We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view”

Porthmeor Beach Cafe
Ranked #8 of 144 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Porthmeor Beach Café Bar is open daily from Easter to November and serving food from 9:00am to 9:30pm. With Australian chef Cameron Jennings at the helm, breakfasts are renowned and our tapas menu has an acclaimed reputation. Full drinks license so come and sip champagne on our terrace and watch the sun go down.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great view”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Great view overlooking the beach, even if you're not sitting next to the window. It would be a great spot to watch the sunset too. Staff are friendly and always smiling, attentive service. Food are tasty with acceptable price. We had a great dinner here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yanice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,911 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,407
    390
    70
    27
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous tapas, stunning view!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Ate here on 31st July. The cafe is fantastically located above the beach, very light and airy, and has amazing views out to sea. All staff were very friendly and very attentive, without being irritating. We had a range of tapas dishes which were lovely. This was followed by churros and grilled banana desserts, also yummy! We also had some local cheeses to finish, again delicious! The wine list was varied, what we drank was lovely. When the bill arrived we were pleasantly surprised at the lower than expected cost. Our favourite in St ives has always been the Porthminster Beach Cafe but I think this might just have beaten it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

You can't ask for more: this unpretentious cafe/restaurant is right on the beach (the 'Tate' side of St.Ives). In the evening the sun sets across a sea dotted with evening surfers. Service is relaxed yet professional. Food is heavenly: great ingredients cooked well. The menu is amazing (it's online, take a look), the difficulty is knowing what to have. I chose the red prawn curry, butternut squash, green beans, steamed rice, flat bread...it was possibly the best I've ever eaten.

You can eat tapas-style or take a starter and main course. Plenty of options for vegetarians and gluten-free. They also do beautiful local cheese served with quince paste, pear and water crackers. Our kids had 'real' fish & chips, then ran down to the beach and left us in grown-up peace.

As part of the same set up is a juice bar, take-away cafe and surf school. If I had to stay on Porthmeor Beach for the rest of my life I would be happy!

Book ahead - we went in June and it was fully booked - we were lucky to get a cancellation.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frencheek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trusselle
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great tapas lunch”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Brilliant views, really lovely tapas and great wine - lovely! The service was attentive but not intrusive, and finished off with a coffee.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trusselle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIndhead
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“top spot for views”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We only stopped by for tapas and wine, but what a great spot. Perfect for watching the sun go down and great service. By the look of the other diners' plates, we wished we had time to go back for a proper dinner or lunch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Porthmeor Beach Cafe also viewed

 
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Been to Porthmeor Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing