We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hepworth museum and part of Tate St Ives” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barbara Hepworth Museum and Sculpture Garden

Barbara Hepworth Museum and Sculpture Garden
Ranked #5 of 55 things to do in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Designed by Barbara Hepworth, one of Britain's leading abstract artists, this picturesque garden holds a collection of her sculpture. Last admission 17.00
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Hepworth museum and part of Tate St Ives”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

I love this museum and never get tired of going. It is just as if Barbara Hepworth just walked out for a while. He work coats and tools are left just as she left them. The garden is so peaceful and dotted with her famous sculptures. It is part of Tate St Ives so you can buy a reduced ticket that lets you into both museums. For art lovers well worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SueM54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    616
    235
    51
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

I think there's something special about this place - that fact that the artist lived, worked and died here somehow gives the exhibits and the venue an extra dimension.

It's also a perfect and intimate size for an exhibition.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank R0binsRule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
234 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Difficult to fully appreciate the place when children having an educational visit overwhelm the place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

As other reviewers have said the place is small which makes it difficult to appreciate if children having a visit with teachers are not that well controlled. When we visited there was a small group - probably not more than 12 children, who were downstairs in the reception area, upstairs in the studio as well outside in the small garden. I feel a tad curmudgeonly saying this, as I fully appreciate that children should be introduced to such places as part of their education, and one should not expect them to be totally silent. Nonetheless I did feel that after paying £6 for what is a relatively small attraction that the visit could not be fully appreciated because of their presence. I only went out into the garden briefly, and then retreated indoors again as any idea of sitting peacefully in such a haven was not going to happen due to them jumping around the place. So if you are visiting particularly if you are a real fan of Hepworth it might be worth making enquiries as to when school trips are planned that day. It was interesting however, and I am glad we went. Though I would agree with a previous reviewer who has said that more information about each sculpture would be a good idea. The person on the door working upstairs was helpful though and added to my knowledge. He was not at all precious and was able to deal with my utter ignorance such as asking if she was still alive. (how idiotic to ask such a question about a well known sculptor who has been dead since 1975!). I particularly took to the small sculpture on top of the table which was there in the studio when the fire that killed her broke out and which remains unscathed) This small sculpture is made out of marble and is titled 'People Waiting'. It is apparently (so I was told by the helpful young man upstairs) based on a drawing of hers of people in St Mark's Square (again a good idea to have information actually written there which tells you this)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank annemarie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Small but beautiful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Worth a look whilst you are here but only a small house and garden giving you a taste of Barbara Hepworth's life and work. Visited the Tate on a joint ticket to save a little cash.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Very interesting to see how one of best sculptress lived and worked. To see and enjoy her works in her own home just makes that special something.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MissPushkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barbara Hepworth Museum and Sculpture Garden also viewed

 

Been to Barbara Hepworth Museum and Sculpture Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing