We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete Cornwall Convert!”
Review of Hawke's Point

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hawke's Point
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Went to St Ives for a weeks Holiday with my boyfriend for his 30th Birthday.
Never been to Cornwall and was convinced it was going to be boring; I could not have been more wrong!

We stayed in the Starboard 30 apartment and to be fair, it had the tiniest of sea views but that was completely made up for with the beautiful quality, cleanliness and tidiness of the apartment. Just beautiful. No little detail was overlooked, there was even kitchen scales and a muffin tin if you wanted to bake! We had bubbly and scones on arrival, which was a lovely little touch as well.

The apartment is in a beautiful location, and we travelled ALL over Cornwall in a week and truly nowhere is nicer than St Ives! (Maybe apart from the Eden project...but you can't stay there! Definitely worth the 50 minute drive if you get chance). Be prepared to walk, there is NO parking in St Ives, unless you want to take out a loan to pay and park at the Quayside. But you have secure parking at the apartment which is excellent, so you don't need to worry about your car :)

LOTS of hills! The coastal route past he hotel and into St Ives is lovely and a takes about 30 mins (Great leg work out!). The apartments are in such a central location you can get to most places with no fuss. Plus, the train station is 2 mins down the hill into St Ives or to Penzance! AND it costs buttons! :)

It's very easy to find the apartment, the correspondence before and after the stay was excellent. Cannot rate this place higher, great freedom to come and go as you please, eat, drink and relax in your own space.

The only tiniest tiniest downside is the lack of storage. Its fine for a weeks holiday as you dont take much with you, but this could easily be rectified by changing the base of the bed to have draws in.

This is the first review I've ever written on Trip Advisor, I read one about a hotel we had booked in Morocco last year (Saying it was rubbish) and didn't listen..HUGE MISTAKE.

Always.Trust.The.Reviews.

All in all, the holiday was brilliant and Hawkes Point made the holiday.

St Ives: Would move there if we could!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

Like other reviewers, we were very impressed with the location, décor, layout, furnishings and equipment in our apartment, which had a balcony overlooking Carbis Bay. Very friendly staff and owner got us off to an excellent start. Only a two minute downhill walk to the station to board the train for a charming three minute journey into St Ives. Don't take your car into St Ives unless you want to drive round and round its narrow one-way streets all day, dodging pedestrians. When the weather is fine - as it was for most of our week there - Carbis Bay is absolutely glorious and can rival anywhere in the Med. A memorable stay, and we'd heartily recommend Hawkes Point to anyone looking for top quality accommodation in an idyllic setting. One final thing. The soundproofing is excellent. We couldn't hear a peep from any neighbouring apartment even though the place was full.

Room Tip: Try for an apartment with a sea facing balcony.
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank johnandelaine12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

There was absolutely nothing to fault at HP! Everything from all my questions at enquiry stage to our early arrival was handled with professionalism and warmth.
The apartments are all beautifully furnished and a lot of thought has clearly been put into making it a real "home from home" ........... a very luxurious one I might add - Villeroy and B crockery and lovely REN toiletries!!
I am already planning a trip back - and we will definitely be staying at HP!
Full marks Sam and Charles ......... you have a winner on your hands!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LUJ1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed in apartment 19. Agree with Tony that everything was immaculate and luxurious. The sparkling wine was a wonderful welcome after a long days travelling. Lovely balcony to view St. Ives. The train close by to catch into St. Ives rather than take the car. A good base to see Cornwall. Nothing you could want for. I've already recommended it to Australians we met along the way who were travelling to St. Ives.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed in apartment 19. welcomed/greeted by Sam & CZ . In the beautiful room was Cornish Scones & wine. Apartment was immaculate, with all the top names in fittings and fixtures.

Great to just be left to enjoy the view after a long journey. Staff were so helpfull even before we got there. Felt cosy/safe behind the automatic gates.

Planned to eat out most nights in St-Ives or locally, but over our 4 days ended up staying in with fine dining from like Sainsbury's etc. Well with Vileray & Boch cutlery why not!
So close to like St Michael's mount or Penzance.

Just down the lane is Carberis Bay,and its great sandy beach, coastal walk to St Ives, just like being abroad. Train is an alternative few minutes to St Ives, or the lovely walk. this is proper 5*, not many places live up to this in our experience.

Tony & Julie

Room Tip: Check out their Facebook page, expensive some may say, but a bargain for what's on offer. Apartm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyWony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful stay in apartment 16. We were welcomed and shown around. There was a welcome Cornish tea and bottle of sparkling local wine. The rooms and fittings were of an excellent quality and everything worked.

If we are ever able to stay in Carbis Bay again, it will definitely be at Hawkes Point and if possible apartment 16

Stewart S

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The wife and I stayed in apartment 28 and were very pleased with level of comfort and the luxurious surroundings. The apartment was very clean and the furnishings were of a high quality.
The bathroom and kitchen fittings were to a very high standard, and the lounge was modern and very comfortable .It was very nice apartment to come back to after a day out in the sun as it was light and cool and had wonderful views over Carbis Bay. Only negative found the balcony a bit small, otherwise had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank J0anne1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
1.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
The Engine Inn
The Engine Inn
#1 of 1 in Nancledra
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.3 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
295 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawke's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawke's Point

Address: The Sands, Carbis Bay, St Ives TR26 2FG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Speciality Lodging in St Ives
Hotel Class:5 star — Hawke's Point 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Hawke`s Point Hotel St Ives
Hawke's Point St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing