We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Methodist Retreat that would like to be a hotel but doesn’t know how to do it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Treloyhan Manor Hotel
Ranked #74 of 101 St Ives B&B and Inns
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Methodist Retreat that would like to be a hotel but doesn’t know how to do it”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Treloyan Manor Hotel is a Methodist Retreat that would like to be a hotel but doesn’t know how to do it. I recently spent a week there with a group of walkers, using it as a base to walk part of the South West Coast Path. We got a reasonable rate for the week on a DBB + packed lunch basis in en suite rooms with a nice sea view. However:

o We decided to come down a night earlier and for the same rate found ourselves in one of 7 double rooms sharing one toilet and one bath/toilet, neither of which had a hand basin. 3 girls in our group found themselves sharing and others in the group with non-en-suites paid the same per head as those with en-suite facilities.
o Meals were at 6.30 p.m. preceded by grace. However, we had planned an arduous day’s walking on the Friday but, at 24 hours’ notice, the hotel rescheduled dinner to 6.00 p.m. to accommodate the concert they had been practicing for most of the week.
o The food was of a good quality and more vegetables were available on request, but the portions for hungry walkers were inadequate: 2” square pieces of fish and unbelievable small slivers of treacle tart.
o No TVs in the rooms, apparently because they were considered antisocial.
o Choir practice in the main open area OR possibly intense biblical debates in the only, adjoining lounge – that was our choice and not a very social one either
o If you are determined to stay there and are considering paying extra for the packed lunch pop up to Tescos for better quality at a fraction of the price (one of our group had salad sandwiches: 2 slices of brown bread, no spread, just lettuce, that’s all)
o Coffee shop and bar: no, you queue at reception with everyone else waiting for attention
o If, as most of us did each evening, you can handle the nearly 3 mile round trip and decide to escape to the much more convivial atmosphere of one of the friendly pubs in St Ives, take a torch. The path in the hotel grounds is largely unlit and, while we were there, had plenty of water filled holes to dodge
o Wireless internet connection actually worked in one or two of the rooms, but mostly we had to bring our laptops down to the reception area

I consider myself a Christian but this is the intense form that gives religion a bad name. I would not consider staying at this hotel again under any circumstances.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank SummitMCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kieran_treloyhan, General Manager at Treloyhan Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
I was delighted to hear you liked your sea view room here at Treloyhan and our very competitive rates, however I do feel the need to clarify a few of your points raised.
Treloyhan Manor Hotel is not a Methodist retreat but in fact a corporate Christian hotel recently awarded with industry accolades such as the nationally recognised Investors In People Award, CHEFS Gold Certificate for its food, and is also graded and listed with The St Ives Hotel & Guest House Association.
The room ratio you mention on the second floor for non-ensuite rooms is actually 2 rooms per bathroom, as you may not be aware we have some ensuite rooms on that floor who do not share the facilities.
We do attempt to inform all groups and individuals in advance that we currently have no TV's in rooms, and I regret that your group did not make you aware of this prior to your arrival.
Supermarkets pricing structures are obviously very differently to that of a hotel, and we make every effort to encourage any of our guests whilst they are here to make us aware of any problems during their stay that we may seek to rectify any issues immediately.
Our lit pathway to the main road adjacent to reception, is obviously the choice route we advise our guests to take after dark, as detailed in our guests information.
Regarding our WiFi connection, signal strength can vary throughout the building depending on individuals network provider, and the age and specification of their computer.
We do endeavour to operate transparently at all times, so as to avoid disappointment , and it is regretable that we did not meet with your expectations on this occasion, as all of our facilities and details are clearly listed and defined within our literature and on our website, that guests may make an informed decision before booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    75
    43
    28
    31
See reviews for
40
122
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Sitting atop a hill along the coastal route of St Ives this lovely hotel has wonderful sea views and a lovely, joyful staff to help with everything. Welcoming. Calm. Quiet. Very close to town without the extreme hustle and bustle, a perfect stay... so much so I'm set to stay again in 3 weeks time.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view... it does make the difference!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R0shanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kieran_treloyhan, General Manager at Treloyhan Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback, it was good to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, Devon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My boyfriend and I booked this on lastminute.com due to its location and the fact it was cheap. Little did we know, we were going to such an idealic hotel- it really is beautiful to look at. I was surprised to realise it is only a 3* but I think that comes from the hotel services rather than the actual building itself.

