We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Treloyhan Manor Hotel
Ranked #83 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A lovely building with extensive gardens and in walking distance from the beaches and harbour of St Ives. Unfortunately our room did not have a sea view or garden view, just a brick wall with a jackdaw's nest in the chimney stack. The room was cleaned daily with clean towels when needed. The shower sometimes ran hot and cold and the decor needed updating. Reception was helpful but as there isn't a lift one has to carry suitcases up flights of stairs.
Breakfast was plentiful and varied and cooked on the premises. Food at dinner time was disappointing; chips were cold, roast potatoes hard and dry in the centre. We felt as if everything had come from the freezer and meat not cooked in the kitchen but bought in as prepacked and ready sliced. The fish menus were much better. Each day there was a choice of three, meat, fish and vegetarian.
The staff were helpful and guests very friendly.
We had an enjoyable week but the food offered must improve.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea/garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowdrop67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

Disappointed !!! When you first step in ,smells like a hospital or like a residential care for elderly.
Nice building ,historical but to be a hotel wants a really good renovation !!!
The receptionist was careless for new customers ,she asked only for payment and let our family to travell 2 floors upstairs ,two kids three baggages without elevator and no help!!!
The room was small,for family but fortunately clean.
Breakfast 7-9 in the morning ,:/ my god we were in Holliday ?!no room service ,no telephone in the room! We paid for bed and breakfast,next morning ,we went for breakfast and it was no table !!!!
They told us that we have to book a table !!!!
We got a table it wasn't clean ,the waitress take ages to clean and the table cloth was dirty!!
Check out was 10 in the morning,this is unfair for the customers ,many hotels do this but it's not logic for customers ,special when you ask to check in late!!
I don't recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank car0line_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fraser l, Guest Relations Manager at Treloyhan Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Hi. Anonymous ! Shame you didn't leave your name so we could check your booking and review was genuine. What you describe is not the super hotel that we have in st ives...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stayed for one night at the Treloyhan and am glad that's all. The parking was very limited. The bed was rather soft, and the water pressure was so low in the shower that I was almost unusable.
The room was cheap, which was its only saving grace.
The whole place is in need of thorough modernisation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PaulBury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Just what the title says.....it was a lovely/traditional Manor House, that had a nice homely, safe, welcoming feel about it.
The building looked so grand, & it was surrounded by lovely gardens & paths.
It had a comfortable/quiet Lounge area, a nice Dining Room, even a Library, & Billard Table room.
My room was an older/old fashioned style, but clean & comfortable, & felt safe.
I could walk down the hill, (past beautiful views of the sea and beach, & bay) into the heart of town, & all the cute Galleries, Cafes, shops, etc. (Only about a 10-15 min walk. Good exercise going back up the hill!)
I really enjoyed my stay, couldn't believe how affordable it was, & would definately stay again. :)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaireAzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

A very warm welcome from the receptionist was informed about everything, the room was very spacious and clean the bed was comfortable a good night sleep was had. Good wifi in the room, nice shower, good breakfast. Excellent views of the sea though not from my room or the breakfast room as the curtains were closed! It may be a little dated but it's in a good way sometimes over modern hotel's take away the character all in all a lovely hotel in a beautiful setting.
One more thing this hotel is run by a christian group but you don't get preached to! Lol

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Lovely old building, great views over St. Ives and some nice big grounds. Good breakfast and clean rooms, if a bit basic. Negative points are limited parking spaces (although that's St. Ives in general ) and one surly member of staff although everyone else there was very friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SvenShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Good value for basic room with grand public areas.
Very friendly staff.
Laundry facilities useful for wet walkers.
Beautiful grounds with lovely walk to St Ives.
Excellent vegetarian meals with huge portions.

Room Tip: Check how many people share the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benji4b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.4 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 20 in St Ives
965 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#10 of 20 in St Ives
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Beechwood House
Beechwood House
#18 of 20 in St Ives
76 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Western Hotel
Western Hotel
#15 of 20 in St Ives
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treloyhan Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treloyhan Manor Hotel

Address: Treloyhan Manor Treloyhan PARK | St Ives, St Ives TR26 2AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range: £70 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Treloyhan Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treloyhan Manor stands in a magnificent position overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, on the edge of the picturesque seaside town of St. Ives.Built in the 19th century for the shipping magnate Sir Edward Hain, Treloyhan has accommodation for 100 guests and occupies a location which makes it ideal for families.St. Ives itself, once a fishing village, has long been a haven for artists attracted by the clear light, the quaint narrow streets leading down to the sea, and the magnificent views.Major road improvements now make St. Ives more easily accessible. Whether you prefer to travel by car, train, coach or simply fly, we can assist you with your transportation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Treloyhan Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treloyhan Manor Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing