a good 15 minute walk into St Ives but there is a bus stop near the hotel that will take you in to the town.Also the coastal walk into St Ives can be reached opposite Hotel.

Room Tip: There are no lifts,so let hotel know if you have mobility problems as there are ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
11  Thank 5paul5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel in July booked through Leisuretime.Our stay was very enjoyable thanks to the owners Mike and Blanche.Staff were very pleasant,food was lovely,rooms were very clean and tidy.
My young Granddaughter was taking medication (which needed to be kept in the fridge) at the time of staying so i had to ask Blanche for it every four hours plus having ice blocks frozen so that medicine could be kept cool while out and about.None of this was a problem to the staff which saved me a lot of worry. All in all a very nice hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Arrived at hotel after long journey, to find that we had been booked into a double room after requesting twin beds. After speaking to Blanche was told not able to change as Leisuretime had changed us due to over booking with twin rooms, as my husband has problems with sleeping this was very upsetting to have to stay 3 nights with a lot of discomfort. Was offered another double room just for myself, but who wants to spend a long weekend sleeping in separate rooms and another floor up. The Hotel needs a good clean yes the beds were clean as we're the towels, but the rooms all smell very strange and need some replacement flooring and new nets. Couldn't fault the food very enjoyable but one of the waitresses was dressed a bit scruffy and was a little rude.
Wouldn't spend another weekend at this hotel

Room Tip: Wouldn't recommend any of the rooms they all have mould and a funny smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank vivento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

WE stayed at this hotel for 5 days last week with a very happy coach party from Wales.
Mike + Blanche were a great couple,with nothing too much trouble for them to make our holiday very enjoyable. Food was 1st class and always hot +tasty.
Not having a lift could be a problem for some,but everyone seemed to manage.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

we love the st merryn it is a lovely laid back hotel great food clean rooms and a warm welcome great bar prices and good entertanment we just love the place we found the staff very helpfull and mike & blanche are always ready to help you if you need it we will be returningon the 21 7 14 cant wait

Room Tip: have a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank jac1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Just arrived home after 5day trip to the merryn hotel great welcome and we were well fed in a spotlessly clean hotel would go there again only problems no lift but only 3 floors in hotel. And bar opened at 8pm for the evening so if you want a drink get it in before dinner at 6pm or wait untill mike the owner opens up the bar lounge at 8pm
Tthe management are very laid back and homely and you will be well pleased by thr bar prices
We travelled with gibbons who work closely with the hotel and I felt that the 36 people who went had a good time
Finally if you get served 1st at breakfast you will be last at night but once you get used to it you will enjoy

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
8  Thank 22birdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband & I came with cooks coaches 9th june for 5 days.
we found our room really comfy, the food excellent, staff lovely,
mike & blanche lovely couple, evening entertainment good mike & blanche joined in which was nice.bar prices good.
we wished we could have stopped longer
hope to come back some
maureen & gordon

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.0 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
789 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,735 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#6 of 21 in St Ives
638 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#9 of 21 in St Ives
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Merryn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Merryn Hotel

Address: St Ives TR26 2PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
St Merryn Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing