We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh Dear!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Treloyhan Manor Hotel
Ranked #81 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Corby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Oh Dear!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed here for three nights. Very disappointing hotel. We had a beautiful view out of our top floor room, but the room was very shabby and needing updating. Breakfast in the morning was buffet style, but having to order tea, coffee and toast. The staff were not in any hurry to serve you, never offered a top up of tea or toast. Didn't eat there in the evening so can't comment on the evening meals.
The grounds to the hotel are very pretty. Location to the town is good, but a very steep walk back up the hill to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DollyD100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    75
    43
    28
    32
See reviews for
40
122
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Normally, I am able to overlook the shortcomings of a hotel but there are no positives to this place. Our room had no shower and the whole place was in need of a major cleaning. Everything was extremely outdated, the pictures on our booking website showed modern finishings and stainless steel bathrooms, which I would be surprised to see. Very disappointed in my stay, pay more and receive what the pictures depict. DO NOT STAY HERE. This is not worth the price, if the option were available I would have taken a refund as soon as I walked in the lobby and stayed elsewhere. Also, the staff is unwilling to help with baggage and they charge extra if you pay for your booking on credit card. I can not stress enough, do not be fooled by the pictures, stay away!

Room Tip: Stay in a tent on the lawn
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Amber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Ives hotels

Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here for a week - didn't choose the hotel myself and it's certainly not one I'd normally stay in.

My single room was tiny, tired and with very dated furniture and furnishings. The bathroom was even smaller and the water pressure in the shower was extremely low. TVs in the rooms work well enough but lack of WIFI (or in fact, mobile signal!) is a big let down. As others have mentioned, there is also an odour of 'old people' around the building.

However, the place was absolutely spotless. I can honestly say I don't think I've ever stayed in such a clean hotel :)

Added to that, the staff were also polite and friendly throughout our stay.

The location is ok being about half way between Carbis Bay and St Ives and is only a ten minute walk downhill to the town (allow longer for the uphill walk back!)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonp820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was a comfortable enough hotel but there were shortcomings. I agree that there is a care home smell on the stairways, the breakfast was unimaginative with tinned peaches and grapefruit (adding to the care home feel!) and the drain in the shower was slow. The grounds are stunning as is the building itself and we couldn't fault the reception service. It has an old fashioned charm and a sense of tranquility but it could definitely do with some renovation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilleFerret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is a Christian Guild Hotel. Although we are not religious it looked good value for money and in a good location.
It turned out to be a good choice. It is a lovely old building with helpful receptionists and other staff. There is a large and attractive lounge, big enough to accommodate several sofas easily. The gardens are attractive and well maintained, sloping down towards the sea, maybe 3 or 4 minutes away. The garden path leads out directly onto the SW Coastpath. Turning left onto it, there is a 5 minute walk to the nearest beach and a further 5 minutes easy walking takes you past some nice restaurants to the town centre.
By the time we booked the en suite rooms were gone, although pictures we saw looked good. Our room was relatively basic but clean and comforftable. There were several bathrooms, all reasonable, although the shower in one was temperamental.
We passed on the breakfast offer but had dinner one evening. It was fine but given the amazing selection of restaurants in St Ives I would choose in future to eat out.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view and en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJH602014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A lovely building with extensive gardens and in walking distance from the beaches and harbour of St Ives. Unfortunately our room did not have a sea view or garden view, just a brick wall with a jackdaw's nest in the chimney stack. The room was cleaned daily with clean towels when needed. The shower sometimes ran hot and cold and the decor needed updating. Reception was helpful but as there isn't a lift one has to carry suitcases up flights of stairs.
Breakfast was plentiful and varied and cooked on the premises. Food at dinner time was disappointing; chips were cold, roast potatoes hard and dry in the centre. We felt as if everything had come from the freezer and meat not cooked in the kitchen but bought in as prepacked and ready sliced. The fish menus were much better. Each day there was a choice of three, meat, fish and vegetarian.
The staff were helpful and guests very friendly.
We had an enjoyable week but the food offered must improve.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea/garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowdrop67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Disappointed !!! When you first step in ,smells like a hospital or like a residential care for elderly.
Nice building ,historical but to be a hotel wants a really good renovation !!!
The receptionist was careless for new customers ,she asked only for payment and let our family to travell 2 floors upstairs ,two kids three baggages without elevator and no help!!!
The room was small,for family but fortunately clean.
Breakfast 7-9 in the morning ,:/ my god we were in Holliday ?!no room service ,no telephone in the room! We paid for bed and breakfast,next morning ,we went for breakfast and it was no table !!!!
They told us that we have to book a table !!!!
We got a table it wasn't clean ,the waitress take ages to clean and the table cloth was dirty!!
Check out was 10 in the morning,this is unfair for the customers ,many hotels do this but it's not logic for customers ,special when you ask to check in late!!
I don't recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank car0line_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fraser l, Guest Relations Manager at Treloyhan Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Hi. Anonymous ! Shame you didn't leave your name so we could check your booking and review was genuine. What you describe is not the super hotel that we have in st ives...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,661 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beechwood House
Beechwood House
#16 of 21 in St Ives
72 reviews
0.6 mi away
Western Hotel
Western Hotel
#15 of 21 in St Ives
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
619 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Badger Inn
The Badger Inn
#29 of 102 in St Ives
331 reviews
0.8 mi away
Poldhu Guest House
Poldhu Guest House
#94 of 102 in St Ives
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treloyhan Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treloyhan Manor Hotel

Property: Treloyhan Manor Hotel
Address: Treloyhan Manor Treloyhan PARK | St Ives, St Ives TR26 2AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Treloyhan Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treloyhan Manor stands in a magnificent position overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, on the edge of the picturesque seaside town of St. Ives.Built in the 19th century for the shipping magnate Sir Edward Hain, Treloyhan has accommodation for 100 guests and occupies a location which makes it ideal for families.St. Ives itself, once a fishing village, has long been a haven for artists attracted by the clear light, the quaint narrow streets leading down to the sea, and the magnificent views.Major road improvements now make St. Ives more easily accessible. Whether you prefer to travel by car, train, coach or simply fly, we can assist you with your transportation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Treloyhan Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treloyhan Manor Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing