We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff but disappointing food.”
Review of Rhubarbs - CLOSED

Rhubarbs
Cuisines: Contemporary, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Rhubarbs is situated in the hub of St Ives. Fresh, healthy, rustic food cooked all day. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, with homemade cakes and cream teas served too. We serve a wide variety of food, with a superb friendly service in a modern yet eclectic environment. We look forward to seeing you at Rhubarbs!
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly staff but disappointing food.”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We went for a couple of meals at Rhubarb, the first time it wasn't too bad but they had run out of alot of drinks and a few dishes off the menu but what we did have was quite good. We then went again a couple of days later and we had a similar experience with the drinks however the food this time took ages to be served and once it did arrive we were all very disappointed. The Steak and Ale pie pastry was so hard we couldn't cut it, the mushroom stroganoff didn't have too many mushrooms in it and the desserts were still frozen. It was a shame as the staff are very friendly and made you feel very welcome.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    34
    11
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My son loved his roast dinner and it did look lovely but the other food was disappointing. To be fair it was all freshly cooked and cooked well. But actually too much on the plates and although all freshly cooked and fresh veg. used the salad was very much a pile of iceberg with some cucumber etc.. thrown in. I like a bit less on my plate with a bit more flavouring leaves used - it is a side afterall.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katrina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antwerpen
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Full English!”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

We were wandering around st Ives looking for a place to have brunch when the heavens opened just as we were looking at the menu of rhubarbs. We were swiftly seated and our order was taken by a very friendly young lady. To comment on some of the other reviews maybe she wasn't that smartly dressed but lighten up it's a cafe not a Michelin starred restaurant! The breakfast was lovely and at £5,95 good value for money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsmantwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bean
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

We went to rhubarbs about a year and a half ago and it was lovely organic simple menu and we had a lovely time and experience. We went again today and had completely the opposite. First of all it took them ages to take our order, when we did we were told there was no cucumber and no whole meal baguettes which meant I had to change.

Then after about 30 mins we still had received any drinks, only for the waitress to ask if we had had them, looking angrily up at counter. We told we had ordered diet cokes and we were told they had run out of fizzy drinks even though people who came in after us obviously had ours.

Then after another 10 mins we were told they couldn't find our order and couldn't understand why we had waited so long, two tables had come in after us had order and received food. I got fed up and went to pay at counter, for our food to arrive.

There were other tables in the same situation, where they had to go up to the counter to order. The waitresses were not smartly dressed, in jeans and pumps with long hair and fake tan and seemed to just be chatting rather than concentrating on customer service.

It was trying to offer a pub menu, when it is clearly not a pub. Go back to what it was before a warm inviting simple menu done well.

Will not be going back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank amybird86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Vert tasty food & good portions”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

First time in St Ives and saw this small restaurant mainly because of the interesting menu and it had local fish and chips. Had a warm welcome and was seated quickly. We placed our order of 3 x Fish and Chips and 1 x Ham, Egg & Chips. Food came in good time. The cod was in a beer batter and was crisp and crunchy and very hot so was just cooked. The Ham meal was almost to big as was for my son. This was also very well presented. All in all will be recommending and will go back there. The cost for the 4 meals and drinks was around £30 so not bad at all for the good food. Will be going back next time in St Ives.

Was recently taken over and did not have card machine which would be good but cash point right opposite !!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edward T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rhubarbs also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing