We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carlyon Guest House
Ranked #92 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
DEVON
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Has a solo traveller i found it hard finding places who dont charge a supplement and dont chuck
you in the back of beyond, thats why i would stay here again had a fantastic room overlooking the sea which made a change breakfast great couldent do enough for me cant wait to come back again rail station only a 5 minute walk away so no need 2 get a taxi.

Room Tip: If you are on ur own ask for room 3 but if you struggle to climb stairs this room is not for you has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DEVONPANTHER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    18
    17
    14
    13
See reviews for
24
36
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I read the reviews on this place prior to booking and had mixed thoughts however, are we glad we booked! There is a tiny bit of road noise, far outweighed by the sound of the Atlantic meeting the beach, just across the road. The views from the front facing rooms are comparable with the best 'rooms with a view' that you will ever find. The gent who runs the guest house was really helpful, accommodating an early arrival and parking. The front facing rooms are small but if you tidy all your bags away, then it was fine. In all, a great little place, very clean and very welcoming. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryanontwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlyonGuestHouse, Manager at Carlyon Guest House, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for this lovely review, We would love to have you back with us again!

Kind Regards

William Anderson Smith
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over Dec/new year period, heard all about new years eve in St Ives, fantatic .
Will the manager was very helpful and made the stay enjoyable and couldnt do enough for us, the breakfast was fantastic too, sorry we didnt get the nice ladys name who we chatted to.
The view from our room 1A was fantastic, beach view.
Enjoyed it so much we booked for the next years eve.
Apparently the guest house is having refubishments this year, so can only get even better.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LordandLady69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London Town
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We went there as a family of four for 4 nights on Boxing day. The first impression was that our rooms were cramped. Not much room to move, not enough room for decent storage of clothes. The beds were comfortable enough but I found it hard to sleep because the noise travels. There is a serious broken gutter so if it rains, it is really noisy. The blinds are inadequate to keep out light. I couldn't get the TV to work, though that didn't bother us as it's not high on our agenda. The toilet didn't flush very well. The shower head needed cleaning. The breakfast was well intentioned, but evidently not from an experienced cook, and we didn't really enjoy it. These all sound really negative, and if they read this, I hope they can address these issues because the people are really nice, helpful and friendly, and the location is fantastic. Overall, if I'd paid half the price I would shrug off the negatives, but in my opinion they just need to address a few details to get a 5 star rating

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveYeates Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Ives hotels

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We liked how close it was to the station and that it was only a short walk down the hill to everything in the town. The manager William was very friendly and welcoming, breakfast was delicious, and he made us bacon sandwiches to take with us because we were leaving and didn't have time for a full breakfast was great!! Highly recommend this guest house. Our room was lovely, comfy bed and the sea views were awesome. Will definitely stay here again.”

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Had a lovely time at this guest house with my kids, we had room 6 which was nice and big plenty of room for the 3 of us, breakfast was very nice and the young lady who served it to us was just a star, the room was cold to start but after speaking to William the manager he sorted us a heater out and some extra blankets. all in all a very nice guest house and only 2 mins away from the beach and town.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My Partner and I stay at the Carlyon Guest House for 3 Nights in room 1A. Well what can I say " What a view from our room WOW!!" the room was nice and had every think that we needed. the staff are very nice and the young man who looked to be the manager was very helpful, helping us with our very big bags to our room and advising us where to go and eat and trips out, didn't get his name but hope he see this review. I will be returning here as a had a fab time away just wished that our stay was longer with you. I had a quick peek at the review before coming here and the bad reviews I would take no notices as a perfect get away B&B!!

Room Tip: Room 1A had a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
Western Hotel
Western Hotel
#15 of 21 in St Ives
175 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
620 reviews
0.3 mi away
Poldhu Guest House
Poldhu Guest House
#94 of 102 in St Ives
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Golden Hind Guest House
Golden Hind Guest House
#54 of 102 in St Ives
65 reviews
1.6 mi away
Downsfield
Downsfield
#5 of 7 in Carbis Bay
95 reviews
1.0 mi away
Count House Cottage B&B
Count House Cottage B&B
#1 of 7 in Carbis Bay
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlyon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlyon Guest House

Property: Carlyon Guest House
Address: 18, The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlyon Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small friendly guesthouse in St Ives with most rooms having bay windows with stunning sea, beach and coastal views. We have single, double, twin and family rooms and they are all en-suite with TV, towels and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Carlyon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyon Guest House St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing