We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sail Lofts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Sail Lofts
Certificate of Excellence
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This was our second stay at the Sail Lofts, three years ago my husband and I stayed in Island and this year we returned with friends (four couples in total) and we stayed in Beach and Surf. The location is perfect, the staff are so friendly and helpful and the apartments are amazing, so tastefully decorated, comfortable, clean and with everything you could possibly need. We have recommended the Sail Lofts to all our friends and family and will most definitely be going back. if you love St Ives, staying at the Sail Lofts is the icing on the cake!

Room Tip: Island is perfect for a couple or family but maybe not two couples as there is only one bathroom - a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
143
150
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2012

The Cottage has been beautifully decorated and well furnished with everything you require for a comfortable stay. The position, being a converted fisherman's cottage, is ideal, as it is a short walk from the beach and the centre of St. Ives. The service and attention to detail from the staff at the sail lofts made this a very pleasant and relaxing holiday.Another advantage was the use of a car-parking space on Beach Road which was only a short walk away.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights at Slipways and will be returning. The location is central and within easy walking distance of the beaches, shops and restuarants, but is quiet and peaceful too. The apartment has its own garage for parking too so no need to hunt around for places to park in St Ives. The staff (Sam and Kelly ) couldn't have been more helpful. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2323Apple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

The Sail Lofts are conveniently located within walking distance of the town and beaches. There is a public car park a short walk away, which charges £35 for 7 days parking. I believe that the Sail Lofts also have parking facilities, which are a little further away. We stayed for 7 nights in the "Beach", 3 bedroom apartment with a group of friends and all agreed that the apartment is truly stunning! The facilities were spotless and very well equipped. It has everything you would need for a self catering holiday.

The owner, Peter Hutchinson, was very helpful and gave us a tour of some of the other apartments, which were all as impressive as ours. I would gladly recommend the Sail Lofts as a perfect place for couples, families or a group of friends to stay in St Ives.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penshurst52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We were recommended these apartments and decided to stay whilst visiting for a close friends wedding. Genuinely these apartments are gorgeous, clean, beautifully designed and perfectly located. The staff at reception are warm and welcoming. The welcome gift of cream teas was a lovely treat. I discovered that the beds are the same as supplied to The Ritz, and you can tell! Probably the best night sleep we've had in ages.

Couldn't recommend them highly enough.

Paul and Jamie

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are to the same high standard, we stayed in the Slipway which had a great balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed in the 'Harbour' Apartment at Sail Lofts for 4 nights (Monday to Thursday). It was a last minute booking over the internet. The pictures of the apartment caught my eye and when we arrived we were far from dissappointed. The apartment was extremely clean, spacious and very stylish. The location was fantastic, just minutes from both the beach and the town centre. The staff at Sail Lofts were very friendly and helpful (nothing was too much trouble). Four nights was no where near long enoough to visit, cant wait to book our next trip!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

This was our third visit to The Sail Lofts and, once again, it didn't disappoint. We stayed in Ocean but have stayed in 2 other 4 bed apartments within the complex, which were equally good. The accomodation is so comfortable and convenient for Porthmeor beach. It didn't even matter that we had a couple of wet days because it was so pleasant relaxing in the appartment. We'll definitely be going back again soon!

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaP2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.8 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.6 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
900 reviews
0.6 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#8 of 21 in St Ives
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sail Lofts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sail Lofts

Property: The Sail Lofts
Address: Sail Lofts Porthmeor Road, St Ives TR26 1GB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 Speciality Lodging in St Ives
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sail Lofts 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moments from the ocean and offering the ultimate in laid-back luxury, Sail Lofts five star award-winning accommodation is a rare gem set on St Ives' coastal pinnacle, within the heart of the town's iconic Downalong area. With on site concierge, complimentary car parking and enviable location, the Sail Lofts apartments combine the ultimate in luxury and convenience with a unique personalised service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Sail Lofts Hotel St Ives
The Sail Lofts St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing