We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very friendly and welcoming hotel!”
Review of Chy-An-Albany

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chy-An-Albany
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A very friendly and welcoming hotel!”
Reviewed 4 July 2011

a lovely clean hotel, good value for money, excellent service and the staff were very friendly and helpful. It had a fantastic view of the sea and the restaurant food was excellent. Will definiately go back and soon!!! cant wait. Thankyou for making our stay very welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xbeachx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    303
    124
    58
    27
See reviews for
158
533
43
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Chy an Albany is a lovely hotel, with stunning views over St Ives Bay! Cleanliness is fantastic, housekeeping team are worth their weight in gold, especially Emily who made us feel very welcome!! Reception team were also very good; the only thing that really let it down were the some of the evening staff, who perhaps need a lesson in customer service!!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are the best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaynets59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

great location peaceful clean friendly great choice of breakfast and good rates. helpful staff will be staying here again for sure loved it. very close to railway staion closer than some central hotels. for me 6min walk

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blue20077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Was just an OK stay i'm afraid. The shower in our room was hopeless. The staff were fine but would have preffered a better service at breakfast with regards to the amount of food on offer and a waited service would have been nice after paying the £140 bill!
Would rather stay at a travelodge to be honest.

Room Tip: The ones facing the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin10203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChyManager, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this review, 28 June 2011
I was disappointed to read your comments regarding your recent stay, if at any time you were unhappy with your room we would have been happy to move you if we had been given the chance, waiter service is available in the restaurant on request.

Yours faithfully
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2011

I stay in the Chy-An-Albany Hotel for two nights and would not recommend this Hotel. I had a single room, which was hot, small and dark. The ensuite was a joke. It was standing room for one only. It was the size of a cupboard.
The room was really hot and when I asked for a fan I was brought one, and informed this was the only one in the hotel. This was broke.
As for the food, the service was slow and the food was only just satisfactory. All in all not an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SomersetKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChyManager, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
I was disappointed to read your comments regarding your recent stay, once you had made us aware that you were not happy with your room we did offer you a room move which you declined at no other point in your stay did you indicate you had any further issues otherwise we would have welcomed the chance to put them right for you.

Yours faithfully
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

As far as one can "judge" after only one night: this hotel is quite reasonable, with an elevator and nice view over the bay. Very good breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marywinifred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Stayed here on the 4th December 2010. Our daughter got married at the hotel on that day. The venue was great, plenty of parking (which in St Ives is a must). Great view across the bay. The bride and groom and parents all stayed in the balcony rooms. The staff could not be more helpful. The menu was fabulous. Everything went very smoothly, we were allowed extra time in the bridal suite the next morning so that the guests could see the bride and groom opening their wedding gifts. During the evening several buttons from the bridal gown came away from the dress, but the next morning we were presented with all the buttons that had gone missing. One of our guests had travelled down from Leeds and stayed for several days, they commented to us how wonderful it was.

A great place no hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golfgolf40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
909 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chy-An-Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy-An-Albany

Property: Chy-An-Albany
Address: Albany Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#5 Family Hotel in St Ives
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chy-An-Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing comfortable accommodation with every amenity you would expect from a luxury award winning AA 3 star rated Hotel in Cornwall. The Chy an Albany occupies a wonderfully elevated site with magnificent views overlooking Portminster beach and St Ives Bay in Cornwall.Only a short walk into town and with ample free off road car parking.The hotel provides an ideal base to explore St. Ives and its renowned Tate Gallery, as well as the quaint harbour side, cobbled streets and collection of beautiful beaches that have captivated artists and tourists for over a century. The hotel is also just a short walk from the train station at the bottom of the hill (approximately 3 minutes). The new 'Lighthouse Bistro' is an art-themed restaurant, showcasing a wide range of art from local artists. The gallery-style restaurant offers contemporary dining using the very freshest local vegetables and produce, fish straight from the sea and Cornish made cheeses alongside exotic foods and wines from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chy-An-Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy-An-Albany Hotel St Ives
Chy-An-Albany St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing