We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would be better if we had our dogs with us”
Review of Porthmeor Beach

Ranked #2 of 58 things to do in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This half-mile-long beach with firm sands is a popular recreational area around St. Ives, where all amenities are available, including beach chalets.
Darwen, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Would be better if we had our dogs with us”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

As a regular visitor to St Ives I have been left totally bemused by the 6 month dog ban on this and other beaches that has been implemented 24 hours a day. Sure I can see the sense of asking owners to keep their dogs off the beach during the day in the busy holiday period. To be honest most responsible owners would do this anyway out of respect to their dog as it can get really packed. But to have a ban on walking the beach with your dog in the evening or early mornings seems completely bonkers. Visitors come to St Ives to visit the beaches! And to be told they can't go on four of the main tourist beaches for six months of the year seems a nonsense! Especially during the inclement weather... often the only people on the beach and therefore spending their money at the cafes during bad weather are the hardy dog-owning folk and their pets...Some say its because of safety to children....well this dog owner has three children and a dog....are you seriously suggesting that because my dog lives in close proximity to children they are in danger of disease etc every day of their lives? Come on St Ives lets get this into perspective and some more realistic none-dog time before visitors go elsewhere!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    703
    197
    23
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice and clean”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

A lovely sandy beach which is very clean and has a coveted 'blue flag' status. There are a couple of cafes nearby where drinks and snacks are available.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Get the weather and its Heaven in earth”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I have been visiting Porthmeor Beach since I was a nipper in the mid 1950's and have happy memories of annual visits over MANY years, everlasting summer days with "annual friends" that we met there year after year, and later with my own children and now my grandchildren love it there - yup it's changed, no green changing tents or deck chair men but its still good - spent most of a day there yesterday - brilliant sunny day, crystal clear light, rising tide with super surf and a Ferrells pasty followed by a saffron bun. One more can one want - heaven!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank johnwetherill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Some lazy dog owners have ruined it for everyone”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

A lovely beach, but sadly some dog owners don't clean up after their dogs.

It's similar story for all the beaches in St Ives, even those where dogs are supposedly banned. We saw number of owners misusing the beaches which was a real shame as they'd be wonderful if it wasn't for the irresponsible dog owners.

Otherwise the beach is lovely wih great views and worth a visit if you don't mind wayching where you step.

Helpful?
2 Thank StuBud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best for sunsets”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Surfing beach. Sun sets over this horizon. All beaches in St Ives are good but all a bit different. Tapas beach restaurant here. Surfing lessons available.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lesleyhally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Porthmeor Beach also viewed

 
Carbis Bay, St Ives
 

Been to Porthmeor Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing