We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Safe Gluten Free”

Becks Fish and Chips
Ranked #24 of 136 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$24
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Becks has expanded into a restaurant with bar and lounge area to complement the still thriving take-away. The restaurant area itself seats over 100 people. Becks does not take reservations, although notification of parties over 9 people is recommended. The main selling point and one of the major credentials is that Becks offer gluten free options. All types of fish (Cod, Haddock, Hake, Plaice), scampi and pizzas are available with this option. For customers choosing to sit in the restaurant there is also a range of desserts on offer that are gluten free. Becks is the only fish and chip shop in a 6 mile radius that offer gluten free products.
Reviewed 28 August 2019 via mobile

Fabulous choice of gluten free, with great cross contamination controls in place. My coeliac son had gf battered halloumi and a gf pizza (Venice bakery base). He said both were really nice. All the family enjoyed their food too. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,007)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 109 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2019

We had takeaway and looked on the internet for the menu. It was sat tea time and the queue out the door showed us it was popular. Order certain items as you walk in the door. Got good hot food. Haddock was lovely and the chips were good sized and fresh. Veggie options too. Good find in Carbis bay. They also have a restaurant.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank charlie_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2019

A bit of a wait for two, not too bad, and they were very friendly out front. I had the haddock. It was huge and very good. Chips and peas were right up there. Breaded shrimp was not so good so I would choose battered. The salad bar option (half chips) is a great idea but I don't think it should cost more.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rockriverbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2019 via mobile

Did the restaurant and really enjoyed the cod and chips. They are definitely the best .

Onion rings are really big and can be oily.

Really good staff and barman brilliant.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank bernardettep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2019

On arriving the host and front reception were really friendly, so we thought we had made a good choice. We ordered plaice and chips and haddock and chips, when the food arrived the chips looked like the dregs left over and the Plaice was a large lump of batter with tiny amount of fish. My wife haddock was only fraction better. I am shocked at how bad food was and relatively poor service they even bought the bill to the table that we did not ask for yet . Carbis Bay is let down by this poor family run established.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank happyhump00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Becks Fish and Chips also viewed

 
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Been to Becks Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.