Our room was very, very spacious- perhaps a bit too spacious. We were, for some reason, placed into a family sized room which consisted of a double bed, a single bed and bunk beds. We are still not sure why we were given this room as the hotel was basically unoccupied when we stayed there but it was a lovely room nevertheless. Although something slightly more cosy and romantic would have suited us, it was clear that for a family of four or five, there would definitely be enough space for you all. The room was clean and tidy, and the double bed was soooo comfy! The ensuite was lovely, nice powerful shower, which is what we both like. It would see the bathroom had just been made over, it was very plush!

We only stayed a single night but were welcomed by the staff. Closing doors is 11pm but you are given a key if you are intending on coming back later. Despite not using the services, there is a television room, a pool area and many lounging areas. We experienced breakfast at the hotel and this was lovely. Very standard full English available of which we opted for, but there was also toast and cereal on offer. We found out towards the end of our meal that toast and tea and coffee were served by staff, but sadly, we were not asked if we wanted any so I had to ask them for a coffee. Full English is served right up until 9am closing time and was still hot.

There was a conference going on in the main reception area lounge when we walked in and perhaps this could have been closed off or located somewhere else but overall, it was a fabulous weekend away. It is close to the St Ives Bay and you can see the sea from the garden. There is also a lot of parking (if it is not too busy at the hotel)

The hotel is beautiful, in an ideallic setting with beautiful grounds. I would recommend going here for a short weekend break for couples or a longer stay for families.

Room Tip: Ask for a double and perhaps try and get something more cosy (if they give you this option) if it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bean070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kieran_treloyhan, General Manager at Treloyhan Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for your thoughtful comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Came back yesterday after having 2 comfortable nights in Treloyhan Manor Hotel, The hotel has got to be one of the cleanest hotels I have stayed in, We had a huge king size bed with white soft bedding in the biggest hotel bedroom ever. The Breakfast was great too with a wide selection of cereals, good selection of fruit juices, yogurt and fruit, then a buffet style hot breakfast. The hotel has beautiful views of the sea as well as stunning views of the well kept grounds. If you want a quality, cleanliness and comfort then you will not be disappointed, I will almost certainly be stopping again at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharron68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kieran_treloyhan, General Manager at Treloyhan Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write, and good to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon to Treloyhan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

My partner booked a night in this hotel at the weekend and what a beautiful hotel it is. We had a fantastic night and slept very well. I just thought it would only be fair to make potential visitors aware that it is a Christian hotel. There are no televisions in the rooms to encourage socialising with fellow Christians. I'm not religious and although this didn't bother me, it would have been nice to know about the hotel background before we arrived.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kieran_treloyhan, General Manager at Treloyhan Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback, and I was glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do openly list our details and amenities on our website as a reference for guests to look at prior to booking, and please accept my apologies that on this occasion our team did not make you aware of this, and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Stayed in the Hotel for New Year and can honestly say this is the cleanest hotel we have ever stayed at. The family room is amazing, the view from the room is great and the room was spotlessly clean, as was every room in the hotel.

Nice lay out of room and very very clean bathroom. The staff we very friendly and helpful nothing was to much trouble . Can highly recommend this hotel....

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojo1917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kieran_treloyhan, General Manager at Treloyhan Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback, and I was glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2011

my husband and i had a very peaceful holiday. many thanks to all staff who were very friendly and helpful. a special thankyou to margaret for being extra helpful when my husband felt to unwell to go down to tea.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suefraser969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.4 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
934 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Western Hotel
Western Hotel
#15 of 21 in St Ives
172 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Badger Inn
The Badger Inn
#28 of 101 in St Ives
322 reviews
0.8 mi away
Green Apple Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treloyhan Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treloyhan Manor Hotel

Property: Treloyhan Manor Hotel
Address: Treloyhan Manor Treloyhan PARK | St Ives, St Ives TR26 2AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Treloyhan Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treloyhan Manor stands in a magnificent position overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, on the edge of the picturesque seaside town of St. Ives.Built in the 19th century for the shipping magnate Sir Edward Hain, Treloyhan has accommodation for 100 guests and occupies a location which makes it ideal for families.St. Ives itself, once a fishing village, has long been a haven for artists attracted by the clear light, the quaint narrow streets leading down to the sea, and the magnificent views.Major road improvements now make St. Ives more easily accessible. Whether you prefer to travel by car, train, coach or simply fly, we can assist you with your transportation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Treloyhan Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treloyhan Manor Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing