We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveller rating
75
93
50
33
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
93
50
33
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews christian guild shared bathroom and toilet extensive gardens double ensuite room kippers lovely hotel carbis bay visited this hotel tea coffee min walk per night comfy bed walk into st ives poached eggs a lovely stay stunning location cooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
203 - 208 of 287 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Had a lovely stay with great views of Carbis Bay. Loved the stained glass window in the hallway of this once old home. Beautiful grounds and walks. Great value for money. They have good vego options for all meals.

Room Tip: If you get the rooms up stairs, but no lift, so be prepared for stair. Worth the climb as the views are great
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

booked via Booking.com as we always do for our annual St Ives trip and as there was no Tregenna Castle deals hit on this eleven times as we couldn't believe the price. All checked out briliantly, it is what it says on the tin, it is a Christian chain BUT they don't push anything at you and as long as you remember it is a "dry" Hotel its not as problem. Gorgeous HUGE room ok it had a single and bunk beds in it bit hey it is for sleeping and it helped fill the huge room. Brand new en-suite all worked well only tiny critiscm is the toilet is too close to the bath so had to sit sideways but that is really picky.
Staff very warm and welcoming beautiful gardens and stunning views, short walk down into St Ives for fab food and beer. Check out the other 4 great UK locations

Room Tip: sea views first floor to die for
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sga4359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Wow what a beautiful hotel with amazing views overlooking Caribs bay. Will definitely book this hotel again. It's a short stroll into St Ives town about ten minute walk . Our room was lovely very spacious and light . Breakfast was good and staff very friendly and helpful . This is a Christian hotel which we didn't know when we booked it , it didn't bother us at all as it's not thrust upon you.

Room Tip: We stayed in the superior double room which wasn't much more than the standard room, but the view was fabulous of the bay and our room was large and very nicely decorated.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We booked our stay at treloyhan as a very last min get away, was planning on just the one night but for £35 for a standard double room a night it seemed a shame not to book for the two. On arrival we checked in and had been upgraded to a premier double room at no extra cost, which was a pleasant surprise. What was even more of a surprise was how lovely the room was, clean and spacious with a sparkling en suite, and a big bay window overlooking the grounds and slightly out to sea. As mentioned in other reviews it is a Christian guild hotel, however we did not realise this at the time of booking, nor was it too obvious during our stay, and wasn't really an issue. However going it bed with the sound of people singing hymns and waking up the same the following morning was a novel experience. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. A short but Steep walk into the town. All in all it was a great stay, lovely characterful hotel in an ideal and accessible location. Would definitely recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A-c-hodgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fraser l, Public Relations Manager at Treloyhan Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you so very much for your kind words. yes £35 for a standard double room a night is a very good rate but at the early parts of the year we find we can do such offers. On arrival we will upgrade to a premier double room at no extra cost if we have the rooms available. The staff will love your feedback as they en-devour to exceed expectations. Hopefully we will see you again and please call us direct to book.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Before we booked this hotel we looked at reviews on here and was over the moon at the pictures and things people said. On arriving, yes it is breath taking from the outside, set in picturesque gardens. Once inside it was like stepping into an old convent. It was dark and oppressively decorated. I like traditional as well as modern but this was too traditional for me. There were crosses on the walls everywhere and then we was given our key.... It was like a maze trying to find our room and once found i was highly disappointed. Luckily we purchased our room on lastminute.com and so only paid £45 for it instead of the usual £90, which had i paid i wouldve been asking for a better room or a refund. Our room was exactly that, a box with a bed in it. There was no room to move. chipwood on the walls with a tiny window and paper thin walls. It was more like a cell than a room. I am sure from the pictures on here that they have lovely rooms if you are prepared to pay the price but as our room was originally supposed to be £90 i was expecting more than just a cardboard box. Lovely exterior and lovely staff who were very nice people but unfortunately thats not enough to make me want to stay here again. Considering the next night we stayed in the best western in Newquay and it cost us £35 with a much better room in a much nicer hotel. Sorry to the people that work here but be sure of what room you are actually getting when booking through booking.com or the like.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank key1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fraser l, Public Relations Manager at Treloyhan Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Hi...We do have in the vast majority great reviews that you can see and to get a review that was slightly below what we expect was a huge disappointment.The hotel is breath taking from the outside, set in picturesque gardens. We have very modern lounges that have recently been refurbished. We have some spectacular bedrooms that have been recently refurbished. And yes we do have some rooms that need to be brought up to a more modern standard. This is work in progress and is why we offer some rooms at greatly discounted rates. Even so we will upgrade were possible. We are so sorry that we didn't meet your expectations on this visit. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back to Treloyhan Manor and exceed your expectations with one of our many super bedrooms. Perhaps sample the fantastic food in our great restaurant. Many thanks for your open and honest review ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews