We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Spotless, relaxing, with the best customer service....thank you'”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chy Conyn Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed 15 March 2011

In February I visited St Ives again with my daughter, son-in-law and their 5 month old baby. chy Conyn was ideal for our needs and we were made very welcome. Once the car was parked we could walk into the town or onto the beach soeasily. The breakfast was yummy and the lady who runs it a delight. can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H4HUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2010

My partner and I had had a lovely time at Chy Conyn, staying there for 3 nights for his birthday. The hosts provide complimentary biscuits and other treats from the local area, and restocked these each day. The breakfast was nice and there was an extremely relaxed and friendly atmosphere about the place which made us feel able to feel at home, even for a very short stay. It is uphill, which could be a bit much, but we felt that it added us getting to know a wider area than just the beach fronts. Definitely recommended for those looking to have a lovely time in St Ives when on a budget.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mississippi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

My boyfriend and I just got back from a four night stay at the Chy Conyn B&B in st Ives, we loved it there! Jessica and Adrian were wonderful hosts, their enthusiasm for St Ives and the b’n’b was contagious and we were immediately put at ease! nothing was too much trouble, Jessica helped us by looking up train times and even dropped us off at the station at the end of our stay. We stayed in room one which felt much bigger in real life than it looks in the photos as it also has a little hall and big bathroom which added lots of space. It was spotlessly clean! Felt fresh and airy with lovely decor! It even had a jacuzzi bath which we put to good use… unbelievable value, especially as you have free access to the gym and swimming pool just a short walk away. We found our room to be beautifully turned out each evening after a long day exploring St Ives! There were lots of luxurious little touches dotted around such as the organic paraben free toiletries in the bathroom and the mini bottles of local cornish freshly pressed apple juice on the breakfast buffet. St Ives beach and town centre was only a short walk away, We also visited Penzance, mousehole and Porthcurno by bus as we didn’t have a car, which actually simplified our stay! We saw quite a few people in a muddle on tight lanes in St Ives and mouse hole! Not having the car meant we didn’t have to worry about parking or having the odd glass of wine! Most buses run a late night service until about midnight! If your after a B&B in a great location with a relaxing atmosphere, super friendly hosts, value for money and a few added luxuries thrown in The Chy Conyn is definitely the place for you!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 01kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

My partner and I arrived early in the day for our 2 night stay but this was no problem for the very inviting owners. The couple who have been running their B&B since the beginning of the year were fantastic hosts and extremely friendly. Our room, although clean and smartly furnished, was on the small side, and with all of our luggage proved quite annoying. St Ives is about a 15 minute walk away downhill, so it's quite a gruelling walk back, however pleasant. For a stay this close to the centre with facilities at hand I think Chy Conyn is great value for money and extra touches such as access to DVDs and games, as well as the ringbinder with details you may want about your stay amde our experience that little bit nicer. The only thing I could really complain about was the parking, which was to the rear of the property, in which there's room for only 2 cars, when they cater for 3 rooms. during our stay all 3 rooms were booked up and this proved quite difficult, and would possibly prevent us staying here again since we have quite a large car. The couple did say they were hoping to apply for direct parking to the front which would improve things vastly, however I would recommend this B&B...

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank geordieamez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChyConyn, Owner at Chy Conyn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We have only just celebrated our first birthday as a bed and breakfast and within the first year alone we have made many changes. All our rooms now have under bed storage, to offer you more space for your luggage and we will also store your bags elsewhere once you have unpacked if you so wish. Although we still have 3 rooms we will no longer take 3 cars at the same time. Car parking spaces are now booked at the time of room booking at no extra change. More often than not at least one room will have travelled by train or we will direct them to near on road parking. We did start this last year but sadly already had a few 3 car bookings, which I believe you were one of. We love to receive feedback from our guests because without it we can’t improve. We hope to see you again sometime and that our new procedures will improve your next stay.
Best Wishes
Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

We stayed for a few nights in St Ives at this lovely B&B. The location is great, just outside St Ives (5 minute walk down the hill) with parking space at the back of the building. We had a such a friendly, warm welcome from Jessica and Adrian. Our room (no 1) was beautifully finished and had a separate shower room/bath/loo attached. Lovely bedding with loads of cushions and a new LCD TV. In room kettle with tea/coffee, biscuits, bottled water and choccies! Everything looked brand new. Really great breakfast with loads of choice including full English, cereals, fruit. Lots of detailed touches..lots of pale blue and white to get us in holiday/seaside mood. Very comfy bed. More like a mini 4 star hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PSB1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melse76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank RobiBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.5 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
978 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Engine Inn
The Engine Inn
#1 of 1 in Nancledra
134 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,735 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chy Conyn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy Conyn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 8 Ayr Terrace, St Ives TR26 1ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 30 Speciality Lodging in St Ives
Price Range: £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-run bed and breakfast, with a background in high end hospitality. We pride ourselves on the special touches, customer service and high standards of cleanliness. Free off road parking, free wireless broadband & all rooms en-suite. The beach & Tate Gallery beach only a 5 minute walk away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chy Conyn Bed And Breakfast
Chy Conyn Hotel St Ives
Chy Conyn Bed & Breakfast St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing