We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Sandbank Holidays

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandbank Holidays
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This June saw the our return to the above for the second time, which speaks volumes in its self for us. We have 2 small dogs, which the owners welcome into their accomodation and primarily the reason which attracted us in the first place; however our second visit was based on the experience of the first in terms of the locality, hospitality and accomodation. First and foremost, the beach is to die for; we don't travel in the 'peak' season (ie school holidays) but just had a week in June which perhaps as luck had it was scorching hot, but still the entire beach could only have ever had a dozen people spread across a couple of miles of beach where the dogs could freely roam. If you like quiet, natural settings this is the setting for you regardless of whether you have mutts in your midst. St Ives is always busy and is at the other end of the bay is worth a visit, even though it is a pig to park in. The other beauty about this resort is its locality to the rest of the attractions in the very SW tip of Cornwall. 20 Minutes from St.Michael's mount, 25 minutes Penzance, 40 minutes from the Minack etc.. So again if you aren't content on just sucking in the sea breeze on the dunes (and provided one has transport) it is very well placed at the centre of all that is essential Cornwall, at least as far as I'm concerned.

Bases on last years experience, which was in a first floor apartment, but no garden, we deliberately opted for a slighty more expensive flat with own garden. If you don't have mutts, then the first floor flat won't be a problem, but letting them out on demand is so much easier; the accoodation is otherwise near identical, open plan and airy. I seem to recall last years flat had views over looking the central garden and dunes so don't rule these out.

The only thing to be wary of is the access to the dunes which you have to access via an adjacent holiday park, it is made quite clear (fair enough) that access is for the beach only and not to be used as a mini circuit for the dogs, or a toilet come to that. This isn't a critism of either the owners nor the neighbours, more of a warning to those that aren't responsible dog owners who can't clear up or abide by simple guidance which might spoil it for others (like us) in the future. So please if you can't abide by these simple rules find somewhere else to go.

I really cannot fault this place and I it is highly likely we will return same time next year, both my wife and I are enchanted by this particular corner of Cornwall and would recommend it without hesitation.

Room Tip: Advise ground floor for dog owners otherwise all the rooms are of a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ememsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandbankholidays, Owner at Sandbank Holidays, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We love it when guests return so it is good to hear how much you enjoy your stays with us. Like you, we certainly recommend our local beach at Gwithian- never crowded even on the best of days. We look forward to seeing you (plus dogs) again next year. Chris & Julie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    25
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
47
41
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We spent a week at Sandbank in June, the owners were very friendly and welcoming. We stayed in a 2 bed apartment which was well equipped and comfortable. We would certainly stay again.
It is handy for many places to visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandbankholidays, Owner at Sandbank Holidays, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Sandbank Holidays. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again. Chris & Julie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our week at sandbanks staying in a 2 bed apartment. The place is about 7 miles away from st Ives so is well located. The owner was very helpful. We would happily go back again. Great for families but quiet enough for people without children. Not quite as near to the beach as we expected so families who want instant access for small children should clarify with the owner how to get to it. We did see a car park to the beach down the road so prob isn't far. Although we walked over the dunes we didn't actually see the beach but the weather wasn't quite good enough for the beach so we didn't make much of an effort to find it. There isn't really a sea view either. Notwithstanding a fab place!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackandwhitemariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandbankholidays, Owner at Sandbank Holidays, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Many thanks for your great review of Sandbank, and lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again, and with a bit of luck the weather will be a little sunnier. For your next visit, the beach car park is just 2 minutes' drive from us where you will find 3 miles of sandy beaches. Thanks again, Chris and Julie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Sheryl and I needed a place to stay as we were attending my niece's wedding. We searched on line and found this haven. We stayed in a two bed apartment overlooking the neat garden and play area. During our week there the owner Chris and his team were refurbishing on of the larger apartment they were very thoughtful and kept the noise down. The central location of the holiday homes is great for getting around this part of Cornwall, it has ample parking. The first thing that we relay noticed was how clean the apartment was. Heating is via a night storage unit, the cost for the electricity for this is included in the price. Other electrical equipment such as the water heater and the oven is on a metered supply however this has a £10.00 credit which we did not exceed during our stay. I have recommended these apartments to all of my family and friends and would suggest you consider them if travelling go the west country. Well done Chris and Team.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandbankholidays, Owner at Sandbank Holidays, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, and for recommending us to your friends and family. We will look forward to seeing you again. Chris and Julie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a great week in the pixie bungalow.We were impressed with how clean and well equipped it was. The owner was very much in evidence,very friendly and helpful.Our niece visited us at the bungalow with her 18 month old lad who really enjoyed the kids play area.
We shall certainly come again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TezHop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandbankholidays, Owner at Sandbank Holidays, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your review. Always good to hear when people enjoy their stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back for another Cornish holiday. Chris and Julie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

we just got back from a week stay at sandbanks and had a great time in west cornwall,ideal place to stop for the area,excellent accomadation,we took out king charles,(ted), with us to sandbanks and we all loved it,will certainly book here again.

Room Tip: choose a bungalow if travelling with your dog
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandbankholidays, Owner at Sandbank Holidays, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that Ted enjoyed his Cornish holiday. We look forward to seeing you (and Ted) again. Chris and Julie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Two weeks of heaven! I've been coming to Cornwall for over forty years but this was the first time staying at Sandbank. Sight ideally located for visiting all areas of Cornwall. Accommodation excellent with a lovely view over the garden and further out to the downs. A great place for children and dogs (Our springer spaniel, Coco, even tried to stake a claim on his little patch of garden). Have already booked for next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dottyaboutcornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandbankholidays, Owner at Sandbank Holidays, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Many thanks for your kind words. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay, and hope you are looking forward to coming back to your "little slice of heaven" next year. We will look forward to seeing you (and Coco) again. So glad you have discovered us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
3.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
3.5 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
3.9 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Hayle
Premier Inn Hayle
#1 of 3 in Hayle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
3.9 mi away
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
#12 of 21 in St Ives
3.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbank Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbank Holidays

Property: Sandbank Holidays
Address: 51 Upton Towans | Gwithian, St Ives TR27 5BL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 Speciality Lodging in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the eastern side of St. Ives Bay, we are ideally located for that quiet Cornish getaway. We are a small family-owned site of Apartments and Bungalows set in peaceful landscaped gardens, and nestling in acres of grassy sand dunes close to three miles of beautiful beach that stretches from Hayle to Godrevy Lighthouse at Gwithian. All our accommodation is spotlessly clean and well-equipped for your self-catering holiday, and our large gardens and play area provide a safe environment for children. Surfing, cycling, fishing, and boat trips can all be accessed locally, and there are plenty of good pubs and restaurants around for good food and ales. Paradise Park, Flambards, Lost Gardens of Heligan and The Eden Project are all within an easy drive from Sandbank. From public gardens to golf, cliff-walking, visiting family fun parks or simply relaxing on the beach, there is something to entertain the whole family on your Cornish break. We are also one of the few remaining sites that welcomes dogs, plus their well-behaved owners, and ideally located close to countless attractions and stunning beauty spots. Open March to October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sandbank Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbank Holidays St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing