We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”
Review of Halwell Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Halwell Lodge
Ranked #17 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a find!”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed at Halwell Lodge for three nights in August and found everything to be 'spot on'. Eleanor and Peter are such good hosts; our warm welcome was given at a time when they were already serving several guests with an evening meal! Lovely room and super breakfasts one of which was served in the conservatory overlooking the large garden. Would recommend without question. A tip for a visit to St. Ives; take the train from Lelant Saltings station.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisZ2725QF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
79
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed here at the end of July for 2 nights and Eleanor & Peter could not have been more welcoming. The house itself is lovely and really did feel like home away from home. The room was spotless, cosy and quiet. Breakfast was good, and a nice way to start the day. The overall atmosphere was pleasant and we would definitely visit again and would not hesitant to recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eleanor D, Owner at Halwell Lodge, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Hi Rob we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and "will visit again". We will look forward to seeing you both again! Enjoy the rest of the summer. Kind regards Eleanor and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed there in July and would definitely recommend staying there, very friendly and a lovely location.The room was very clean, comfortable and modern well furnished, with fresh flowers. The B&B is bigger on the inside than it looks from the web site, nice big conservatoire and breakfast room to relax in, with a big garden. Breakfast was excellent, full English and very good rage of continental, serials and fruits, There is a very good big beach with lifeguards within 10 mins walk, also you can easily get into the St Ives using a local train within 10 mins.

We will definitely stay there again when we go back to St Ives.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eleanor D, Owner at Halwell Lodge, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Hi Neil, Thanks so much for your very kind words! We love the photos particularly the ones of our beach. Peter and I hope to see you again one day.

All the best for a lovely summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

After a desperate search for a room in St Ives we stumbled across Halwell and Eleanor & her husband could not have been more welcoming. The house is lovely, with a beautiful garden which we were invited to use. Our room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable, the bed one of the most comfortable I have slept in. Halwell is only a five minute walk from the Lelant train stop at which you can jump onto the train going straight into St Ives. As a result you get all the convenience of being close to St Ives without having to battle through masses of people and fight for a parking space! Breakfast was gorgeous, all cooked to order and delicious. Recommended.

Room Tip: we stayed on the ground floor, first room on the left - I think this is room 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eleanor D, Owner at Halwell Lodge, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Emma Thanks so much! It was a pleasure! Enjoy your summer holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We chose Halwell Lodge for our first visit to Cornwall because we liked the look of this B&B from the website, and because it is so well placed for trips to St Ives and other delights towards Land's End. For the first time, we left the car at home and having arrived by rail, we travelled locally by bus (mostly the super open top 300) and the St Erth - St Ives Scenic Railway. Halwell is just a few minutes from the bus stop on Fore Street, and also close to Lelant Saltings train station.
Our hosts were very welcoming, paying attention to small details which made our stay very special. Our room was beautifully clean and freshly decorated, with views across the tidal Hale Estuary. We had the most comfortable bed - the best 4 nights' sleep ever. Breakfast was delicious with many choices. Whatever you chose, don't miss the fresh fruit salad and we also recommend a home made evening meal !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susewilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eleanor D, Owner at Halwell Lodge, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind words! We are delighted that you had the opportunity to see Cornwall at its best. The weather has deteriorated for the moment but hopefully will improve soon allowing us to take that 'open top' bus ride! Best wishes Eleanor and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We had a lovely impromptu one night stay at Halwell lodge. Our hosts were very welcoming,friendly and helpful and the breakfast was sublime. The rooms were spotlessly clean and very tastefully furnished with beautiful fresh tulips in the room. The bed was the best that we have ever slept in and we also had use of the conservatory which made for a very pleasant sunny reading spot (even magazines were supplied) A big plus for this b and b (particularly for anywhere near St Ives) is the off street parking. If anyone is contemplating driving into St Ives much better to park and ride.

Room Tip: We had the garden view room and loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMan007007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eleanor D, Owner at Halwell Lodge, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind words. Enjoy the rest of your holiday and perhaps we will see you again.
Best wishes for the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midsomer Norton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

This was our 5th visit to stay at Halwell Lodge. It is located alongside the main road to St Ives in the village of Lelant. A short walk from the frequently passing train service to St Ives and from the beautiful, quiet Porthkidney Sands.
Julie and Matt are the perfect hosts. Friendly and chatty. The rooms are kept spotlessly clean and fresh drink facilities with chocolate bar are replaced daily.
The breakfasts set you up for the day. Porridge, full English, toast, cereals, yoghourt etc etc.
They will also prepare an evening meal if given enough notice.
Flat screen TV, and WiFi in each room.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
2.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,633 reviews
2.4 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
249 reviews
1.4 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
756 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Badger Inn
The Badger Inn
#29 of 102 in St Ives
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halwell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halwell Lodge

Property: Halwell Lodge
Address: Fore St, Lelant | Lelant, St Ives TR26 3EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halwell Lodge is a high quality Bed & Breakfast, situated in Lelant, just outside of St. Ives.We provide high quality, comfortable accommodation in a calm and relaxing setting, a great place to stay and a superb base for exploring St. Ives with its lovely beaches, harbour and narrow streets with its unique style of shops, galleries, pubs, and restaurants offering great food in great locations, Cornwall’s rugged coastline, famous gardens and spectacular countryside. We are within easy reach of the South West Coastal Path and the beautiful beach Porthkidney Sands is just a few minutes walk and here you can really enjoy peace and get away from it all.All of our en-suite bedrooms are well furnished and have comfortable beds, quality duvets, pillows and crisp white bed linen. All rooms have a flat screen TV, refreshment tray, hairdryer and glossy magazines ...and for winter breaks we have central heating.WI-FI Internet access is available.During your stay you are welcome to relax in the conservatory or our delightful garden which has a seating area.Afternoon teas and evening meals are available by request, also fresh ground coffee or tea and home made cake is available throughout the day in the conservatory. We can provide a packed lunch if required.There is plenty of on site parking available to all guests, we can also offer some secure parking and bike storage ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Halwell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halwell Lodge St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing