We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm welcome, cool decor, outstanding breakfasts....”
Review of The Keep

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Keep
Ranked #5 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, cool decor, outstanding breakfasts....”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

There's a host of glowing reviews for The Keep and in my opinion they are all on the money.
Mike and Carol have obviously put a lot of work into making The Keep a five-star brand that can hold its own beside boutique hotels. While it only has two bedrooms The Keep, which at first glance seems tiny, opens up Tardis-like into a light-filled lounge via a most substantial front door... fitted with another, smaller inset door with a high sill.
The 'boat' door isn't used but it does make one wonder... as do many of the quirky features that give a very cool interior that could easily have been clinical bags of character.
If a lot of time, effort and attention to detail had been lavished on The Keep it is consistent with the way Mike and Carol look after their guests: VERY highly recommended. We literally couldn't have wished for better.

Room Tip: If you are staying for longer than a couple of nights or you just need space to relax, go for the Pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
221
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had a couple of days with Mike and Carol . A bolt hole of tranquility In the center of town but so quiet . Shame about the parking but this is a small price to pay . The warm welcome and the quality of the rooms are first class . Nothing is too much trouble .We will return to The Keep again when we can even it,s just for the fabulous breakfasts !!!! Well worth staying here . .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DevonPirates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Thank you so much to Carol and Mike for our delightful stay at your beautiful B&B in St Ives. We arrived to a very warm welcome and a beautiful room. We slept extremely well as the bed was so comfortable and breakfast was just so delicious. We had a fantastic day and can't commend Carol and Mike and a stay at "the Keep" enough. We will certainly return.

Thank you so much for our stay and for being such outstanding hosts. We really felt at home.
Natasha and Ollie - June 2014

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Returned to The Keep this May and had another fantastic stay. Great location, lovely room and Carol and Mike are perfect hosts. The breakfast is delicious and Carol and Mike go to great lengths to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible. Highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in this lovely little place. Carol and Mike were perfect hosts, even when a family emergency had to cut our trip short. Rooms are modern and well maintained. Felt like we had been welcomed in to a friends home rather than guests in a bed and breakfast. Will definitely visit again and recommend highly to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jubone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York North yorkshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Home from home comfort. Beautiful immaculate room, bed so very comfy, linen and towels of lovely quality, Mike and Carole are lovely genuine hosts offering exceptional breakfast. Excellent location, tucked away therefore very quite hence a fantastic nights sleep. Would have loved to have stayed longer but needed to move on as walking the SWCP.

Room Tip: You WILL NOT be disappointed if you choose to stay with Mike & Carole
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMK60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Spent two nights at The Keep to attend Wedding in St.Ives. Gem of a place as a minute to Porthmeor Beach & 2 mins to the shops. Parked at Island car park. Carol & Mike perfect hosts, friendly yet discreet! Soooo tasteful & immaculate! Will come for longer next time. Thank you

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank phil_grummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.5 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
West by Five Guest House
West by Five Guest House
#2 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keep

Property: The Keep
Address: 6 Hicks Court, St Ives TR26 1HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE KEEP B&B occupies a unique, central position tucked away in the heart of coastal St Ives, only a few yards from Porthmeor Beach and the Harbour, The Tate, and the town itself. With no passing traffic at all, THE KEEP, a recently converted 16th Century Pilchard factory, offers a rare sense of peace and quiet, although the many amenities, restaurants and coastal walks are right on our doorstep. We provide a tasteful and relaxing bolthole exclusively for one couple, with sole use of a comfortable dining/living room. Visit us for a romantic stay in the Pilchard Press room, with KS four poster bed, generous storage, large flat-screen TV and spacious drench-shower en-suite. Enjoy a delicious locally-sourced breakfast in what used to be the central, now glass topped, courtyard, then step outside and explore. (NB For two couples travelling together, or two singles wanting separate rooms, we can offer a second bedroom on request.) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Keep St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing