We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”
Review of Halwell Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Halwell Lodge
Ranked #18 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed two nights at this wonderful place.
Spacious room, beautiful garden, conservatory and breakfast room with great breakfast choices.
Very friendly owners, we would love to go back next summer again!

Thank you,

Annika Kennedy
London

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
80
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Halwell Lodge is easy to find and was, for us, a nicer alternative to staying in St Ives where streets are narrow and parking difficult. Lelant is a little village, only a few minutes from St Ives but in more open, level countryside with perfectly adequate restaurants nearby. We stayed here 3 nights, arriving at the Lodge as strangers and leaving as friends. Plenty of off-road parking available and set in beautiful gardens. It was spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated, and very comfortable throughout. A handy selection of books about the area which introduced us to The Minack Theatre - please visit!
Peter was the perfect host and he and his staff could not have been more welcoming. We had breakfast in the conservatory every morning - a special treat for us- and the breakfast was spot-on. Loved the scrambled eggs and salmon. Would definitely stay here again if we ever make the long journey from home.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandJAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed five nights at this delightful B & B as a 65 birthday treat for my husband. We could not have chosen better. The room we stayed in was fantastic - the decor was of a high standard, the bed linen white and crisp with a very comfy bed and everything was spotless. Ensuite gave choice of bath or shower and towels were fresh,soft and white. The room had a lovely outlook to the garden. Cooked to order breakfast was superb with plenty of toast, fresh fruit, cereal etc. We were made extremely welcome by the owners and Peter gave us lots of tips on places to visit in the area -very knowledgeable man on the area. Had excellent meals in both the local pubs (walking distance). There was ample parking which is great. I would highly recommend this B &B and would certainly stay again when visiting Cornwall. Peter and Eleanor made us very welcome.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Not a single thing could have been better.Peter even arranged the weathwer after checking tide times.Bedroom excellent and also overlooking garden and food top notch Thanks
Dave and Colette Woolley
Bristol

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveW66654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Booked and paid for a room with twin beds some eight six months prior to our stay. On arrival we were shown a miniscule room containing a small double bed and an adjoining bathroom so small one could not strech out arms when showering. The breakfast was no better than what we have daily at home.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cows29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Owner at Halwell Lodge, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, however, you cannot apportion blame to us if you fail to specifically request a twin room at your time of booking. When we are fully booked we are unable to rearrange things on your day of arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitges, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We are two friends .We come from Barcelona Spain .We stayed for four nights .The room with twin beds ,very comfortable,and excellent decorated.Very clean.Excelent breakfast,beautiful garden and Peter a pleasure to talk to …in spanish !!. The weather sunny and with a soft and delicious breeze.A few minutes of Lelant Saltings rail station.You can go to Carbis and St Ives taking a walk for the coast path with the sea onside
Near of Rosamunde Pilcher´s home
If we travel again to this country we are sure to stay at Halwell Lodge.
Recommend- Rosalia & Lourdes

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lourdespanyella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We have just come back from our 2 night stay at Halwell and I can honestly say it was lovely. Nothing too much trouble, we didn't want for anything at breakfast and Peter an absolute pleasure to talk to. On arrival we were told "treat this as your own" and we felt we could do just that. The room was clean, bed linen soft and of excellent quality & the bathroom equally as nice with a power shower. Peter even offered us advice on places to visit & was so helpful. Perfect stay!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Collinssands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
2.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,658 reviews
1.6 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
1.4 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
962 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#9 of 21 in St Ives
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Badger Inn
The Badger Inn
#29 of 102 in St Ives
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halwell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halwell Lodge

Property: Halwell Lodge
Address: Fore St, Lelant | Lelant, St Ives TR26 3EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halwell Lodge is a high quality Bed & Breakfast, situated in Lelant, just outside of St. Ives.We provide high quality, comfortable accommodation in a calm and relaxing setting, a great place to stay and a superb base for exploring St. Ives with its lovely beaches, harbour and narrow streets with its unique style of shops, galleries, pubs, and restaurants offering great food in great locations, Cornwall’s rugged coastline, famous gardens and spectacular countryside. We are within easy reach of the South West Coastal Path and the beautiful beach Porthkidney Sands is just a few minutes walk and here you can really enjoy peace and get away from it all.All of our en-suite bedrooms are well furnished and have comfortable beds, quality duvets, pillows and crisp white bed linen. All rooms have a flat screen TV, refreshment tray, hairdryer and glossy magazines ...and for winter breaks we have central heating.WI-FI Internet access is available.During your stay you are welcome to relax in the conservatory or our delightful garden which has a seating area.Afternoon teas and evening meals are available by request, also fresh ground coffee or tea and home made cake is available throughout the day in the conservatory. We can provide a packed lunch if required.There is plenty of on site parking available to all guests, we can also offer some secure parking and bike storage ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Halwell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halwell Lodge St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing