We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Porthmeor Cafe

Porthmeor Cafe
Ranked #8 of 144 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Seafood, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Kids, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Porthmeor Beach Café Bar is open daily from Easter to November and serving food from 9:00am to 9:30pm. With Australian chef Cameron Jennings at the helm, breakfasts are renowned and our tapas menu has an acclaimed reputation. Full drinks license so come and sip champagne on our terrace and watch the sun go down.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't miss this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Came across this by accident on a very wet lunchtime in St. Ives. Even though the weather was awful the setting was lovely and the view across the bay beautiful. My potted shrimp was delicious and everything we saw coming out of the kitchen looked good. Even though it was only 2pm followed my shrimps with a cream tea. Maybe a little more jam but only because there was so much cream, scones light and very fresh. If you visit St Ives don't miss this treat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,811 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,339
    368
    65
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous location, service ok, food good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

The best thing about P Cafe is its location, right on Porthmeor Beach, both indoor and outdoor seating and decor appropriate for the beach scene.

Nice place for a romantic sunset dinner. Nice touch with the glass of prosecco on the terrace before dinner.

Coffee is also very good especially after a session in the surf to warm up even when the water is at its warmest - its still chilly!

Well the food is OK, nothing special to be honest but perfectly enjoyable. Coffee is actually very good - did I say that once already but that was based on several visits.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cogarooni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worth all the rave reviews”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

We arrived here for lunch after reading so much about it - we were not disappointed! How amazing to enjoy lunch with the beautiful view of Porthmeor Beach as the setting. And what a menu - every dish we saw coming out of the kitchen was just a jaw dropper!

I ate the mussels which were absolutely incredible. I was practically licking the plate. We were there out of season so it wasn't open for dinner, but I'd like to go back and try out the dinner menu sometime. YUM - and great value too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank GinaMac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beach cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Very high quality beach cafe, right on Porthmeor, stay as long as you want. Loos clean, some tables right on the sand, nice coffee.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SueChrisCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good quality food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Very good standard of food which was presented really well. Staff were welcoming - very good service. We also ordered prosecco by the glass which was lovely. My top tip would be to go in the day / early evening so that you can see the beautiful view of the sea and beach - if you go at night you can't see outside because of the lighting. This is a top quality cafe'.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 95Sally95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Porthmeor Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Porthmeor Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing