We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St. Ives' best kept secret”
Review of The Keep

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Keep
Ranked #9 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2011

If you want to find the perfect hideaway, in a perfect little village, then go spend time in Mike and Carol Millward's charming 2 bedroom ensuite B&B, known as The Keep. It is located just behind the beachfront on a little tiny court, off The Digey, very close to the Tate Gallery in St. Ives, Cornwall. Our family stayed there two nights and would have stayed longer if we could have, because the hosts really went overboard to make our stay comfortable, welcoming and just plain enjoyable !! The rooms were so beautifully decorated and we shared a common lounge and dining room off our two separate ensuite bedrooms. The bathrooms were large and beautifully appointed with very new tile and great lighting detail on the bath mirrors. The beds were so comfortable and no detail was left out in appointing the rooms with functional but pretty art and decor. The nicest thing was that it was so quiet you could really imagine yourself on a boat on the ocean, being that the rooms are tucked away in a former pilchard storeroom basement; and yet, we thought we had found the best kept secret in St. Ives. The breakfasts were marvelous, with maple syrup and berry pancakes one morning and scrambled eggs and smoked salmon the next morning. We travelled on through Wales and Scotland and other areas of the UK, but The Keep stands out as our favorite hideaway !!! Thanks to our gracious hosts, Carol and Mike, you know we'll be back !!! Wendy, Paul and Robert Condrat.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheCondrats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
There are newer reviews for The Keep
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2011

This place is just wonderful! I booked a Cornish holiday for my parents visiting from Australia for a week and wished we had stayed here the entire time. My parents took one room and my partner and I the other and it honestly felt like our own little home in St Ives. Carol and Mike are lovely people, always ensuring we were comfortable and made the most delicious breakfasts - I will also throw my hat in the ring and say the pancakes are to die for!

They also had some great tips of places to visit and things to do in St Ives and as a result, we had a fantastic experience at a restaurant they recommended.

I would recommend this sweet little getaway, in the heart of St Ives, to absolutely anyone. My partner and I will definitely be back and I will recommend The Keep to any of my friends visiting Cornwall.

Thanks so much Mike and Carol!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaptainTen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Our second visit and Carol and Mike welcomed us back like friends rather than paying guests.
The rooms were immaculately clean and comfortable. The decor still makes us feel like we're in the lap of luxury.
Breakfasts set us up for the day ahead- we loved the pancakes with berries and Cornish clotted cream. What a treat! Mike told us all about how they had refined their lovely cooked breakfast.
Carol had amazingly remembered that I liked reading and told me about the St Ives Literary Festival taking place (went to one event).
Our sister from Scotland visiting with us was also very impressed and loved chatting to Carol.
To us it's a 5 star B and B and we will definitely be back in the autumn.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teatowel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

This was my first visit to Cornwall and The Keep was the perfect base. Carol and Mike are the perfect hosts, there if you need anything but leave you to have your own space as well. The breakfasts were fantastic every day...even the legendary pancakes! The only disadvantage was the lack of parking nearby but this is a trait of St Ives rather than this particular b&b. We paid £30 for a weeks parking at the car park on the top of the hill and it was some trek uphill every day to get to the car. I loved Cornwall and we hope to return soon and will definitely be going back to The Keep when we do.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shona1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in the Mermaid room. It was spotlessly clean and the bathroom was beautiful - contempory and stylish with a great shower. The bed was comfy, Carol and Mike were warm and welcoming hosts and the breakfasts were good quality and tasty. Location is great...less than a minute from both the beach and the shops. We would definitely return and have already recommended it to family and friends!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ecky11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Thanks, Carol and Mike.
You and your hints on places to go to or to eat at made our stay at your beautifully renovated B&B a very special one. The breakfasts are unforgettable, especially the pancakes. We have already recommended the Keep to lots of friends and will certainly come back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank epaulick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

From the moment that Carol emailed the confirmation of our stay, her warm personality shone through! The Keep is a beautifully renovated property in the heart of St Ives with rooms that are luxurious and sympathetically designed. We stayed for one night in the Pilchard Press and the room was comparable to any top class hotel I have stayed in. Carol and Mike couldn't have been more accommodating and welcomed us into their home. The breakfast was beautifully presented and tasted wonderful.

We were sorry to leave and hope to return very soon. Thanks Carol and Mike!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minty44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.5 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 20 in St Ives
2,694 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 20 in St Ives
985 reviews
1.5 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
774 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 20 in St Ives
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keep

Address: 6 Hicks Court, St Ives TR26 1HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range: £81 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE KEEP B&B occupies a unique, central position tucked away in the heart of coastal St Ives, only a few yards from Porthmeor Beach and the Harbour, The Tate, and the town itself. With no passing traffic at all, THE KEEP, a recently converted 16th Century Pilchard factory, offers a rare sense of peace and quiet, although the many amenities, restaurants and coastal walks are right on our doorstep. We provide a tasteful and relaxing bolthole exclusively for one couple, with sole use of a comfortable dining/living room. Visit us for a romantic stay in the Pilchard Press room, with KS four poster bed, generous storage, large flat-screen TV and spacious drench-shower en-suite. Enjoy a delicious locally-sourced breakfast in what used to be the central, now glass topped, courtyard, then step outside and explore. (NB For two couples travelling together, or two singles wanting separate rooms, we can offer a second bedroom on request.) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Keep St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing