We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful time in a wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carlyon Guest House
Ranked #91 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 July 2011

my stay at the carlyon guest house was a very nice one the welcome from the manager wayne was nice and pleasent he even took my bags to my room and anwsered all my questions about the town the room had wonderful view of the sea and the beach which was a delight to wake up to and the room was very comfortable and meet every expertation of a nice cosy bed and breakfast the breakfast in the morning was lovely and was served with a smile all the staff at the carlyon guest house really made my stay a wonderful time and i will surely come and stay here again very soon

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jlillicrapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for Carlyon Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2011

We stayed one night with breakfast in the effort to give the Carlyon a chance; however we did check out early after one day and night because it wasn't the experience that we were expecting. As holidays are precious we decided to look for alternative accommodation.

Below is a list of things that we found displeasing at the Carlyon:

* The initial welcome was very hostile and cold

* The entrance area appeared uninviting as they were in the process of cleaning the rooms (which consisted of throwing the laundry down the stairs)

* The double room (on the half landing) was dark as the only windows were skylights (one in the bathroom and one in the bedroom area), the furniture was a collection of odd pieces and the layout of the room was awkward and it was difficult to get ready in. The bed/mattress was of poor quality, it seemed small and it was very uncomfortable and creaked. There was also a large gap under the door which we had to put a towel in front of during the night. The towels were old and discoloured. The kettle was placed on the desk and was nowhere near a plug socket, so we had to put the kettle on the floor in order to use it. The floor was dusty & dirty and under the bed wasn't equally as dirty. The bathroom had carpet on the floor, which had stains on it - in my personal opinion this is a very unhygienic choice of floor covering for a bathroom, especially in a B&B with a high turnover of people. The sink had dead flies and hairs in the bowl, which we had to rinse out. The bath had a whirlpool feature; however the crevasses looked like they hadn't been cleaned in a while. The shower head was dirty with black slime and lime scale.

* The single room did have a sea view, however other things were a distraction. The floor / carpet was uneven and could be a possible trip hazard. The fittings and furniture were really tired and dated. There were thin blinds in the bay window, however it seemed that this was more of a decorative feature as they did not deflect the light or heat. The toilet was separate, however when in use it was virtually impossible to close the door due to lack of space. Again, generally cleanliness needs some attention.

*The breakfast room was uninviting and was too enclosed, the atmosphere was terrible as the tables were pushed together too much to accommodate all guests. However, there was a family that couldn't sit together due to the layout, which is a reflection to the lack of thought and care provided by the hosts. If we had been 10mins later we wouldn't have been able to sit together. The quality of the breakfast was simply appalling; everything was of poor quality and was obviously the cheapest products available. The cereal boxes were empty, no milk - until we asked for some. The menu was too restrictive and offered no flexibly.

After a night and evening of the 'Carlyon experience' we decided to look for alternative accommodation. The breakfast pots were still on the tables, so no one had been back since then, which is poor to say the least. When we were moving our luggage there were large piles of laundry in the doorway so we had to negotiate our way around them and lift our cases over the top, which is a hazard.

Fortunately The Rookery (a few doors down - please read my full review for further details) was able to offer us some ideal accommodation, the rooms, service and breakfast was a world apart from our experience at the Carlyon. Our holiday was transformed after we changed accommodation.

I hope this review is helful as I wouldn't ant another family to waste precious holiday time looking for alternative accomodation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michelle2701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlyonGuestHouse, Manager at Carlyon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2011

These guest did not stay with us and we believe this is a bad review from our competitors at a near by guest house that is mentioned in the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Where do I start? Wanted to book an overnight stay in St Ives and rang so many places that were all booked, but this was free( now I know why!) it was quite frankly hiddeous. The guy said he'd take cases to our room, but left them down bottom of a steep staircase ( not ideal for a family room)so we
had to climb up with a baby and toddler plus cases. Got to room to find dirty, crisp packets under bed, tiny old towels, fowl smell in bathroom, no view ( if you can call roof tops a view?) cables hanging. Just very very grim and depressing. We instantly regretted choosing hotel. Stayed out as late as possible to avoid returning ( not a good sign!) fell asleep and woke up to a racket of noisy seagulls at 2am (what devil birds are awake at that time?!) them again at 3am to a horrible smell which I realised was my pillow which I promptly chucked on floor, the light under big gap in door also kept me awake, woke again at 5.30 to a piercing scream , which was the fire alarm that lasted 15 mins (no fire though???) no staff to contact in building, needless to say we left without trying breakfast. The thought of eating breakfast in a building that smells like am unwashed tramp would have topped off the whole horrible experience. Please avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steph1cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

The sea views and location above the station are great. The rooms were OK but the blinds were so thin they were hardly worth having. It was very noisy and too light to sleep from sunrise. The breakfasts were OK but not great and the service could have been much better. The staff were friendly especially the housekeeper who was very helpful but at times we felt that we were in the way especially as dirty sheets and towels were piled up on the narrow stairs outside our room before we were due to check out. One day bales of linen were left piled up in the front porch blocking the entrance and actually needing us to clamber over them all day and were still there we came in at 10pm. Not one we'll return to I'm afraid.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dunroamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlyonGuestHouse, Manager at Carlyon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2011

During this ladies stay no complaint was made until the last night. At that point the guest complained saying the blinds in the rooms where letting the light in and waking her up.
As we are directly facing the beach and sea very few guest actaully close there blinds and block the beautiful views out, But en order to assist the guest i personnally went and purchased her a sleeping eye mask.
The next morning the guest was very thankful that we could help her out like that.
We will always go the extra mile to assist guests So we cant understand this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We had the best time at carlyon in st Ives! Everything was great! Breakfast was cracking and Wayne the manager of the guesthouse was so much fun he made our holiday! Great position for the guesthouse too only a small hop to the beach and town! Were def going back again soon it was amazing! Would def recommend carlyon to anyone planning a trip to lovely st Ives! 10/10

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charity L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

I'm so glad we stayed at the Carlyon. On arrival Wayne made us feel so welcome, the room was lovely not massive but the views were out of this world. The breakfast served was great and what a choice to choose from. We also had an evening meal which was an added advantage. We have stayed here before and thought it had defiantly improved as now has evening meals, guest lounge and bar. Will Deffo return again.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank devonholidaymaker3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Great location, but lack of effort, "family" room had no curtains, so had to resort to putting up towels to block out light, bed was creeky. So much potential but....

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BLK82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlyonGuestHouse, Manager at Carlyon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2011

All our rooms have either curtains or blinds

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
Western Hotel
Western Hotel
#15 of 20 in St Ives
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 20 in St Ives
958 reviews
0.3 mi away
Poldhu Guest House
Poldhu Guest House
#87 of 102 in St Ives
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Golden Hind Guest House
Golden Hind Guest House
#54 of 102 in St Ives
65 reviews
1.5 mi away
Downsfield
Downsfield
#5 of 7 in Carbis Bay
103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carlill
Carlill
#41 of 102 in St Ives
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlyon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlyon Guest House

Address: 18, The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range: £84 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlyon Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small friendly guesthouse in St Ives with most rooms having bay windows with stunning sea, beach and coastal views. We have single, double, twin and family rooms and they are all en-suite with TV, towels and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Carlyon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyon Guest House St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing